Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 02-24-03, 01:54 PM   #1
freelsjd

Default GeForce4 MX440 PCI card failure with linux nvidia drivers

I am having problems with a new Nvidia GeForce4-MX440 PCI video card. The brand is "Jaton Video-158PCI-64TV", but I am sure it is not due to the brand. I have lots of experience with GeForce2-MX and Linux without any problems. This is the first problam I have had with any Nvidia cards and Linux. I haved a current Debian/Sid distribution
installed with many packages including 3D packages.

My machine is a dual-processor Xeon 2.4Ghz on an Intel SE7500CW2 motherboard. This MB does not have an AGP slot, hence, I am using a PCI Nvida card.

I started with a XFConfig-4 configuration that works with this same machine setup and the GeForce2 (I just transifered hard drives to this new machine). Using the 4191 drivers, X spins up all the cpu cycles
"shortly" after using X. It did not happen imediately, but did happen after a few minutes. I could login to the machine remotely and stop X, but it was necessary to do a reboot to get the system back
stably.

After reviewing this forum, I tried downgrading to the older version of the Nvidia drivers, version 3123. This version was much more stable and allowed X to run for about 5-10 minutes before it did the same thing. It did not lock the machine, just spun up the cpu to 100% load. I had to reboot to get it back, issuing a "shutdown -r now" from a remote login (su to root).

Then I applied a few options that I could see from this forum that people have tried to get this card to work. These are all now enabled. I do not know which is the one or more needed to gain stability:

1) added this to the NV driver section of XFConfig-4:

Option "RenderAccel" "0"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"

2) changed the VertRefresh from 55-90 to 60 in the
monitor section of XFConfig-4

3) verified that DRI was removed from the module list along with GLcore, pex5, and xie.