Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-06, 06:25 AM   #1
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID (SOLVED)

Hiya all,

I have a problem, I just dont get my TV to work with HDTV or the physical resolution of my TV and / or HDTV to work. I managed with Windows by now, but with Linux I got some problems still.

As far as I can see, the EDID of my Philips TV is a piece of crab. The resolutions it contains are hardy useful, most of them make the picture really ugly. The TV guys don't seem to know what they are doing here, really.

How can I find with some driver parameters to workaround this problem ? I thought about updating the EDID of my TV, but that's something I would like to do as the very last solution, since Philips doesnt seem to offer an update here, and there is a risk that the TV gets trashed if I do it wrong.

NVidia used to allow modes, that are not supported by the TV (Yeah, sure, the physical TV res not supported ), with the last release I got problems to activate them. I attached a Log to show the EDID and the two resolutions I'm trying to get activated :

1920x1080i HD and 1366(8)x768 (TV res)

Cheers for your help in advance,

Dirk.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Xorg.0.log.zip (13.0 KB, 164 views)

Last edited by keeshah; 08-21-06 at 09:19 AM. Reason: Problem solved.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-06, 11:08 AM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Your diagnosis about Philips and modes/resolutions is correct. These people really don't know what they are doing.
I have another type of TV (32") and similar to yours, it supports completely uneasonable modes. There is no mode at all that can drive the panel to its native resolution, so forget about 1366x768 attempts.
My TV supports 1024x768 at 4:3 resolution (big black side borders) and I have extrapolated that to 1280x768 at 15:9 (small black side borders) but I am not completely certain it is a pixel-for-pixel accurate mode. I drive it via VGA.
It also supports 1280x720 with borders all-around and this looks like pixel-for-pixel (but does not use the entire screen).

The only thing that fills the entire screen is the 1080i HD mode, but the image is scaled from 1920x1080 to the panel resolution, after first removing an "overscan area". So you have no pixel-for-pixel mapping an lose a small band all around the picture, which is annoying when displaying a desktop.

But OK, when you want to go for that, you can use this modeline:
Modeline "1920x1080i60" 74.25 1920 1976 2008 2200 1080 1083 1085 1125 +Hsync+Vsync Interlace

As written before, I use this with VGA (I don't have a DVI or HDMI cable long enough to cover the distance between my PC and TV). It could be that it does not work with DVI or HDMI.
At least you will have to add the magic options to turn off the EDID retrieval, or else the driver will complain that the mode is invalid.
(I will not rant about that here as I already did that in another thread today)
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 02:53 AM   #3
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

Im afraid its not that easy, I already got those two modelines, and nvidia simply refuses to use it.

Modeline "1368x768" 85.800 1368 1400 1452 1528 768 771 781 790 +HSync -Vsync
ModeLine "1920x1080" 74.184 1920 1960 2008 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 -Hsync -Vsync interlace

With Windows I got the 1368 line working, with Linux the driver refuses to accept the same settings. Im not completely sure if I did the "1400 1452" and the "771 781" values correct, those are not completely clear to me.

I tried a few switches with the driver, too :

# Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck,NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck,NoEdidMa xPClkCheck,NoMaxPClkCheck"
# Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP-0"
# Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "FALSE"
# Option "UseEDIDDpi" "FALSE"
# Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"

None seems to do what I want, the modes above still get declined, what's really annoying, with Windows I had no problem to get the 1368x768 work. Im going to try your 1920 line though.

This is what the driver is doing :

(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1920x1080"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1368x768"; removing.

Cheers,

Dirk.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 03:00 AM   #4
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

Log says :

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1368x768":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1368 x 768 @ 71 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 85.80 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1368, 1400
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1452, 1528
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 781, 790
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/-
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (1368 x 768) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): EDID (Max: 1280 x 1024).
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 30 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.18 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 1960
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2008, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1094, 1124
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-
(II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlaced
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (1920 x 1080) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): EDID (Max: 1280 x 1024).
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080i60":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 30 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 1976
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2008, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1083
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1085, 1125
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlaced
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (1920 x 1080) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): EDID (Max: 1280 x 1024).

EDID refuses to do anything. All is to large. Of course the TV can do it, but NVIDIA trusts EDID, what is really annoying, even the README says that TV's and screens often lie about their own abilities. I could try to buy a TV with a correct EDID, but now .... I dont like the idea about trashing my old one.

