Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-06, 03:05 AM   #1
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

I was wondering if the 4096 pixel limit issue was gonna be fixed anytime soon or what is causing the limitation I was trying to do a dual-head setup and I get this error from the Xorg log file:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Devices: DFP-0, DFP-1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using MetaMode string: "2560x1600, 3840x2400"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Requested modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "2560x1600,3840x2400"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "2560x1600,3840x2400":
(II) NVIDIA(0): Bounding Box: [0, 0, 6400, 2400]
(II) NVIDIA(0): Dell 3007WFP (DFP-0): "2560x1600"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Size : 2560 x 1600
(II) NVIDIA(0): Offset : +3840 +0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Panning Domain: @ 2560 x 1600
(II) NVIDIA(0): Position : [3840, 0, 6400, 1600]
(II) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-1): "3840x2400"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Size : 3840 x 2400
(II) NVIDIA(0): Offset : +0 +0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Panning Domain: @ 3840 x 2400
(II) NVIDIA(0): Position : [0, 0, 3840, 2400]
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 6400 x 2400
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen width of 6400 pixels is too large; clamping to
(WW) NVIDIA(0): 4096
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "2560x1600,3840x2400" is larger than virtual size 4096 x
(WW) NVIDIA(0): 2400; discarding mode
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failure to construct a valid mode list: no modes remaining.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting **
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-06, 03:21 AM   #2
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

supposedly this can be fixed using xinerama, but does that work with a single card? I dont need open GL applications to go over 4096 pixels wide but I am unsure of how to get xinerama working
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-06, 03:32 AM   #3
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

I realized that if i change the orientaiton to above of that it would be barely under the 4096x4096 pixels which works but its annoying having to go above when the other monitor is to the left. I tried Xgl just for kicks but it got about .3 FPS, oh well.

(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NvAGP" "2"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-1, DFP-0"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "RenderAccel" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "TwinView"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Above"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-105"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "10-20"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "MetaModes" "2560x1600, 3840x2400"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "Coolbits" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(**) NVIDIA(0): TwinView enabled
(**) NVIDIA(0): ConnectedMonitor string: "DFP-1, DFP-0"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Use of AGPGART requested
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6600 GT at PCI:1:0:0
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 131072 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.43.02.39.51
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6600 GT at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Dell 3007WFP (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Dell 3007WFP (DFP-0): 310.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Dell 3007WFP (DFP-0): Internal Dual Link TMDS
(--) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-1): 310.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-1): Internal Dual Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Devices: DFP-0, DFP-1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "2560x1600,3840x2400"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 3840 x 4000
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No size information available in DFP-0's EDID; cannot compute
(WW) NVIDIA(0): DPI from EDID.
(==) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-06, 07:49 AM   #4
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

Ok so I was able to get everything working great with xinerama, except one issue. when i run mplayer or quake 3 or other opengl apps, they all are loading on my second screen, and most of them lock up getting 0.1 FPS when they are on the second screen, they run fine on the first screen in windowed mode but they try to start up on the second screen for some reason, I tried adding the option TwinViewXineramaInfoOrde but it didnt effect anything. I can get the mplayer issue fixed if I add -xineramascreen 0 to the command; however, I do not know how to do the same type of thing for 3d games which I do not want to be on the second screen at all, I have attatched a nvidia-bug report.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (120.3 KB, 101 views)
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-06, 07:55 AM   #5
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

just to add, some weird behaviour is if I try running quake 3 @ 1600x1200, a mode that both monitors should be able to do, my right monitor (dell main monitor) switches resolutions; however, quake 3 runs in the upper left of the left secondary monitor, not running full screen, and it doesnt change resolutions, weird eh?
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-06, 08:35 AM   #6
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

bump
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 02:37 PM   #7
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

Still never got the issue fixed two posts above, not to mention no one has even replied to this thread, LOL.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-06, 07:01 AM   #8
blekenbleu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: 4096 virtual size going to be fixed anytime soon?

I have run into the same limitation, finally found an "official" response:
"The 4096 limit was removed for Xinerama, however this limit is a hardware limit for TwinView.
A future GPU will increase the limit to 8k (from 4k)."
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=57619
blekenbleu is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Best Virtual Desktop: NVIDIA VGX & Windows RemoteFX News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 10:30 AM
Official : Unreal Tournament 2003 | Comments | Reviews | Tips | Help volt Gaming Central 121 03-23-10 08:07 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.