Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-06, 02:15 AM   #1
Infinity666
Yeah I like vw's so what?
 
Infinity666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane wa (Spocompton)
Posts: 679
Send a message via AIM to Infinity666 Send a message via MSN to Infinity666
Default cs:s server on a cluster?

Is it possible to run a cs:s server off of a cluster? My freind recently aquired about 15 or so p3 machines and plans on clustering them.
__________________
Quote:
The internet is not a truck! The internet is a series of tubes! - Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)
|X2 5200+ |GigabyteGA-M61P-S3 | 1GB ddr2 533|Evga 7600gt|Sony dru-710a dvd+/- rw | Aspire 500w psu |Seagate 80gb|Seagate 250gb|

.....\____
..../__|__\___
....\(o)___(o)/
Infinity666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-06, 06:41 PM   #2
Infinity666
Yeah I like vw's so what?
 
Infinity666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane wa (Spocompton)
Posts: 679
Send a message via AIM to Infinity666 Send a message via MSN to Infinity666
Default Re: cs:s server on a cluster?

bump
__________________
Quote:
The internet is not a truck! The internet is a series of tubes! - Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)
|X2 5200+ |GigabyteGA-M61P-S3 | 1GB ddr2 533|Evga 7600gt|Sony dru-710a dvd+/- rw | Aspire 500w psu |Seagate 80gb|Seagate 250gb|

.....\____
..../__|__\___
....\(o)___(o)/
Infinity666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-06, 08:23 PM   #3
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: cs:s server on a cluster?

I know the server software is not desinged to be clusted.

However, im not sure exactly how clustering works, however if i were a betting man i would say NO because latency is an issue with game servers and clustering really isnt best for that situation.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-06, 08:55 PM   #4
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: cs:s server on a cluster?

what your friends connection like? what is his upload?
Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-06, 09:57 PM   #5
Cerunan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: cs:s server on a cluster?

You could probably get it to work but there would be no benefit to doing so if that application is not cluster aware. In the case of a failure the application gets started on the next server in the cluster and without the application storing its running data on shared storage, you might as well just reboot the original server and leave the secondary (with the exact same setup) turned off and ready to be activated in case of HW failure.
Cerunan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amazon Installs TOP500 HPC cluster in Ireland News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 11:30 AM
Fujitsu Marries GPUs and Xeon in High-Density HPC Server News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
Place Your Bets: ISC'12 Student Cluster Competition News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 10:40 AM
Stage Set for Hamburg Cluster Carnage News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Student Cluster Competition Comes to ISC'12 News Archived News Items 0 05-20-12 05:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.