Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-06, 11:18 PM   #1
bgerst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Freezes with new dual core cpu

I recently upgraded my CPU from an Athlon64 3000+ to an Athlon64 x2 4600+. Now, when running World of Warcraft, the X server will freeze with the exception that the mouse pointer still moves. This appears to be an SMP problem, because a) the problem didn't exist with the single core cpu, and b) the problem doesn't happen when booting with maxcpus=1. I flashed the latest BIOS (F11) a week ago. The new BIOS/old cpu worked fine.

When the bug hits, I can ssh into the box and see this message in dmesg:

NVRM: Xid (0005:00): 6, PE0000 0448 00e6e6e6 00000fec 00000000 00e6e6e6
NVRM: Xid (0005:00): 28, L1 -> L0

System specs:
Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 (nForce 4 chipset)
AMD Athlon64 x2 4600+
2GB Ram
Gigabyte GV-NX66T128D (GeForce 6600GT)
Fedora Core 5 x86_64

Driver packages:
kmod-nvidia-1.0.8762-2.2.6.17_1.2157_FC5
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-1.0.8762-3.lvn5
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs-32bit-1.0.8762-3.lvn5
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (18.9 KB, 92 views)
bgerst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-06, 11:32 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

Does booting with the acpi=off and/or noapic kernel parameters have any impact?

Also, your bug report shows that you're still using the F2 BIOS, not F11.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 12:13 AM   #3
bgerst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Does booting with the acpi=off and/or noapic kernel parameters have any impact?

Also, your bug report shows that you're still using the F2 BIOS, not F11.
acpi=off failed to boot. It could not find the SATA root disk.

noapic caused a hard lock after ~5 minutes of running Warcraft.

The BIOS boot screen shows that it is running version F11. The DMI info must not have been updated.
bgerst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 03:35 PM   #4
vietofmars
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

edited

Last edited by vietofmars; 08-03-06 at 03:48 PM.
vietofmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 05:06 PM   #5
thedopefishlivs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

I have the same problem, I registered specifically to follow this thread, offer help, and ask for advice. acpi=off turns off two of my four SATA hard drives, including the drive with my 32-bit chroot system which contains Quake4. noapic does not help at all. System specs:

AMD Athlon64 X2 4200
1 GB PC6400
MSI K9N Neo-F motherboard with NForce 550 chipset
NVidia 7900GT PCI-e x16 256MB
Gentoo 2006.0 x86_64, kernel 2.6.17, NVidia drivers 1.0.8762
X.Org 7.0
thedopefishlivs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 05:11 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

thedopefishlivs, I don't see anything to suggest that you're experiencing the same issue as the originator of this thread (you're using different hardware for starters). Please test with pci=noacpi and if that fails to help, generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log. You should also verify that you're using the latest BIOS.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 05:14 PM   #7
thedopefishlivs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

Sorry, guess I shoulda posted some log information - it's been a while since I've done debugging via a forum. Sorry. Here's what I've got:
Aug 3 05:45:08 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0006:00): 6, PE0003 1d64 01d300d4 003fbb5c ffffffff ffffffff
Aug 3 05:45:08 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0006:00): 28, L1 -> L0
Aug 3 05:45:12 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0006:00): 6, PE001e 1f14 3f0d2169 002f7e7c ffffffff 015a015d
Aug 3 05:45:12 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0006:00): 28, L0 -> L0
Aug 3 05:45:19 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0006:00): 8, Channel 00000003
Aug 3 05:45:20 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0006:00): 6, PE001e 1f14 bf376199 00000000 ffffffff 00000000

If this is a different issue altogether, I'll eat my hat and go on my merry way. Sorry.

EDIT: Oh, and, MSI hasn't released any BIOS updates for my board yet.
Second EDIT: I just crashed it again and attached the resulting log.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (59.1 KB, 114 views)

Last edited by thedopefishlivs; 08-03-06 at 05:35 PM.
thedopefishlivs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 06:29 PM   #8
thedopefishlivs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

It seems to have been fixed by disabling NVAGP in my xorg.conf.... *feels ultimately embarrassed* Sorry to have bothered all y'all.
thedopefishlivs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-06, 08:59 PM   #9
bgerst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

If your card is PCI Express, why would the AGP setting make any difference?
bgerst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 09:16 PM   #10
thedopefishlivs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

Survey says: It didn't. At least, not entirely. I still get some XID messages in my kernel logs, but it didn't appear to actually break anything. *shrugs* No idea what happened, but I'm not complaining yet.
thedopefishlivs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 08:55 PM   #11
bgerst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

I just retested with the 8776 driver and got the same error when both cpu cores are enabled:

NVRM: Xid (0005:00): 6, PE0000 1840 00100000 00009ea0 00000000 00b200b0
NVRM: Xid (0005:00): 28, L1 -> L0
bgerst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-06, 02:31 PM   #12
Azurief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Freezes with new dual core cpu

I am also experiencing the same problem with an Athlon 64 X2 4200+ and GA-K8N Pro-SLI (nforce 4) and GeForce 7800GT.

X freezes and I can't go back to the console but I am able to logging in ssh. I will post a bug report next time I encounter this problem.

I am using nvidia-drivers 8776 with xorg 7.1.
Azurief is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting The 'Ultra' Into New Dual Core Ivy Bridge Ultrabooks News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-05-12 03:41 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.