Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-07, 04:55 AM   #169
pentax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Thanx agentkay for the info.

Since we have the same CPU/MB/RAM/cooler I'm wondering haw can you set FPS to 35.

Can you tell me your clocks/voltages setings? Currently I have CPU at 1.4V, FSB 350 x 9 (3125), RAM at 2.2V 1:1 at 5,5,5,15

I haven't yet studied overclocking and I'm not confident to pust further. I also get mixed temperature info (bios CPU 40C, ASUS software 45C, CoreTemp 50-55C...) so I don't know which is true. There is a huge difference between 40 and 55, wouldn't you say? For now Torture test worked ok for more then 2h.

Thanks again for your help!
pentax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-07, 06:03 AM   #170
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

First of all, check out this link which helped me a lot to understand how overclocking works with P5B and C2D.

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=41

My BIOS settings:

FSB: 460
DRAM Freq: DDR2-920
PCIe Freq: 100
PCI Clock: 33,33Mhz
Spread Spectrum: Disabled
Memory voltage: 2,1v
CPU vcore: 1,325v
FSB TermV: 1,3v
NB Vcore: 1,45v
SB Vcore: 1,5v
ICH ChipsetV: 1,052v

Modify Ratio Support: Enabled
Ratio CMOS setting: 7 (CPU multiplier)
C1E Support: Disabled
MaxCPUid: Disabled
Vanderpool: Disabled
CPU TM function: Enabled
Execute DisableBit: Enabled
PECI: Disabled
Intel Speedstep: Disabled

Memory Remap Feature: Disabled
Configure DRAM timing by SPD: Enabled
Static Read Control: Disabled

As you can see, I tried to max out the FSB as far as possible and I run the memory at 4-4-4-12 @ 920mhz (1:1 FSB). FSX is one of the few programs that actually likes memory bandwidth and ran a little smoother with a higher FSB and lower CPU multi (460x7 = 3,22Ghz) instead for instance the other way (405x8 = 3,24Ghz).

Iīm also running my memory with the automatic latencies setting (by SPD) in the BIOS, mainly because I was to lazy find the best setting for the memory, which can be a very time consuming procedure. I was surprised when the 4-4-4-12 timings were automatically used, after all the memory is running still below specs voltage (2,1v instead of 2,2v) but already at 920mhz. Iīm not complaining, everything is super stable incl. dualprime95, dual superpi for many hours (7+) and performance is nice. I might look into manual settings when I have enough time, maybe I will be able to lower the latencies below 4-4-4-12.

Temperature is pretty good as well, CPU idles around 38-39C (in Everest and CoreTemp) and max. heat load was 55C with dualprime95 after several hours. I personally didnīt see such a huge temperature difference between Everest, Coretemp and the BIOS readout. Iīm running my C2D at stock voltage, I only need 1,4v for 3,4+Ghz but that is (IMO) not worth it for me because the temps go to 60C and my FSB/memory bandwidth is lower as well (425x8).

If I was you, I wouldnīt worry too much about the different temperature readings as long as they donīt go above 60C. Just stick to one and forget the others because it seems like some interpret the sensor info a little different.

Good luck!
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-07, 06:27 AM   #171
pentax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Very interesting info. Now I can't wait to come home from work to try this.

Thanks again agentkay for precious info.



BTW, I'm wondering is someone has tried Vista release candidate already (with FSX ofcourse).
pentax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-07, 10:47 AM   #172
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by pentax
Very interesting info. Now I can't wait to come home from work to try this.

Thanks again agentkay for precious info.



BTW, I'm wondering is someone has tried Vista release candidate already (with FSX ofcourse).
I've tried FSX with Vista RC2 and it worked fine. But I switched back to WinXP for games due to no SLI support in Vista yet...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-07, 02:41 PM   #173
pentax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

agentkay, one more thing: what versionof the bios do you have? I have no option to unlock the multiplier.

With EVEREST I noticed that it shows procesor temp and core temps as different items. On load I have proc. temp at 44C, core #1/#2 at 57-58C. Which one is relevant? Also the MB temp is at 48C and I get the alarm with ASUS software as it is too high. What actualy is motherboard temp? Which part of it?

