Go Back   nV News Forums > Website Related > Feedback Forum

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-03, 01:39 AM   #1
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default page doesnt load fully- lots of them

hi webmaster

often pages dont completely load for nvnews for me, doesnt matter where...1 item is always remaining to load...which is the ad. So maybe you should mirror the ad, instead of loading from some useless server

otherwise, this is my fav gpu site!
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-03, 03:24 AM   #2
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,201
Default

No problems on my end at home or at work. All of the ads are stored on the same server as the rest of the web site.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-03, 04:56 AM   #3
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

oh okay, maybe i need a cookie enabled or some feature, which puts an end to this thread.
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-03, 05:52 AM   #4
PsychoSy
 
PsychoSy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 489
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSy Send a message via AIM to PsychoSy
Default

If you've got Kazza Lite installed, their little "Super Trick" can cause long loading times of webpages and stuff like that. I had one instance where the screenshots from GameSpot News wouldn't even load and most of the websites I visited on a daily basis looked like ass to boot.

Uninstalled Kazza Lite, Reinstalled it (without the super trickery)
then installed Pop-Up Stopper to compensate. Nary a problem since. BTW, NvNews doesn't use pop-up ads that I'm aware of - just banner ads that are embedded in the mainpage. So if anyone's getting pop-up ads shilling diplomas or online casinos when they visit here, then it's sign of potential spyware (or Windows XPs "Messenger" service) may be running rampant on your rig.

For the record, WinXPs "Messenger" service is NOT the same thing as MSN Messenger.
__________________
[b][i]A man's ambition must be small,
To write his name on a s**t-house wall.[/b][/i]
PsychoSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-03, 07:03 AM   #5
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

If you are having issues with that damn messenger service view here for instructions on how to kill it
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-03, 07:32 AM   #6
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default

did you guy's read what he said!?, what is he talking about?
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-03, 03:07 PM   #7
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

i dont have kazaa lite, although I recently had edonkey which is probably doing the same "features". The problem I am having is definitely with the flash banner ads.
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-03, 02:32 AM   #8
PsychoSy
 
PsychoSy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 489
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSy Send a message via AIM to PsychoSy
Default

Who is your ISP?

Recently, I couldn't play any online games where the master servers resolved at Id Software in Texas and many websites were not displaying. Drove me nuts. Periodic traces with NeoTrace seemed to indicate that a major MCI router in Texas had gone south.

After 12 hours, I contacted Charter and asked them about it. They told me they'd investigate and call me back but the rep said to try something out of curiosity - use their proxy server. I configured IE to use the proxy and *BAM* all the websites were resolving, including Id Software, proving my stressed router theory.

Still couldn't play RTCW or SOF2 online though.

With your problem, it's possible that a router out there somewhere between your ISPs backbone and NvNews's servers is chugging along and dropping packets. In such a case, it's not uncommong for a webpage to load the majority of the text and context yet choke on flashy ads. Usually, a refresh helps as IE will grab most of the content from its cache and hit the server for anything not didn't load properly.
__________________
[b][i]A man's ambition must be small,
To write his name on a s**t-house wall.[/b][/i]
PsychoSy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-03, 01:30 PM   #9
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default

Wait, I finally got it. It just freaked me out when he was like "I need to put an end to this thread" and i was like that dude with that frog that sang. No one else heard it!
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-03, 07:03 PM   #10
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

PsychoSy-
Thanks for the advice, tried the F5 key to grab everything from cache...still no joy with the last item though. Strangely on THIS page (the 'post reply' form) the ad popped up instantly, (for a gf4) then disappeared and now I am once again waiting for it to load. Maybe the problem is a router somewhere like you said. I am not too worried though, and when I rebuild my system hopefully problems will vanish.

Poursoul-
What are you on man?
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-03, 10:46 PM   #11
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's PROBABLY a router problem.

I've been having odd troubles throughout the Net recently--a friend's UT2k3 server on a dedicated T3 (! rich bastard) will occasionally be rendered unplayable by a SINGLE crappy router a few hops from his server. And by unplayable, I don't mean like 150 or 200 pings--no, my friends, I mean EVERYBODY gets pings in the 500s instead of 70s.

I've had trouble getting to nV, Envy, Slashdot, numerous smaller sites, you name it, it has had trouble loading for me.

Don't know what to tell you, but I think that a lot of it might be leftovers from Slammer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-03, 11:08 PM   #12
poursoul
i eat people
 
poursoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orcutt, CA
Posts: 614
Default

YOU KNOW "HELLO MY HONEY, HELLO MY DARLIN' " YOU KNOW THAT FROG!!!!

Maybe i am on something. Whoa, my monitor is waving at me.
poursoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.34 -- Xorg 1.12.1 & 1.11.4, glx module fails to load mereset NVIDIA Linux 17 06-10-12 01:24 AM
Lucid rt kernel can't load latest nvidia driver module, but generic does. marcod NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 06:23 AM
Main page posts: PCarr78 Feedback Forum 11 10-03-02 09:03 PM
Can't load NVdriver jojotux123 NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 06:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.