Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-06, 07:55 AM   #1
robert.roy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

I am trying to get a triple head setup as follows. The "left" and "center" monitors running off of one card in twinview modes, and the third "right" display running it's own desktop. The hope is that this will cut out the need for xorg's xinerama extension speeding up the whole desktop.

The problem I am seeing is the built in XINERAMA extension is not working correctly for the Left/Center monitors (0.0). It identifies two displays, One centered on the left of the left screen. The other in the middle of the two screens. Another strange issue is the right screen (0.1) show up as having two XINERAMA screens as well.

Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (103.1 KB, 96 views)
robert.roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 11:28 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

Where are you obtaining this information? Does this problem persist with the 1.0-9625 driver as well?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 01:19 PM   #3
robert.roy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

Quote:
Where are you obtaining this information?
I'm not sure what you are asking here. This is my desktop system. It's a dual processor box with two PCI GF5200 cards in it. I can try the latest beta driver if you think that will help. I was hoping it was just a config issue.
robert.roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 01:25 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

I'm asking you where you are seeing this problem? Its not clear how the problem is detected.

Thanks,
-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 02:13 PM   #5
robert.roy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

Right.

I use the "identify screens" tool in KDE. Normally, this tool will place a number in the center of each display. In my case, the left most monitor has the number 1 and half the number 2. The center screen has half of the number 2 on the left most boarder. Display 0.1, which is made of only on screen displays 1 and 2.


Code:

Normal
|----------|----------|----------|

     1          2          3

|----------|----------|----------|

Me

|----------|----------|----------|

  1       2            1      2

|----------|----------|----------|

what I expect:
|----------|----------|----------|

     1          2          1

|----------|----------|----------|


Last edited by robert.roy; 10-03-06 at 02:20 PM. Reason: getting formatting right
robert.roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-06, 03:31 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

That looks like a KDE bug, where its getting confused by TwinView. Are you experiencing a functional problem?

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-06, 09:16 AM   #7
stefant
Stefan Hepp
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

I had some troubles with twinview+third screen too. It seems that the twinview xinerama-info is not compatible with the x-xinerama extension (in fact, i have to turn off xinerama in order to have a working twinview-setup).

I could resolve this using three device-sections (one for each screen), basically something like this (leaving out the 'screen' sections):

Section "Device"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
# Use the first monitor on the first card
Screen 0
..
EndSection
Section "Device"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
# Use the second monitor on the first card
Screen 1
..
EndSection
Section "Device"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
..
EndSection
# Three screen-sections for each device-section go here..

Section "ServerLayout"
Screen "Screen 1"
Screen "Screen 2" LeftOf "Screen 1"
Screen "Screen 3" RightOf "Screen 1"
Option "Xinerama" "on"
...
EndSection

(I think there is also a section in the readme concerning multihead without twinview).

The only problem i have with this setup is, that X seems to fall back to pure software rendering when xinerama spans over two cards, which makes things real slow (konqueror, mozilla are almost unusable, opera even crashes sometimes), like if RenderAccel is disabled.

If anyone has any ideas how to make this setup faster, i would appreciate any input. I tried compiz too, but ran into serious trouble getting it up and running on two cards. I even tried to start two X-servers on the same vt with -sharedvt and connecting them with Xdmx. It worked, but was not fast nor stable either
stefant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-06, 09:52 AM   #8
robert.roy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

This is not a KDE bug. I can see the same window placement behavior in all window managers I have tried. Gnome, fvwm2, etc. Additionally, I do not have xorg's Xinerama enabled. This is well documented in the README. Furthermore, I don't want xorg's Xinerama because it's killing my performance. I would like to have twinview's single spaned desktop using it's built in XINERAMA hints to the window manager on desktop 0.0. On the second card I want another desktop 0.1. No software Xinerama between the two desktops.

After looking closely at the symptoms, it looks like the nvidia module has a single notion of the XINERAMA screen. It uses the dimension of the smallest desktop. In this case that is 0.1. Then it uses it's only value it knows for the number of screens which is 2. Just a guess. But is is consistent with what I see. Both desktop's window manager are receiving XINERAMA hints as if there are two monitors with a 1600x1200 resolution. Even though one screen should be 3200x1200 with 2 monitors and the other should be 1600x1200 with no XINERAMA hints being passed. My guess is the XINERAMA notion in the kernel module is globally configured for all desktops.

Ill be upgrading soon. I just need to get time to bounce X.
robert.roy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-06-06, 06:48 AM   #9
robert.roy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

The upgrade did not resolve the issue. Is there a way to log a bug against the driver?
robert.roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-06, 10:09 AM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

robert.roy,
This is not a bug. Everything is working as expected. Twinview leads a window manager to believe that there is one large display instead of two. It sounds like you're requesting for an enhancement to negate that behavior such that your window manager can be made aware of all the physical displays?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-06, 08:34 AM   #11
robert.roy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

No, I think you are missing the whole point. The display and X setup are fine. I see the unified desktop 0.0 on the left two monitors and a second desktop 0.1 on the right. This is correct and works marvelously. The problem is with Nvidia's notion of Xinerama.

