Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-06, 12:57 AM   #1
blargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default Detects single-link

I have a pair of sceptre x20g-II's, trying to run both at 1600x1200 at 75Hz. http://www.sceptre.com/Products/LCD/...20g_NagaII.htm

The video card is an ASUS EN7800GTX/2DHTV/256M
http://usa.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...46&modelmenu=1

Seems that DFP-1 is being detected as single-link.... Why?

Here's a bug report:
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.tar.gz (48.8 KB, 99 views)
blargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-06, 11:55 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Detects single-link

It looks like the primary DVI connector is dual link, and the secondary is single link:
Sceptre X20G-NAGA II (DFP-0): Internal Dual Link TMDS
Sceptre X20G-NAGA II (DFP-1): Internal Single Link TMDS

This is common on some videocards. Its likely a hardware limitation of your videocard.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-06, 11:59 AM   #3
blargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default Re: Detects single-link

It was running dual/dual with the 7xxx drivers, and both monitors showed 75Hz. 8xxx+ its giving me a hard time.
blargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-06, 12:33 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Detects single-link

1.0-7xxx drivers had a bug where dual link was misdetected. You haven't stated specifically what problem you're experiencing with 1.0-8xxx. However, if that problem also exists in 1.0-9625, please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and post a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-06, 01:57 PM   #5
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Detects single-link

The problem is this:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1600x1200":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1600 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 162.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1600, 1664
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1856, 2160
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1200, 1201
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1204, 1250
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

Notice it is 162 MHz which is single-link DVI spec; however, your second DVI port is not only being detected as single-link but it is:

(--) NVIDIA(0): Sceptre X20G-NAGA II (DFP-1): 155.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sceptre X20G-NAGA II (DFP-1): Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sceptre X20G-NAGA II (DFP-1): Native FlatPanel Scaling is
(--) NVIDIA(0): supported
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sceptre X20G-NAGA II (DFP-1): DFP modes are not limited to 60
(--) NVIDIA(0): Hz refresh rate


As you can see its 155 MHz instead of the full 165 MHz, my fx 5900xt hooked up to a DLP HDTV shows:

(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce FX 5900XT at
(--) NVIDIA(0): PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Samsung DLP (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Samsung DLP (DFP-0): 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Samsung DLP (DFP-0): External Single Link TMDS
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-06, 12:12 PM   #6
blargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default Re: Detects single-link

If it was a bug in the driver, then could you please tell me how to RECREATE it?

The problem, specifically, is that I can't get them over 60Hz. With the 7xxx driver, they ran at 75Hz. The problem persists in 8xxx and 9xxx. The bug report at the top is made with 9xxx beta in verbose 6.

And before you tell me that just because the driver said it was 75 and that it might not really have been, there is a button on the monitors for them to display what refresh rate they *really* are at.
blargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-06, 01:26 PM   #7
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Detects single-link

do you have any of your old logs (From when it was running @ 75 Hz), it looks like from the EDDID info that its mainly giving out info for 1600x1200 @ 60 Hz. Anything higher would be dual-link DVI; however, I dont see anywhere on the sceptre's site about dual-link.

Also, just because it takes 60 Hz doesnt necesarily mean that it internally refreshes at that, I have seen LCD's that are locked @ 60 Hz no matter what resolution you run at, they just accept inputs from higher refresh rates.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-06, 02:19 PM   #8
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Detects single-link

Of course there is little point in refreshing LCD higher than 60Hz. LCD is not like CRT, there will be absolutely no difference in flicker between 60 and 75 Hz.
(which is very clear on a CRT)
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-06, 03:46 PM   #9
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Detects single-link

yeah, it only really helps for gaming, and not all people would notice the difference (on an LCD that is). So is your problem mainly that you just cant get the second display working? I might try messing around with some of the mode validation options if you read the nvidia readme, I believe you can by-pass the DVI/RAMDAC limitations that it is detecting. Either that, or try a reduced-blanking, custom modeline which is 155 MHz or under for 1600x1200.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-06, 12:48 AM   #10
blargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default Re: Detects single-link

You might want to look back at sceptre's website. It says 1600x1200@75Hz. And no, I don't have any old logs. Yes, both monitors function, BUT ONLY at 60Hz. And yes, I really would like to get these things up to 75Hz where they belong. Gaming? Sure, sometimes.
blargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-06, 01:54 AM   #11
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Detects single-link

Seems kind of strange to me that according to the EDID info your monitors maximum refresh rate is 65 Hz:

(--) NVIDIA(0): Maximum Image Size : 410mm x 310mm
(--) NVIDIA(0): Valid HSync Range : 31 kHz - 80 kHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Valid VRefresh Range : 56 Hz - 65 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 170.0 MHz

I noticed you had some of the mode validation settings in your xorg.conf but they are all commented, either you have to override the max EDID pixel clock or else it will never even attempt to do 75 Hz.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-06, 10:15 AM   #12
blargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default Re: Detects single-link

You can STOP trying to analyze things. I asked a specific question, and thats ALL I'm interested in. For the rest, I *DO* know how to handle them. Now, to refresh, all I'm interested in is overriding its detection of SINGLE LINK - ie FORCING it to DUAL LINK.
blargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamers Still Want Single Player Experiences, Says Eidos News Archived News Items 0 06-24-12 11:30 AM
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 03:51 PM
Money and Happiness: China Surveys Suggest a Limited Link News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 05:00 PM
UT 2003 single player setup error HunterA3 NVIDIA Linux 6 10-07-02 12:14 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.