Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-06, 12:42 PM   #61
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Played it a bit last night, huge issues on my system when enabling Crossfire, textures were all messed up. Disabling crossfire solved the issues and I was able to enjoy the game as intended (for the most part).

Shadows and deep blacks show bad blending issues, and it did not let me play at native 1920x1200 rez (when trying to force it said I didn't have enough video mem lol). Other than that, very fun game, been trying to go through with as few kills as possible (some are actually forced onto you)...

AI is pretty smart, though I managed to bug a couple AI guys and forcing them into an infinite 'jerking' loop. That was amusing, though I had to kill them /cry.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-06, 12:59 PM   #62
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knot3D
People are reporting that using AMD's dual core optimizer patch makes quite some difference for the better in this game. I'll buy the game tomorrow myself. *anxious to play *
I've it installed, but still the performance is worse than in TRL or COD2
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-06, 02:03 PM   #63
Knot3D
Registered User
 
Knot3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ShadowMosesIsland
Posts: 734
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

A SC DA 1.01 PATCH can already be downloaded here : http://www.worthplaying.com/article.php?sid=38474
__________________
AMD X2 4800, Asus A8N32sli-D, Corsair Twinx 2Gb PC3500LLpro, Asus X1900XTX & 2 WD Raptors
Knot3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-06, 03:43 PM   #64
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

For those of you who have the game already, how do you think it will run on my system?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 12:02 AM   #65
FCGD
Gamer/Programmer/Skeptic
 
FCGD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Ouch! I installed it and it also ran pretty slow on my machine (like ~20 fps).. shocking because chaos theory ran at essentially locked 60 fps everything max. I tried enabling SLI with AFR and SFR and i do in fact see SOME load balancing on-screen, but its very minimal, as if SLI isnt really being used at all
__________________
Nvidia Rig: 2x7900GT in SLI, AMD X2 4600+, 2 gig ram
Ati Rig: x800xt, AMD64 3500+, 1 gig ram
FCGD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 03:39 AM   #66
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

I wish they released a demo to try the performance ive also read some reports people reporting insane low fps on highend cards.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 03:50 AM   #67
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

And of course gamestop never ceases to amaze me with their crappiness... shipping day has been pushed back a day (11/8) now... this is getting retarded and I am so close to just downloading it until my copy comes in.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 04:27 AM   #68
Knot3D
Registered User
 
Knot3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ShadowMosesIsland
Posts: 734
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Just got the game ; gonna install it now.
__________________
AMD X2 4800, Asus A8N32sli-D, Corsair Twinx 2Gb PC3500LLpro, Asus X1900XTX & 2 WD Raptors
Knot3D is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-08-06, 08:20 AM   #69
AirtelGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Why do my shadows look like crap? they are square like.. im running on max on 1680X1050.. anyway to fix this?
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
Specs: AMD Opteron 148 (2.2@2.9) | DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D | G. Skill 2x1024mb DDR400 2-3-2-5 | Leadtek Geforce 7900gt 256mb | WD 200GB 7200RPM SATAII | Antec TX1050B 500W
Cooling: Thermaltke Big Typhoon, Zalman VF900
Monitor: LG L204WT
AirtelGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 09:13 AM   #70
Marvel_us
FOOL!
 
Marvel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,754
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Omg, I really don't want to have to play at around 20fps.

Sigh, gonna pick it up in about half an hour.

EDIT: Picked it up, however haven't had time to install it......Just came down with the flu and my net is acting up. /sigh
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Q6600 QUAD|| Gigabyte P35-DS3L ||XFX 7900GTX|| G.Skill 6GB PC2-6400 || OCZ Agility 60GB SSD || WD 320GB + WD Green 1TB HDD || Samsung 20" LCD || CoolMax 650W PSU ||

60gb PS3 Owner
PSNid: Marvel_us

Last edited by Marvel_us; 11-08-06 at 11:20 AM.
Marvel_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 01:53 PM   #71
Knot3D
Registered User
 
Knot3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ShadowMosesIsland
Posts: 734
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Well, I started playing despite the fact i didn't get my Logitech gamepad to work in this game yet.

I'm playing 1280 x 1024 all "next gen" settings enabled. Somehow i can have HDR + AA enabled simultaniously on my X1900XTX. I have AA @ 2X now. The game can be a hog at certain spots where much volumetric lighting is being used. Also, in some areas the game uses extremely slick shaders ; which explains the just OK-ish performance. The polygon count on characters seems a tiny bit downgraded from the XB360 version and also some downgrading of textures, but i think most people wouldn't notice it that quickly. The detail in the environments is about twice as much as Chaos Theory. Imho, ppl who say this is just CT graphics +0.1 ; they need to have their eyes checked.

I do suggest people with LCD monitors to play this game with adjusting the brightness down to about 40 instead of the default 50.

Here's some screens with fraps :

http://members.home.nl/hkonings/Knot3D_SCDA_03.jpg
http://members.home.nl/hkonings/Knot3D_SCDA_02.jpg
http://members.home.nl/hkonings/Knot3D_SCDA_01.jpg

__________________
AMD X2 4800, Asus A8N32sli-D, Corsair Twinx 2Gb PC3500LLpro, Asus X1900XTX & 2 WD Raptors
Knot3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-06, 01:59 PM   #72
SJA06
Higher Than A Kite
 
SJA06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hmm
Posts: 511
Default Re: Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)

Some great screens there Knot3D...without doubt, some of the best graphics yet seen on PC....I assume SC5 will use UE3 and will blow all away.
SJA06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supernatural Splinter Cell: DARK Is A Vampire Stealth RPG News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
Thief: Deadly Shadows, Splinter Cell, Anomaly: Warzone Earth and Legacy of Kain: Soul News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 11:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.