Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-06, 12:09 AM   #1
vacode
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default How do I start diagnosing (not so?) random lockups?

It's possible my problem is not an NVidia problem, but these forums seem to be the most likely place for me to find some help.

I recently built a new machine, but seem to be experiencing ramdom lockups. Since it's not something I can cause to happen or find a consistent pattern for, I was hoping someone could give me a few pointers on where to start. If this information is already posted somewhere please give me a link.

Here is the (relevant) hardware I'm using:

ASUS M2N32SLI-Deluxe (NForce 590 chipset)
Athlon x2 4600+
Geforce 7600GT (x2)
USB Keyboard and Mouse

I don't have any problems when running a non-smp kernel. My lockups only seem to occur when the system is idle, but before the screensaver kicks in. I can still SSH into to machine after it locks up. I can use 'ALT + SysRq + B' to reboot the machine, but after the reboot I only have the 'lo' network interface - another normal reboot and my other network interface magically re-appear.

I'm using Debian etch (testing). It's a new install. I'm using kernel 2.6.17-2-k7. I've also tried the 2.6.17-2-686 kernel and it behaves the same. The only noteworthy things I have installed are Gnome, the NVidia 1.0.8774 video driver, and VMware Server.

I've looked through the forums and found several posts suggesting there are issues with smp and sli. I don't need to use sli, but I'm not sure if it was enabled by the NVidia driver installer or not.

Other posts suggest trying different kernel options. I have tried the following options without success:

Code:
noapic pci=routeirq pci=conf1
Since I'm still able to SSH into the machine after I experience problems I'd like to know what I can do to start diagnosing my problem. What logs can I looks at? What processes can I kill / restart?

Also, are there any known problems with my setup or similar setups?

I specifically bought this machine to play around with VMWare / Xen / Parallels, etc.. It's not a production box, so I'll try anything. It's not a big deal if it gets screwed up.

Thanks in advance,
Ryan

I've been working on this for a little while and can add a bit of information. I think I can reproduce this problem by opening a virtual machine in VMware and leaving everything sit idle for about 2 minutes. It should make things easier to track down.

I think the following dmesg output may be relevant:

Code:
/dev/vmnet: open called by PID 4711 (vmware-vmx)
eth1: Promiscuous mode enabled.
device eth1 entered promiscuous mode
audit(1159860848.732:2): dev=eth1 prom=256 old_prom=0 auid=4294967295
bridge-eth1: enabled promiscuous mode
/dev/vmnet: port on hub 0 successfully opened
/dev/vmmon[4728]: host clock rate change request 0 -> 1001
/dev/vmmon[4728]: host clock rate change request 1001 -> 2001
irq 7: nobody cared (try booting with the "irqpoll" option)
 <b013a32b> __report_bad_irq+0x2b/0x69  <b013a4ff> note_interrupt+0x196/0x1c3
 <f88674d2> usb_hcd_irq+0x23/0x50 [usbcore]  <b0139e12> handle_IRQ_event+0x23/0x4c
 <b0139eda> __do_IRQ+0x9f/0xcd  <b0105019> do_IRQ+0x19/0x24
 <b010359e> common_interrupt+0x1a/0x20  <b0101d7c> default_idle+0x0/0x55
 <b0101da8> default_idle+0x2c/0x55  <b0101e60> cpu_idle+0x8f/0xa8
handlers:
[<f88674af>] (usb_hcd_irq+0x0/0x50 [usbcore])
Disabling IRQ #7
I'm starting to think my problem may be ASUS BIOS related. I'm currently using BIOS version 0406. I'll try to update to 0603 and see what happens.

Last edited by vacode; 10-03-06 at 03:26 AM. Reason: Adding information...
vacode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 09:59 AM   #2
vacode
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: How do I start diagnosing random lockups?

I think I may have solved my problem.

I didn't update the BIOS on my ASUS board (having the bios flash utility lockup browsing my usb drive scared me away for a while).

I found a post in the ASUS forums that suggested setting the PnP OS Installed option to 'YES'. So far things seem to be working.

If I don't post again, consider this problem resolved.

Ryan

P.S. This is the first ASUS board I've bought and it'll be the last.
vacode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft explained why they killed start button AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows 8 19 10-28-12 09:07 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
Random loot packs are the best-selling item in free-to-play City of Heroes News Archived News Items 0 05-06-12 11:00 AM
GL lockups with ti4200, i845E and 2.4.20-pre7-ac3 baffle NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 07:39 PM
Gnome2 lockups due to bug in X driver hobbes NVIDIA Linux 11 07-29-02 04:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.