Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-06, 08:30 PM   #1
publicmsu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Xine and 8776 X86_64

I'm attempting to run xine -V xvmc on a 1080i stream, however the console spits out BAD FRAME and xine will eventually crash. The video is not very smooth when I start xine with xvmc, and works a lot better with xv. Is there a way to determine if the driver is causing problems with playback on xvmc?

thanks
publicmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 08:37 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xine and 8776 X86_64

Does this reproduce with mplayer and/or the 1.0-9626 driver? Additionally, please generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-06, 01:12 PM   #3
publicmsu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Xine and 8776 X86_64

Tested in mplayer and the HD playback is perfect. I'll look into xine in this case.

Thanks
publicmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-06, 12:09 AM   #4
Rick Bilonick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Xine and 8776 X86_64

I installed 8776 on an Athlon 64-bit system running FC6. I had a difficult time installing nvidia's proprietary drivers (never had a problem with FC3, FC4, or FC5). I finally got it installed - I'm not sure whether adding a symlink from autoconf.h to config.h was the solution (I also tried installing the kmod-nvidia & related modules and then removed them due to repeadted nasty freezes of X11). I used to be able to play HDTV .ts streams perfectly. Now if I use xine, mplayer, or kaffeine, I get very nasty freezes - so bad that I can't ctrl alt F1 to a consol - my only option is to reboot.

Has anyone else run into this problem? How can I test the accelerated graphics? When I start xine, mplayer, or kaffeine, the high def vidio starts nicely but eventually (and quickly) freezes the X11 display. This worked perfectly under FC5. My FC6 is completely updated.

Rick B.
Rick Bilonick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.