Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-06, 11:16 AM   #1
alienseer23
Registered User
 
alienseer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Question tripple monitor setup

Hello, this is my first post here, I hope it proves fruitfull

I have a PNY GeForce 6200 agp video card. It has dual monitor out, plus a TV out.
I am using the latest drivers in an Ubuntu environment (the latest Ubuntu with all updates).
I use dual monitor setup as a norm, a 21 inch NEC and a 19 inch MAG. I am using them as separate x-screens, I don't like how twinview spans the background out over the 2 monitors or how maximizing an app in twinview opens it up over the 2 monitors.
In order to switch my setup (from "NEC[1] + MAG[2]" to "NEC[1] + TV[2]") I have to power off the MAG and turn on the TV and restart X (ctrl+alt+backspace). This works fine every time, but I have to restart any of my programs, and that is a headache.

here is a link to my post in UbuntuForums regarding how to set this up
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=236527

as you can see there I used the nvidia-xconfig utility to handle everything excepting adding the tv to the x config file.

I would like to know how to switch between the MAG[2] and the TV[2] without having to restart X. I would also like to know if it is possable to utilize all the screens (NEC[1] + MAG[2] + TV[3]) all at the same time on the same card???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
alienseer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-06, 11:20 AM   #2
alienseer23
Registered User
 
alienseer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

Ah, almost forgot, here is my xorg.conf file

Quote:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Mon May 15 13:23:42 PDT 2006

# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Default Screen" 0 0
Screen 1 "Default Screen (2nd)" LeftOf "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# path to defoma fonts
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "i2c"
Load "bitmap"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# /dev/input/event
# for USB
Identifier "stylus"
Driver "wacom"
Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
Option "Type" "stylus"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# /dev/input/event
# for USB
Identifier "eraser"
Driver "wacom"
Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
Option "Type" "eraser"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# /dev/input/event
# for USB
Identifier "cursor"
Driver "wacom"
Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
Option "Type" "cursor"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "NEC XV17+"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV40? [Unknown nVidia Card]"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV40? [Unknown nVidia Card] (2nd)"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "NVIDIA Corporation NV40? [Unknown nVidia Card]"
Monitor "NEC XV17+"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "NoLogo" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen (2nd)"
Device "NVIDIA Corporation NV40? [Unknown nVidia Card] (2nd)"
Monitor "NEC XV17+"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "NoLogo" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
alienseer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-06, 02:16 PM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

The NVIDIA X driver only supports two simultaneously displays per GPU.

The only way that you could switch display devices without restarting X is to use TwinView, with strategically placed NULL metamodes.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-06, 09:46 PM   #4
alienseer23
Registered User
 
alienseer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

Ok, this is good news, that there is a way to accomplish my goal, but I really don't understand what you would have me do to accomplish this.
To edit the file I posted, would I have to add any new sections or just edit the sections that exist?
And could you give me an example of how to work the metamodes in this respect?
Lost.
alienseer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-06, 10:34 PM   #5
jeisom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: My own little world
Posts: 117
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
The NVIDIA X driver only supports two simultaneously displays per GPU.
Thanks,
Lonni
So does the hardware( I have pny 6600) can say have 2 crt working with
say a the tv mirror one?
jeisom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-06, 11:30 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

From the driver README:

Because it is often unclear which mode within a MetaMode will be used on
each display device, mode descriptions within a MetaMode can be prepended
with a display device name. For example:

Option "MetaModes" "CRT-0: 1600x1200, DFP-0: 1024x768"


-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-06, 10:48 AM   #7
alienseer23
Registered User
 
alienseer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

Lonni

So all I have to do is list my meta modes in twinview with descriptors for the device names, and add one in there that is for the tv, and then I am assuming that switching screen resolutions will switch the output to and from my tv??

also, which section, screen, device or monitor?
Thanks for your attention.
alienseer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.