I currently do not want to use the option:
Option "Xinerama" "on"

This kills the performance of the desktop. Nvidia provides an extension to allow for better placement of windows across a twinview desktop.
Quote:
Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "boolean"

When in TwinView, the NVIDIA X driver normally provides a Xinerama extension that X clients (such as window managers) can use to discover the current TwinView configuration. Some window mangers get confused by this information, so this option is provided to disable this behavior. Default: false (TwinView Xinerama information is provided).
This is what is not working correctly. The kernel modules notion of this extension seems to be global for all Nvidia cards in the system. There is no way to use this extension on one desktop but not the other.
robert.roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-06, 07:41 AM   #12
savagemindz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Tripple Head Twinview Plus one

I think I am having a similar problem. I want to be able to have 2 screens using twinview and Nvidia's xinerama on 2 DFP monitors. These are both attached to a Geforce 5600.

I then have a pci Geforce 2mx which I want to be on its own, no xinerama, just a seperate desktop but on the same x server.

Now when I try this twineview seems to work but the nvidia xinerma gets disabled and the X version gets turned on (even though I have "Option "Xinerama" "0") so I end up with one xinerama screen spanning 2 monitors and the mx connected monitor being xinerama screen 2.

I expected to get this....

|-------------Desktop 1---------------| |--Desktop 2------|
|-----DFP-0-------|------DFP-1-------| |-----CRT-0-------|
|Xinerama screen 1|Xinerama Screen 2| |Xinerama Screen 1|


But I actually ended up with this...

|--------------Desktop 1----------------------------------|
|-----DFP-0------&------DFP-1-------| |-----CRT-0-------|
|Xinerama screen 1-------------------| |Xinerama Screen 2|

I also tried to make CRT-0 xinerama screen 3 but that didn't work either with Nvidia's xinerama I also don't really want to make use of the X xinerama.

Anyway here is the config. Let me know if you see any obvious errors...

Code:
# File: XF86config


#Section "Module"

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
#    SubSection  "extmod"
#      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
#    EndSubSection


#EndSection
Section "Module"
      Load  "bitmap"
      Load  "dbe"
      Load  "extmod"
      Load  "freetype"
#      Load  "xtt"
      Load  "glx"
      Load  "type1"             
      Load  "v4l"               
      Load  "ddc"               
      Load  "speedo"            
#      Load  "dri"              
EndSection                      
                                
Section "Extensions"            
        Option  "Composite"     "true"
EndSection                      
                                
# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************
                                
Section "Files"                 
                                
    FontPath   "unix/:-1"       
#    FontPath   "unix/:7100"    
                                
                                
EndSection                      
                                
# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.         
# **********************************************************************
                                
Section "ServerFlags"           
                                
# Set the DPMS timeouts.  These are set here because they are global
# rather than screen-specific.  These settings alone don't enable DPMS.
# It is enabled per-screen (or per-monitor), and even then only when
# the driver supports it.       
                                
    Option      "standby time"  "20"
    Option      "suspend time"  "30"
    Option      "off time"      "60"
                                
EndSection                      
                                
# **********************************************************************
# Core keyboard's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
                                
Section "InputDevice"           
                                
    Identifier  "Keyboard1"     
    Driver      "kbd"           


#    Option     "Protocol"      "Xqueue"

    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"

    Option "XkbModel"   "logiinkse"
    Option "XkbLayout"  "gb"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option      "Buttons" "7"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

#    Option "Protocol"  "Xqueue"
# 

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor 1"
    HorizSync   30-93
    VertRefresh 50-85
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor 2" # TV
    HorizSync   30-93
    VertRefresh 50-75
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Device configured by xf86config:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce FX"
    Driver      "nvidia"        
    BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
    Option      "dpms"
    Option      "HWCursor"  "on"
    Option "AGPMode" "8"
    Option "AGPFastWrite" "true"
    Option "EnablePageFlip" "true" 
    Option "RenderAccel" "True"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    Option "DisableGLXRootClipping" "true"
    Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    Option "backingstore" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce 2"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    BusID       "PCI:1:08:0"
    Option      "dpms"
    Option      "HWCursor"  "on"
    Option "EnablePageFlip" "true"
    Option "RenderAccel" "True"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    Option "DisableGLXRootClipping" "true"
    Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
    Option "backingstore" "true"
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "NVIDIA GeForce FX"
    Monitor     "Monitor 1"
    Option      "NvAgp" "3"
    Option "TwinView" "true"
    Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200, 1600x1200;1600x1200, NULL;1280x1024, NULL;1152x864, NULL; 1024x768, NULL; 800x600, NULL; 640x480, NULL;"
    Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
    Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP, DFP"
    Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0, DFP-1"
 
    DefaultDepth 24
    DefaultFbBpp 32
#    DefaultDepth 16

#    Subsection "Display"
#        Depth       8
#        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#        ViewPort    0 0
#    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 2"
    Device      "NVIDIA GeForce 2"
    Monitor     "Monitor 2"
    #Option      "TwinView"
    #Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
    #Option     "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"

    DefaultDepth 24
    DefaultFbBpp 32
#    DefaultDepth 16

#    Subsection "Display"
#        Depth       8
#        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerLayout"
# The Identifier line must be present
    Identifier  "main"
    Screen 0 "Screen 1" 0 0 
    Screen 1 "Screen 2" RightOf "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

#Section "dri"
#    Mode 0666
#EndSection
Thanks

iain
savagemindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 12:44 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.