Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-06, 05:16 AM   #1
Bastien59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lille
Posts: 15
Default TwinView : 3 problems...

Hello,

my GF 6600 is connected to my Video-Projector (1280x720, VGA) and my LCD flat panel (1280x768, DVI). I use twinview to switch to differents dual-screen mode.
What i want is : - VP alone @1280x720, - Dual Screen, both @1280x768, LCD alone @1280x768.
Due to the nvidia driver bug my LCD can't be the first display.

1st problem :
when i switch to "LCD alone", xine freeze. It opens but freeze, no video ! That's why i use dual screen mode even if i don't switch on my VP.

2nd problem :
Virtual Screen Size is automatically set to 1280x768 even if in "VP Alone Mode". So the desktop is bigger than screen and follow the mouse (height). why Virtual Screen Size in that mode is not limited to 1280x720 since no signal is sent to DVI ?

3rd problem :
When i Watch videos i have lot's of tearing (xine, mplayer) with twinview. It disappears when twinview is deasabled.

Cheers,
Sebastien
Bastien59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-06, 12:36 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-06, 02:55 AM   #3
Bastien59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lille
Posts: 15
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

ok, i'll do that.

thx
Bastien59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-06, 03:32 PM   #4
Alex_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bastien59
1st problem :
when i switch to "LCD alone", xine freeze. It opens but freeze, no video ! That's why i use dual screen mode even if i don't switch on my VP.
i have the same problem and already send a bug report to the linux-bugs email address, but for completeness i'll post the problem here again.

my system has a twinview configuration. if the primary screen is disabled (using the metamode NULL,1680x1050) the system freezes every time a video is played. this happens with every player (tested with xine, mplayer and totem mit xine backend) and completely freezes the system, it's not even possilbe to switch to console (using ctrl+alt+f1), only a reset works.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (27.1 KB, 118 views)
Alex_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-06, 03:57 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

Alex_K,
Do you experience this freeze with any type of content, or is a specific type of media required to reproduce the freeze?

Does this reproduce if you're not using the Composite extension?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-06, 03:38 AM   #6
Alex_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

Every media causes a crash, no matter if it is xvid, wmv or mpeg2. Even if totem is playing a MP3 with "Visual Effects" enabled or if totem is started without any media (it only shows the totem logo) it causes a crash.

Disabling the Composite extension (setting RenderAccel to false) does not change anything.

To clarify the problem:
The crashs only appear if the primary screen is disabled. Everything works great if both screen are enabled or the secondary screen is disabled (for example using the metamod 1280x1024,NULL).

Thanks
Alex
Alex_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-06, 12:56 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

I'm not having any success reproducing this here.

Does this reproduce regardless of whether the non-NULL display is a CRT or DFP?

Have you verified that you're using the latest BIOS for the motherboard?

Setting RenderAccel to false does not disable the Composite extension, it disables RenderAccel. Please confirm that this reproduces without Composite (or without AllowGLXWithComposite).

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 12:31 PM   #8
Alex_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Does this reproduce regardless of whether the non-NULL display is a CRT or DFP?
Yes it does. I have tested several configurations today. Whatever configuration i use, it always crashs if the primary display is disabled. Also if a CRT is connected on the DVI port (which becomes the primary screen) it will crash if a NULL,<any resolution> metamod is used.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Have you verified that you're using the latest BIOS for the motherboard?
Yes, the latest BIOS version is installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please confirm that this reproduces without Composite (or without AllowGLXWithComposite).
OK, I'v tested setting AllowGLXWithComposite to "false" an the crashs still appear.

I'v also tested a other window manger today (xcfe) but this also didn't help.

Thanks
Alex
Alex_K is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-06, 09:07 AM   #9
Bastien59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lille
Posts: 15
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

Excuse me, not at home this days.
I'll generate a bug report tonight and post it !

I confirm problem persists, no composite for me, any video type (DVD, mpg4, etc...), using Fluxbox, one CRT (Video Projector) using DVI->CRT and one DFP (Samsung 32").
My Video Card is a GF6600GT w/ dual DVI ports.
see you tonight.
Bastien59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 09:14 AM   #10
Bastien59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lille
Posts: 15
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

@Alex_K : i took a look at your Xorg.log and see that :
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 2960 x 1050
when you switch to this metamode "1280x1024,NULL" does your desktop be really at 1280x1024 or do you have the resolution 1280x1024 & virtual screen @ 2960x1050 ?
I ask that coz it's my 2nd problem !!!
Bastien59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 09:25 AM   #11
Alex_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

if i switch to this meta mode everything works as expected. the second is disabeled and the primary screen is working with the specified resolution. Also the desktop uses the same resolution (1280x1024) - no virtual screen.
Alex_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 09:45 AM   #12
Bastien59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lille
Posts: 15
Default Re: TwinView : 3 problems...

OK thx, i'll have to check that...
At least, do you have important tearing problems with fullscreen video (xv) in dual-screen mode ?

edit : maybe it's because i'm using clone mode and not BigDesktop like you. Can you try with clone mode please ?
Bastien59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
TwinView problems k-rulez NVIDIA Linux 1 09-07-02 09:13 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.