Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 09-11-06, 10:27 AM   #1
fafek2

Exclamation I think X working, but monitor shuts down

I'm using Ubuntu Dapper with all latest updates. My graphics cars is a Creative GeForce TI 4200 and screen is a Samsung SyncMaster 940b.

After installing Nvidia driver as described in Ubuntu Docs Storage, executing "nvidia-xconf" and restarting X server (reboot as well as Ctrl+Alt+Backspace), screen is shutting down (goes to stand-by mode).

I am not an expert, but after reviewing X logs it seems there are no errors. I was trying everything - disabling "nvAGP", setting screen's horizontal and vertical refreshing (or smth like that), disabling UseEDID and so on. In nvidia-bug-report attached, there could be additional settings to Xorg conf. Without switches, it doesn't work too.

Thanks for help.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report_upload.log (83.7 KB, 115 views)
fafek2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 10:32 AM   #2
fafek2

Default Re: I think X working, but monitor shuts down

X IS working. I can login by typing my username and password. However, I can see nothing.
Old 09-11-06, 10:38 AM   #3
Izuil

Quote:
Originally Posted by fafek2
X IS working. I can login by typing my username and password. However, I can see nothing.
I have the same error! But for me it helps to do the ctrl+alt+del command though it's getting pretty annoying to do this every time i restart my computer...
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 11:01 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 01:57 PM   #5
fafek2

Smile Re: I think X working, but monitor shuts down

Thanks for quick answer.

Attachments contains compressed nvidia-bug-report file.
Attached Files