Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-06, 10:40 AM   #13
raystorm
:)
 
raystorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 273
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

No starforce. Uses Securom which some people do have problems with.
raystorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 10:54 AM   #14
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Ubisoft ditched starforce for all future games did they not? I think lack of 64-bit support was probably a good a reason as any.

Thanks for the nice screens Tork64. I'm anxiously awaiting this one
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 11:42 AM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raystorm
No starforce. Uses Securom which some people do have problems with.
you do realize that securom also uses a driver? and has files on your system

haha

do you find the irony in this?

starforce
driver
files on system
hard to crack
people bitch

securom
driver
files on system
easier to crack
less people bitchin

and why is it ok to post screen when its quite obvious how he got the game?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 11:53 AM   #16
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

I think the game already came out in the UK.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 12:01 PM   #17
raystorm
:)
 
raystorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 273
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
you do realize that securom also uses a driver? and has files on your system

haha

do you find the irony in this?

starforce
driver
files on system
hard to crack
people bitch

securom
driver
files on system
easier to crack
less people bitchin

and why is it ok to post screen when its quite obvious how he got the game?
Yea, most people don't know that. Most of those copy protections install stuff on your drive. I personally never had a problem with any copy protection even Starforce.
raystorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 12:07 PM   #18
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

nm
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 12:15 PM   #19
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvel_us
I think the game already came out in the UK.
http://play.com/Games/PC/GENCD/3-/62...t/Product.html

no, its not
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 12:31 PM   #20
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
you do realize that securom also uses a driver? and has files on your system

haha

do you find the irony in this?

starforce
driver
files on system
hard to crack
people bitch

securom
driver
files on system
easier to crack
less people bitchin

and why is it ok to post screen when its quite obvious how he got the game?
When Securom starts giving people BSOD's, please let me know. Starforce has given me BSOD's on Trackmania Sunrise and Colin McRae Rally 2005.

How do I know it was Starforce?
  • Those are the only BSOD's I've ever had with this system.
  • The system BSODed when I tried to launch the games and the Starforce verifier was about half way through
  • The BSOD said that a Starforce DLL WAS THE PROBLEM!!!

Securom has been around for many, many, many years and has never caused problems like that. It has caused problems, like when GTA SA wouldn't start on my machine. I called Rockstar and they, along with Securom, PERSONALLY, worked with me until they fixed my problem. I mean over the course of a week Securom made me 3 CUSTOM .exe's so I could play my game. Rockstar was usually just CCed in on our mails.

On the two Starforce games I mentioned, the two companies were fine, but said I needed to contact Starforce directly. Starforce accused me of being a criminal even when I gave them my serial number. They were arrogant and pompous and swore it was MY FAULT, even thought the BSOD specifically mentioned their DLL. Then they blamed the game companies, then they blamed me for being a pirate. I was ****ing furious.

THAT is why people hate Starforce. The warez community could really give a **** because they'll crack it one way or another.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-06, 01:13 PM   #21
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
I dunno, I was going by what IGN had on their page.

http://pc.ign.com/articles/736/736406p1.html

Oh well.
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 02:18 PM   #22
Knot3D
Registered User
 
Knot3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ShadowMosesIsland
Posts: 734
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Ehm... this is what happened to the game : http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/t...2/m/3721002005
__________________
AMD X2 4800, Asus A8N32sli-D, Corsair Twinx 2Gb PC3500LLpro, Asus X1900XTX & 2 WD Raptors
Knot3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 03:36 PM   #23
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Looks impressive except for the shadows which appears to have rendering errors ?

anyway what options do you get to play with in the settings ??! (HDR , parallax mapping ..etc)
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 03:45 PM   #24
Quickstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 353
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

The game uses a heavily modified Unreal 2 engine.
Quickstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supernatural Splinter Cell: DARK Is A Vampire Stealth RPG News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
Thief: Deadly Shadows, Splinter Cell, Anomaly: Warzone Earth and Legacy of Kain: Soul News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 11:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.