Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-06, 03:08 PM   #1
G0NZ0
Antarctic Runner
 
G0NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida (Tallahassee) / Italy (Pavia)
Posts: 12
Default Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

Hello, i would like to ask some help for an audio problem with my laptop.
It's a emachines N-10, Gateway mobo and Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio. Operating System: Suse 10.1 , x86.
I have the latest version of ALSA and audio card seems to be detected perfectly. But yet no way no how to get audio. I tried recompiling ALSA from scratch, still no luck at all. Tried any sort of setting, edited /etc/modprobe.conf... nothing.

Does anyone know whether is there a way for this specific card... or i really must give up and keep my PC mute?
This forum is really my very last hope... I even asked help to a system admin, who was not able solve either.

Many thanks in advance for any suggestion!
G0NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 03:31 PM   #2
dsessom
Boobs are good.
 
dsessom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lawton, OK USA
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to dsessom Send a message via AIM to dsessom Send a message via Yahoo to dsessom
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

Did the audio work under Windows?
__________________
Main PC - | Pentium5 @ 6.4ghz (400x16) | Vapochill XC (XtraChilly) | Abit ICU812 v2.0 | 8GB (4x2GB) Corsair XMS PC12800 @ 2-3-3-5-1T | XFX Geforce 9850 Super Ultra GTX X4 | 4x1TB WD SATA3 RAID 0 | Sony DLQ32 DVD+/-RW | ThermalTake Chameleon case w/thermal sensitive paint. & 1000W PSU | Windows Valley SemiPro w/SP1.25
dsessom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 03:34 PM   #3
G0NZ0
Antarctic Runner
 
G0NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida (Tallahassee) / Italy (Pavia)
Posts: 12
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

yes, perfectly. I still have windows in a partition of the same laptop, and never had any problems with audio there.
G0NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 03:52 PM   #4
plink212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

What do you get in alsamixer? Is it that you are not getting the channels you expect? Are you modprobing the snd-hda-intel module?
plink212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 04:04 PM   #5
G0NZ0
Antarctic Runner
 
G0NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida (Tallahassee) / Italy (Pavia)
Posts: 12
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

Thanks for your prompt replies.
Alsa mixer looks perfect to me: here is a screenshot: http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g1...0_0_1/alsa.jpg

I have all the volume and channel controls like I had in computers where sound works perfectly. I played with any possible settings .

I had tried adding these lines in /etc/modprobe.conf.local:

# alsa driver for onboard realtek 861 chip
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-card-0 index=0
options snd-hda-intel index=0
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-digout

# oss emulation
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias snd-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss



Thanks again
G0NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 04:31 PM   #6
plink212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

could you rmmod snd-hda-intel
then modprobe snd-hda-intel model=3stack
as it is a laptop you do not have a digital out right?
there are also other models you can try i.e. 4stack 5stack etc. there is a command that lets you list them but I cannot remember what it is.
plink212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 04:40 PM   #7
G0NZ0
Antarctic Runner
 
G0NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida (Tallahassee) / Italy (Pavia)
Posts: 12
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plink212
could you rmmod snd-hda-intel
then modprobe snd-hda-intel model=3stack
as it is a laptop you do not have a digital out right?
there are also other models you can try i.e. 4stack 5stack etc. there is a command that lets you list them but I cannot remember what it is.
sorry plink212, i'm not understanding exactly.. should i unload the kernel module with rmmod snd-hda-intel , then re-edit the file /etc/modprobe.conf cutting off the word stack-digout or simply run the command modprobe snd-hda-intel model=3stack ?
(right now i have commented the part that i edited in the modprobe.config, since it did not work)
G0NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 04:43 PM   #8
plink212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

yes just unload the module with rmmod and then modprobe the new module par example

#rmmod snd-hda-intel
#modprobe snd-hda-intel model=3stack
#alsamixer
plink212 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-25-06, 04:50 PM   #9
G0NZ0
Antarctic Runner
 
G0NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida (Tallahassee) / Italy (Pavia)
Posts: 12
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

ok. I quitted any control volume and run that command, but still it is returning:
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use

P.S.: would be probably faster to edit the modprobe.conf file inserting 3stack in place of 3stack-digout and reboot?
G0NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 04:59 PM   #10
plink212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

you probably have something trying to run against it or have a dependent module on it. if you do
#lsmod
you would get
#snd_hda_intel 18400 3
and the modules would be after it.
but yes i agree edit your file and restart alsa (rebooting seems a bit drastic)
I don't use suse but a quick google gives
#rcalsasound restart
or the gentoo way
#/etc/init.d/alsasound restart

hopefully one will work else just reboot.
plink212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 05:07 PM   #11
G0NZ0
Antarctic Runner
 
G0NZ0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida (Tallahassee) / Italy (Pavia)
Posts: 12
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

ok i had rebooted already, after editing the /etc/modprobe.conf.local, which now is the following:

# alsa driver for onboard realtek 861 chip
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-card-0 index=0
options snd-hda-intel index=0
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack

# oss emulation
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias snd-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss


Everything is still exacly like before and alsamixer looks like before. I played with its settings but no change whatsoever...
G0NZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-06, 05:16 PM   #12
plink212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Nvidia Mcp51 High Definition Audio, really no hopes?

what happens if you run alsaconf?
#alsaconf
does it detect the soundcard correctly?
I am afraid it is getting late here in UK so I will be off to bed, but hopefully you should be able to sort it out, if you are still stuck i would suggest posting to the alsa-users list at www.alsa-project.org

Hope it works out

Tim
plink212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Equity Research on Microchip Technology Inc. and NVIDIA Corporation - High Hopes for News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:50 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.