Cheers,

Dirk.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 03:09 AM   #5
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1368x768":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1368 x 768 @ 71 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 85.80 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1368, 1400
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1452, 1528
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 781, 790
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/-
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1368x768" is too large for Philips HDMI TV (DFP-0);
(WW) NVIDIA(0): discarding.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 30 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.18 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 1960
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2008, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1094, 1124
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-
(II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlaced
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1920x1080" is too large for Philips HDMI TV (DFP-0);
(WW) NVIDIA(0): discarding.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080i60":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1080 @ 30 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 1976
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2008, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1083
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1085, 1125
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlaced
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1920x1080i60" is too large for Philips HDMI TV (DFP-0);

I used the switches :
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck,NoEdidMaxPClkCheck"

What are more or less the only ones that make sense to me, but it still refuses to accept them. BTW, the 1368x768 is the one that works nicely with Windows.

Cheers,

Dirk.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-06, 03:21 AM   #6
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

I noticed the bug report contains a few more infos. Here ya go. BTW, /proc/pci is depreciated, lspci -v tells ya more.

Cheers,

Dirk.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (37.9 KB, 137 views)
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-06, 02:52 AM   #7
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

I still hope for some help from some NVidia guy, to tell me what magic switch to use to get my TV working.

Today I tried to start the xserver without the tv turned on, and I got :

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1920x1080" is too large for Maxdata (RogenTech) 101730
(WW) NVIDIA(0): (DFP-0); discarding.

I even don't have a TV like this, I have the feeling here is a serious bug in the NVidia Software.

Cheers,

Dirk.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-06, 04:52 AM   #8
ubikdood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

keeshah, how is your PC connected to the TV ? (dvi, vga, ... ?)
ubikdood is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-06, 12:01 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

According to the EDID in the attached bug report, the only valid modes for DVI are:
#########
(--) NVIDIA(0): Established Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 640 x 480 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 640 x 480 @ 72 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 640 x 480 @ 75 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 800 x 600 @ 56 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 800 x 600 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 800 x 600 @ 72 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 800 x 600 @ 75 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1024 x 768 @ 70 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1024 x 768 @ 75 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0):
(--) NVIDIA(0): Standard Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 640 x 360 @ 85 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 800 x 450 @ 85 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1024 x 576 @ 85 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1152 x 648 @ 75 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0):
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1280 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 69.00 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1280
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1300, 1424
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 769
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 775, 812
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-
#######

As you can see, 1920x1080 isn't listed, so that's possibly why its failing to work.

You can try adding the ExactModeTimingsDVI option to your xorg.conf.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-06, 02:55 AM   #10
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

My TV is digital connected via a DVI cable.

The Option looks good, now I need only get home and attach the TV again, reg. Screen is atm. attached. :-)

I will get back and report tonite if it worked.

Cheers,

Dirk.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-06, 03:35 PM   #11
superm1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Keeshah -

I just bought a new TV two days ago. A 32" Samsung LNS-3251D. The TV has both VGA and HDMI ports. When using a HDMI->DVI cable, I don't get anything useful back about EDID. Even under Windows using Powerstrip, I can't get a resolution to work at the panel's native res (1366x768p).

I ran to the store and bought a VGA cable. Hooked it up, added 1360x768 to my "Modes" section, restarted X and bam, it works. The EDID spit out for VGA for me is significantly different then the EDID for HDMI. You might want to look into using the VGA port on your TV if its available.
superm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-06, 09:17 AM   #12
keeshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems with incomplete HDTV EDID

Hi,

Thanks for the good tip, I might hook up my vga, to see if it works, too, but I got it now up and running now with DVI. ExactModeTimingsDVI was the solution for me, now all modes get accepted and displayed. I work now with the next problem, getting IR up and running. hehe

VGA isn't bad, but the screen is digital, so DVI should be the better quality after all. Well, should.

Cheers,

Dirk.
keeshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with drivers after 295.40 (OpenSuSE 12.1, GeFroce 7900 GS, Phenom II X4) alawa NVIDIA Linux 0 06-09-12 06:37 PM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
HDTV support - computer to HDTV set porksoda NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 10-27-05 06:30 PM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 12:03 PM
DirectX 8 problems with GeForce4 Derwin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 01:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.