Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-09, 10:35 AM   #2593
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman View Post
I see, If I just start FSX like normal I will still get all the goodies (textures) from REX but I will be able to set my own weather conditions?...
FSX will always load the textures you installed last. eg; if you open REX and install a weather theme, you can then close REX and that weather theme you chose will still load when you run FSX, until you install another theme (with FSX, REX or what ever).

I'm not too fond of the REX weather themes either. I use REX clouds but FSX weather.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 01:17 PM   #2594
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
FSX will always load the textures you installed last. eg; if you open REX and install a weather theme, you can then close REX and that weather theme you chose will still load when you run FSX, until you install another theme (with FSX, REX or what ever).

I'm not too fond of the REX weather themes either. I use REX clouds but FSX weather.
Cool! I will try this when I get home. I haven't noticed any difference in buildings using REX. Am I mistaken in thinking it is suppose to replace the building scenery?

Any recommendations for places to fly to see some of the best scenery in REX?

Thanks!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 01:52 PM   #2595
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman View Post
Cool! I will try this when I get home. I haven't noticed any difference in buildings using REX. Am I mistaken in thinking it is suppose to replace the building scenery?

Any recommendations for places to fly to see some of the best scenery in REX?

Thanks!
Buildings are not changed, but airport ground surfaces are, provided you have selected them in the REX options tab.

Anywhere will look better with REX, it is not scenery, nor does it change the scenery, just the atmospheric environment. I think any areas where sea meets land show it at its best…as below.


Here are four shots from Earth Simulations fantastic Alderney scenery http://earthsimulations.com/index.html - enhanced by some equally great REX textures.

You could be there for real.






SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 02:33 PM   #2596
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

WOW! thats really nice! I would think it would be almost impossible to have any software cover the entire globe to make it look like that. Is that just for a small part of the globe? Thats what it looks like from there site. I'm at work and the internet connection is so slow I can't download any videos or look at hi-res photos. Ill look into it a little more when I get home.

So far I really like REX. I had a little trouble getting it to find my FSX.cofig file, other that that everything is great so far. I am using the "reality" theme right now.

If I play around with my graphic settings in FSX will that screw up REX at all? Everything is maxed out right now (except traffic) I tried to fly at La Guarida in New York and my frame rate was really bad lol.. I kinda expect that flying is such a populated area.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 03:20 PM   #2597
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

musman, check out some of the links in the 'FSX Club' group, and while you're at it, join the group . The link is in my sig .
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 03:50 PM   #2598
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
musman, check out some of the links in the 'FSX Club' group, and while you're at it, join the group . The link is in my sig .
I just joined! Got to wait for it to be approved. Hope they don't do a back ground check!!

Thanks!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 04:32 PM   #2599
omzig
Comfortably Numb
 
omzig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 752
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Hey guys

Been out the loop for a while mainly renovating my bro's new house...


Anyhows the Goose HD project i nearing the home stright so should only be a few weeks away now heres a few new shots just for you guys in the Nvnews FSX thread




@Mark Wow man those are some really stunning screen shots defo going to have to check out Alderney once i get the time to sim again i'll just make sure to use a slow and low so i dont over shoot it in 10 seconds hehe

@musman i suggest you give http://www.fswaterconfigurator.com/ a look it has to be the best freeware utility for FSX ive yet used it can do wonders for any FSX water normals be it default my freeware HD sets or REX

Laters
steve
omzig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-09, 04:53 AM   #2600
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Steve, thanks....I am kicking myself here though, seeing your shots of the Goose - not knowing if I would get into flight simming seriously again when FSX was released, I went for the standard edition to save a bit of money, and therefore I have no Goose...regretting it now BIG time.

Musman, your right it would be impossible to cover the globe at the detail level of E.S Alderney - I'm sure someone could work out how many hard drives you would need to store it all, but, lets just say it be a lot!!!

This is why we need Orbx, with their stunning, but space friendly landclass approach - that coupled with these smaller photosceney areas is the way forward.
SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-28-09, 03:58 PM   #2601
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Great shots everybody. Looks like Aerosoft wants to make a new FS engine to replace FSX.

http://www.forum.aerosoft.com/index.php?showtopic=25954
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-09, 02:15 PM   #2602
omzig
Comfortably Numb
 
omzig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 752
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

Hum....Avsim is magically back online with 90% of its libary intact...hummm

Good news on the AS sim dev i'll keep an eye on it but i wouldnt expect anything to come of it for a good few years yet

Thanks for the kind words guys glad your liking the looks of the goose redux,i wouldnt want to count the amount of hours ive spent working on this thing! & just wait till you try the new FM that pams cooked up its out standing

I'll be firing out a few Beta tester PM within the next week so a few of you might get to test it out a bit earlyer the the rest of the simming world

Laters
steve
omzig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 01:54 PM   #2603
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread













__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 11:08 AM   #2604
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Flight Simulator X Feedback Thread

What irritates me about FSX is it only uses on thread of the I7 920. When I use either coretemp or Windows stock cpu monitor it shows core 0 at 50% the whole time I'm in the simulator, all the other cores are at 0-14% max. Being that is shows core 0 at 50% tell me it's only using one thread to run the simulator. That's just lame. I it would at least use both threads on core 0, I/we would be able to put the settings all the way up (except probably traffic) to max. Is there a way around this?
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.