Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-06, 01:05 PM   #1
Void Main
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tuxville, USA
Posts: 18
Default compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Sorry for the cross post but I believe this would have been the more appropriate forum to post this in:

Just trying to get a definitive answer on whether I can get compiz to work with my OS and hardware. I am running Fedora Core 6 and lspci shows this for a video card:

Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV5 [RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro] (rev 11)
From what I have read I need to use the legacy driver with this card so I downloaded and installed NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-7184-pkg1.run. After setting my video driver to "nvidia" and trying to load the glx module it seems the glx module will not load. I get this in my /var/log/Xorg.0.log.

Code:
...
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/libglx.so
(II) Module glx: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
        compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.7184
        Module class: XFree86 Server Extension
        ABI class: XFree86 Server Extension, version 0.1
(II) Loading extension GLX
...
(EE) Failed to initialize GLX extension (NVIDIA X driver not found)
...
So it appears to try and load the glx driver from the 7184 driver package but can't (the nvidia kernel module is loaded). One thing I notice is that it says "compiled for 4.0.2" instead of "compiled for 7.1.1". The driver download page says it supports 7.1 but does it really?
Void Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 02:32 PM   #2
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver; please make sure you selected the nvidia X driver module in the appropriate Device section. If you continue to have problems, please generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log file.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 03:41 PM   #3
Void Main
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tuxville, USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

I was actually using the proper nVidia driver but I accidentally posted those messages from the wrong log and this is what I get in the proper log:

Code:
(EE) GLX is not supported with the Composite extension
I try and enable desktop-effects in this state and it complains that GLX extensions are missing. If I disable Composite then GLX will load but then when I try to enable desktop-effects I get a message about it requiring composite. Catch 22? I will attach my xorg.conf, my Xorg.0.log and my nvidia-installer.log.

Thanks for the help!
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (24.6 KB, 204 views)
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (31.9 KB, 169 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (1.5 KB, 257 views)
Void Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 03:49 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Per the driver README, you need the AllowGLXwithComposite option if you want to use Composite & GLX simultaneously.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 04:40 PM   #5
Void Main
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tuxville, USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Ah the README. I usually RTFM but missed this one. Now GLX loads but when I try and enable compiz desktop effects I get this:

Code:
gnome-window-decorator: Screen 0 on display ":0.0" already has a decoration manager; try using the --replace option to replace the current decoration manager.
compiz: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
compiz: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz: No managable screens found on display :0.0
This is after I added these two options to my xorg.conf:
Code:
        Option      "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        Option      "DisableGLXRootClipping" "True"
I think I am very close and I see other people getting these messages but no go.

Thanks again!
Void Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 04:44 PM   #6
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

The GLX_ext_texture_from_pixmap extension is not supported by the 1.0-7184 NVIDIA Linux graphics driver release and/or legacy graphics chips.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 04:52 PM   #7
Void Main
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tuxville, USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
The GLX_ext_texture_from_pixmap extension is not supported by the 1.0-7184 NVIDIA Linux graphics driver release and/or legacy graphics chips.
So what you are saying is that the answer to my original question "Just trying to get a definitive answer on whether I can get compiz to work with my OS and hardware" is "no"? You can not run compiz with the legacy drivers? If this is true maybe this thread can save some other people a lot of headache.

Thanks!
Void Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-06, 05:16 AM   #8
piotrq__
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 193
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Try using XGL instead of a "normal" X server. XGL will kinda emulate this missing extension and you will get desktop effects you want.
piotrq__ is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-06, 12:42 PM   #9
Void Main
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tuxville, USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Thanks for the tip. Would you have any pointers on some instructions/HOWTOs to get this going with FC6? Would the following document be the best?

http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software_2fXgl
Void Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-06, 01:10 PM   #10
piotrq__
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 193
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

I'd use this one: http://news.softpedia.com/news/How-t...re-35032.shtml
I think you can skip the driver installation part and go straight to step 2.
piotrq__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-06, 01:25 PM   #11
Void Main
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tuxville, USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: compiz + FC6 + RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro

Thanks! I think what I might do is take his spec file along with the latest CVS and build my own FC6 RPMS later this evening.
Void Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.