Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-06, 06:49 PM   #13
dave409
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Screen resolution stuck at 800x600 with nvidia driver/Dual Head setup problems

well, it does allow me to get into 1024x768, but this is unacceptable because, I should be able to get into 1280x1024, as per my Nokia specs. I can within XP, and also using the "nv" driver. However, should I be able to span desktops in 1024x768, it could be of use.

Setting up dual-head in the display panel, it uses the vesa driver, and wont load X. I changed to nvidia, and it sticks me back in 800x600-only mode without spanning.

I included a bug report for dual-head
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (94.5 KB, 87 views)
dave409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-06, 07:02 PM   #14
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Screen resolution stuck at 800x600 with nvidia driver/Dual Head setup problems

According to this bug report, only a single CRT is being detected.

As you posted above, 1024x768 is the largest mode in the EDID. You can try forcing something bigger with a custom modeline.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-06, 07:11 PM   #15
dave409
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Screen resolution stuck at 800x600 with nvidia driver/Dual Head setup problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
According to this bug report, only a single CRT is being detected.
do you know if this is to be expected when Y-splitting a single vga connector? or is that how dual monitors is typically set up using a single video card?
dave409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-06, 09:38 PM   #16
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Screen resolution stuck at 800x600 with nvidia driver/Dual Head setup problems

Yes, that's to be expected. In fact, if you're splitting a single VGA connector that might explain all of the other problems you're reporting here as well. That splitter is an unsupported configuration.

If you want to drive two displays, you need to attach one per VGA/DVI connector on the videocard. If your videocard only has one connector, then you can only use one display.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.