Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-07, 04:36 PM   #313
SLINROB
*BANNED*
 
SLINROB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJA06
A new line - add it below the display section.

Okay I will try it out later. Does it come with a performance cost?

I tried the modified ini file that someone pasted on the page before this one and it made the game look tons better, I even went into the game options and turned up a few other settings with no performance hit.

That latest patch did wonders for my FPS and my E6600@3.6ghz is helping to move that game right along. Now if we can just get SLI working............
SLINROB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 02:24 PM   #314
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

No perfomance hit - but if your happy with your visuals, you may not need to add it. It just helps to sharpen up the more distant textures.
SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 03:22 PM   #315
SLINROB
*BANNED*
 
SLINROB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJA06
No perfomance hit - but if your happy with your visuals, you may not need to add it. It just helps to sharpen up the more distant textures.

Thank you! I tried it out and actually love it! I am also using the other ini tweaks from the page before this one as well.


Flight sim X is running really well on my rig now after the latest patch.
SLINROB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 05:37 PM   #316
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Yeah, I 2nd that. Thanks for all the tips/tweaks.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 08:52 PM   #317
Apollo 13
The Man
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 324
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJA06
Set negative LOD bias to clamp - and that should help.

Couple of other tips from Phil.

Don't go mad with the TEXTURE_BANDWITH_MULT setting...setting it as high as 400 does you no favors.

Adding this to the cfg file
[BUFFERPOOLS]
Poolsize=xxxxxxx
4000000 is the default in SP1...again don't go mad, and certainly go no higher than 10000000.
I did not understand this posts. OK I should add

[BUFFERPOOLS]
Poolsize=xxxxxxx

what goes in all the X's? You say something about TEXTURE_BANDWITH_MULT setting and im quessing this is it, but you say don't go higher then 400 but 4000000 is the default. Are you talking about two seperate things here, because if so I can't even find TEXTURE_BANDWITH_MULT in my cgf file.

By the way how long is the game suppose to stay blurry, because mine can be blurry for over 15 seconds.

*EDIT* nevermind google help me out http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archiv...week-or-2.aspx
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600@ 3.4Ghz
300Gb Harddrive
EVGA 8800GT not overclocked
2GB G.skill DDR2 800
19'' Benq FP91G+
Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Apollo 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 11:25 PM   #318
Revo1
Registered User
 
Revo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Waupaca, WI
Posts: 66
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

LOAFER87GT: Incredible shots, I lived on Oahu for 6yrs while in the Army Schofield Barrecks to be exact and the graphics on ur comp are amazing. I picked out a bunch of familiar land marks.
__________________
Dell E1501
2MB RAM
ULTRA SHARP MONITOR
ATI RADEON 1400
Revo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 11:31 PM   #319
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Alright, have a few problems.

The scenery jumps from time to time, its almost like lag...but the frame rates are good, high twenties. Its locked at 30fps.

The shadows and the wings on the planes are a little jaggy also.
AA is 4x and AF is 8x

Got any good cfgs for me?
Or recommendations?
What can i do to make the game run great and look phenomenal with my system?

Dont give me cfg tweaks if you have a quad core oc'd and 2 g80's...because i doubt that will help me any
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-07, 01:57 PM   #320
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo 13
I did not understand this posts. OK I should add

[BUFFERPOOLS]
Poolsize=xxxxxxx

what goes in all the X's? You say something about TEXTURE_BANDWITH_MULT setting and im quessing this is it, but you say don't go higher then 400 but 4000000 is the default. Are you talking about two seperate things here, because if so I can't even find TEXTURE_BANDWITH_MULT in my cgf file.

By the way how long is the game suppose to stay blurry, because mine can be blurry for over 15 seconds.

If you getting blurries that recover after a few seconds, than is likely you will have to reduce some settings.

*EDIT* nevermind google help me out http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archiv...week-or-2.aspx
Sorry I will try to be more clear - for others looking.

To use the poolsize tweak you must add the lines (just place this at the bottom of the cfg)

[bufferpools]
poolsize=x
The x being the value you set...the default is 4000000 [4mb] (eg poolsize+4000000)

This is the amount of bytes thats allocated for one pool of vertex and index buffers to store geometry.

But you can add a value up to 10000000 - I reckon 6000000 is reasonable...so it would look like this.


[bufferpools]
poolsize=6000000

Ok I see you've found that anyway but below may be of use.


The TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT is already within the cfg - it's default seems to be 30 to 40. Some people in the past have upped this to as high as 400 or more. But according to Phil Taylor, who deals with terrain at ACES, this will hurt perfomance and is best left at default. I read now, even lowering it can help reduce stutters, esp combined with a locked frame rate.. say 30.

SO for blurries try locking the target frame rate, to say, 30 and reducing the T_B_M to 20. See what happens - you may also have to knock some sliders to the left a bit, if blurries are still a major issue.

Breathemetal is your global texture slider at max? .. also for you add the mipbias=6 line and set negative lod bias to 'clamp' .. use nhancer to make a profile and force high levels of AF & AA. This will improve you visuals without hurting performance.
SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-07, 01:07 AM   #321
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

So where is the fsx.cfg file found on Vista??
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-07, 04:15 AM   #322
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
So where is the fsx.cfg file found on Vista??

Local disk C - Documents and Settings - your name - Application Data(show hidden files must be ticked) - Microsoft - FSX - fsx cfg file.
SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-07, 12:22 PM   #323
Sabadin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 257
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

That's the XP location, it's different in Vista

IIRC

C:\Windows\users\"your name"\app data\Microsoft\FSX
Sabadin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-07, 02:17 PM   #324
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Official Flight Simulator X Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabadin
That's the XP location, it's different in Vista

IIRC

C:\Windows\users\"your name"\app data\Microsoft\FSX
AH..did not even notice he said Vista, not that I knew it had a differant location..

Has anyone been getting hard locks with FSX since SP1...I don't think it crashed once before I applied the patch, but now I'm getting regular lock-up with the sound still running, forcing me to reset. Sometimes it does generate an error report, but most times I see it has put a text copy of my config in my app data/Ms/FSX folder.

Any idea's?.
SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.