Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-06, 12:21 PM   #1
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Playing gives me artifacts :S

Ok here's my problem:

When I start a game it works just as it should for like 30-60 seconds then X seems to hang but it doesn't it starts again but then it gives me artifacts or something like that. This happens everytime i try i start the game after it has happend once.

Often a reboot makes the graphics work for 30-60 secs again...

One strange thing though, I think 3 times it has worked good until i rebooted the system or reconfigured xorg.

EDIT: I use dual boot and I can play in windows. Just thought i should add this so you wouldn't come and say my graphics card is broken.

Last edited by Izuil; 09-11-06 at 12:23 PM. Reason: Need to add a few lines...
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 12:23 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log the next time this reproduces.

Also, specifically which games trigger this problem?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 01:11 PM   #3
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log the next time this reproduces.

Also, specifically which games trigger this problem?

Thanks,
Lonni
All opengl games trigger this.

Bug report will be coming tomorrow.

EDIT: System specs: Amd athlon 2600+ 333mhz fsb
1024mb 400mhz ram in dual channel
geforce fx 5600
nforce 2 chipset

Last edited by Izuil; 09-11-06 at 02:05 PM.
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 02:35 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Specifically which games trigger this problem?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-06, 01:34 AM   #5
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Specifically which games trigger this problem?
Well the one's i've tried is:

Wolfenstien: Enemy Territory
True Combat: Elite
PlanetPinguinRacer
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-06, 05:02 AM   #6
bms20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 46
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Check the graphics board bios version in nvidia-settings, then check to see if a newer version is available from the card manufacturer. If one is available, upgrade your card.

I bought a 6800 Ultra within 1 week of availability here in the UK (to play Doom 3). When I got my 6800Ultra my system was unstable in both Windows and Linux until version 2 of the bios was released. Linux was not stable until version 3 shipped. Problems included artifacts in text mode!

I was worried that my card was broken, but in the end some timing tweaks fixed everything.

The card still does an awesome job; no artifacts, no crashes - just a bios upgrade.

-bms20
bms20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-06, 07:12 AM   #7
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by bms20
Check the graphics board bios version in nvidia-settings, then check to see if a newer version is available from the card manufacturer. If one is available, upgrade your card.

I bought a 6800 Ultra within 1 week of availability here in the UK (to play Doom 3). When I got my 6800Ultra my system was unstable in both Windows and Linux until version 2 of the bios was released. Linux was not stable until version 3 shipped. Problems included artifacts in text mode!

I was worried that my card was broken, but in the end some timing tweaks fixed everything.

The card still does an awesome job; no artifacts, no crashes - just a bios upgrade.

-bms20
Okay, I've looked... No updates for me :/

This is my card: http://www.inno3d.com/products/graph...gf_fx/5600.htm

EDIT: Added bug report.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (25.4 KB, 105 views)

Last edited by Izuil; 09-12-06 at 07:41 AM. Reason: Added bug report.
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-06, 10:29 AM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Was the bug report generated while the corruption was present?
If you set NvAGP to 0 in xorg.conf, does that impact the corruption?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-12-06, 11:37 AM   #9
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Was the bug report generated while the corruption was present?
If you set NvAGP to 0 in xorg.conf, does that impact the corruption?

Thanks,
Lonni
Okay, now I've tried NvAGP 0 and the graphics work as they should, but with NvAGP 0 I get 30-40 fps and without that command I have 70-90 fps not a pleasant surprise...

Isn't there another solution?

Not while is was present but a few seconds after, I quit the game and then created the log.
Should I press ctrl+alt+F1 and then create the log?

Last edited by Izuil; 09-12-06 at 12:10 PM.
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-06, 02:56 PM   #10
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

OK so I've check up a few thigs now...
If I put agp=off in /boot/grub/menu.lst and use NvAGP "0" / "1" in xorg then the game is working but at a much lower fps. (About 50% decrease)
If i use NvAGP "2" in xorg the game locks up after a few secs and then gives me artifacts but using this mode gives me max fps instead...

Is there any way i can use NvAGP "2" without X crashing and giving me artifacts?
New kernel? (Using 2.6.15.26 now) Reconfigured kernel? Or something else?
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-06, 04:02 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

If setting NvAGP to 2 causes problems, while setting it to 0 or 1 doesn't cause problems, then you're hitting a kernel AGP driver bug, and you should report it to whomever builds your kernel.

I'd need to see a bug report with NvAGP set to 1 to guess why you're seeing degraded performance there.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-06, 10:18 AM   #12
Izuil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Playing gives me artifacts :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
If setting NvAGP to 2 causes problems, while setting it to 0 or 1 doesn't cause problems, then you're hitting a kernel AGP driver bug, and you should report it to whomever builds your kernel.

I'd need to see a bug report with NvAGP set to 1 to guess why you're seeing degraded performance there.

Thanks,
Lonni
I'll have to ask again, how do I create a bug report during the problem/issue?
I'm a former windows user and I do not know how to do it since alt+tab doesn't work...
Izuil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What we're looking forward to seeing and playing at E3 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM
So what's playing Diablo III really like? The OpenForum weighs in News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 02:20 PM
To anyone who has an ati 9700 playing...... demonized Other Desktop Graphics Cards 1 10-12-02 01:33 PM
Started playing RTCW again Smokey Gaming Central 5 09-12-02 08:43 PM
What games are you playing right now? nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 52 09-11-02 04:55 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.