Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-06, 07:38 AM   #13
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturNOW
I was playing demo on my Athlon XP 2500+@2GHz, 1GB RAM and GeForce 6600GT and I could easly play in 1440x900 with FSAA 2xA with most option more then lowest but not medium Maybe there's one option that really kills performance
Ya I cranked the land detail down to medium and turned everything else all the way up and it runs awesome for me. I think the game is great so far.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 10:13 AM   #14
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Another two screenshots made while overflying my home country. Eventhough the real landscape looks different, the graphics in FSX are nevertheless amazingly beautiful.

The performance is virtually the same as with the last demo, loading times when starting a flight are rather long (25s-35s) on my X2 4800+ with 2gb of RAM and framerates are not that bad considering I used a 7900GTX with max details in FSX.

The simulator itself is again top-notch like all previous FS releases, a great tool to train flying or just fly for fun around the world because the flight behaviour of all the different aircrafts, when judging from my own real flying experience, is definitely as real as it gets.

Can't wait for the DX10 patch
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2006-10-15_16-25-19-31.jpg
Views:	1207
Size:	248.6 KB
ID:	21109  Click image for larger version

Name:	2006-10-15_16-48-16-421.jpg
Views:	1675
Size:	288.4 KB
ID:	21110  
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 10:30 AM   #15
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Can you make the controls arcady? or are they always realistic? I personally suck at flight sims but would love to just fly around (usually takes me 20mins just to find out how to take off).
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 10:37 AM   #16
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Can you make the controls arcady? or are they always realistic? I personally suck at flight sims but would love to just fly around (usually takes me 20mins just to find out how to take off).
I haven't played FSX but in the old versions you could start your plane in the air. Once you're up there it's not hard to just fly around as long as you don't press too many buttons...
"What's this do?"
*engine stops*
"oops"
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 10:43 AM   #17
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Yeah, you can make things really easy to fly, takeoff, etc.

Thanks for the screenshots guys, can't wait to pick this one up.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 11:12 AM   #18
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Can you make the controls arcady? or are they always realistic? I personally suck at flight sims but would love to just fly around (usually takes me 20mins just to find out how to take off).
Like LycosV said, you can change the control realism according to your flying skill, from amateurish to professional. In any case taking off and flying is not really that difficult but to perform a safe landing requires nevertheless some training.

Like all FS releases, FSX offers great fun for everybody who is interested in aviation or just watching the scenery
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 11:23 AM   #19
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

This runs like arse on my 7900gtx. I cant get more than 15fps at 1280x1024 with no aa or af. It says runs better with vista on the box so I will have to wait for that when it releases.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 12:44 PM   #20
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Can you make the controls arcady?
Not sure what you mean by arcady, but I just plug in my dual analog PS2 gamepad and fly with that (is that arcady or consoly? ). All the necessary buttons are already set up, which was nice. I successfully flew and landed planes (i.e. completed missions) without any use of the keyboard.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-06, 01:33 PM   #21
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

What kind of performance are people getting with the final game?

Been playing the demo a bit, and the performance is ass. I tried playing it at 1920x1200 noAA & AF enabled in-game, all details to high/ultra-high (but I didn't go through each slider to set to maximum, just selected the highest pre-set for the basic graphics options).

Anyway, the game ran like 10-15fps, really slow. I also have a Logitech Strike Force 3D, a pretty decent FF joystick. Would like to play the game, but the performance is crap.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-06, 07:55 PM   #22
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Yeah, you can make things really easy to fly, takeoff, etc.

Thanks for the screenshots guys, can't wait to pick this one up.
Ya its a good choice.
WARNING: I saw in the ads today that circuit city has the deluxe version for 49.99.

Best buy has it for 69.99. Damn..

So if you can, shop aorund and see where the best deal is. I know i didn't...but then again i got it early so I really cant complain. But still..20 bucks difference. I was so angry when I found out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-06, 12:48 AM   #23
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangSVT
What kind of performance are people getting with the final game?

Been playing the demo a bit, and the performance is ass. I tried playing it at 1920x1200 noAA & AF enabled in-game, all details to high/ultra-high (but I didn't go through each slider to set to maximum, just selected the highest pre-set for the basic graphics options).

Anyway, the game ran like 10-15fps, really slow. I also have a Logitech Strike Force 3D, a pretty decent FF joystick. Would like to play the game, but the performance is crap.
I was playing at 1280x1024 with no aa and af and I was getting like 15fps so not good for me. This is on a 7900 gtx.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-06, 12:57 AM   #24
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

I was playing at 2560x1600 with my Voodoo Banshee with 8AA and 16AF all detail max getting round 286FPS... I dunno must be your rigs.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.