I realize I have some anoing questions and perhaps not for this thread. I apollogize for that and thank for any help.

What one does for the ultimate FS experiance.
pentax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-07, 06:14 PM   #174
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Iīm running the 0804 BIOS, but you have to remember that Iīm running the P5B motherboard with the i965 chipset, yours is a P5W with the i975 chipset. While there are probably not all that big differences, the BIOS versions certainly are different which means that you might have options there that I donīt have and vice versa. I checked the Asus site and a new BIOS version (1707) for your motherboard was released on Dec. 15.

Yes Everest always reads the actual cores a few degrees hotter than "total" CPU. Itīs a little confusing, and Iīm not sure if there are 2 or even 3 different sensors (one inside each core plus one on the heatspreader) or its just one sensor and Everest and the other programs calculate the temperature by adding/decreasing a certain amount of temperature to specific areas of the CPU. One thing is for sure, its not uncommon that sensors are not always perfectly placed and read higher (or lower) than they should. Unless you run into stablity problems, alarms or some other kind of thermal related problems, I wouldnīt worry too much about it.

One thing I would certainly look at is your MB temperature. My MB temperature is around 28-30C and all my previous MBs always had such similar temperatures as well. Based on that knowledge and experience 48C for MB temp is way too high and not very common. Iīm not sure where they place the MB sensor. I used to think they place them either on the north or south bridges but they usually get hotter than 30C, so I donīt think thats it but another area might be close to the CPU socket (or even the rear side of it). You might get a better answer for this one at http://www.xtremesystems.com/ , the people there usually know tons of details about overclocking and certain motherboards. They have also very informative tutorials.

Unless your ambient temperature is like 40-50C, I think your sensor is highly misplaced or broken, or the BIOS version that you have is causing a false temperature reading. While I didnīt find a note about a temperature bug, but there might be one and it should be affected/fixed by updating your MBs BIOS to a newer version. I would recommend a visit to the xtremesystems forums and ask around if other people experience similar high MB temp with the BIOS version that you have, or possibly even a RMA of the MB.

Good luck!
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-07, 06:08 AM   #175
pentax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Ah yes, so first I will try to update the bios.

Thanks again, agentkay.
pentax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-07, 03:32 PM   #176
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Max settings, 12fps.

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-07, 04:36 PM   #177
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Why do I not have a FSX.cfg file on my system?

Is suppose to be in C:\Documents and Settings\(Your Windows User Name)\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX, but I do not have an application data folder under my username.

I isntalled FSX to a partition other than C:, so that might have something to o with it, but I have searched the system many times and there is no FSX.cfg on my system.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-07, 12:06 AM   #178
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle
Is suppose to be in C:\Documents and Settings\(Your Windows User Name)\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX, but I do not have an application data folder under my username.


Thats where mine is but I have no idea why you donīt have one. It shouldnīt matter on which partition you have installed it because Windows should know where your "Documents and Settings" folder is located and copy the files there.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-07, 03:11 AM   #179
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

I reinstalled the game and now I have found it.

Check out my P-51 over Yosemite.

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 04:28 AM   #180
pentax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Just to confirm, that FSX prefers memory bandwith over the CPU clock.

I lovered the multiplier and increased the FSB clock (8x390 4,4,4,12) and I get smooth 30 FPS (moderate to high settings). It looks like RAM speed is important for FSX.

I'm still wondering why I can get past 390MHz FSB (780 RAM) with my PC800 CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400C4 which is declared for 800MHz at 4,4,4,12 latency (no matter what latencies, CPU/RAM voltages).

At 390MHz FSB it runs torture tests perfectly at 44C CPU (planty of room), but on 400MHz it can't even boot. Like there is some blockage (???)




C2D E6600 @ 3125MH (8x390 3,125V aircooled)
ASUS 5PW DH (latest 1801 BIOS)
TWIN2X2048-6400C4 (4,4,4,12 780MHz 2,1V)
8800 GTX @ 1920 x 1080 on Sony TV
WD 150GB 10.000rpm
pentax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.