Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-06, 03:51 PM   #1
Nias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default 9629 driver and modelines

hello,

i have a dual desktop config.
1. CRT with custom modeline
2. DFP (beamer) with custom modeline.

After starting xorg i found in my log the following:
[...]
(**) NVIDIA(1): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(1): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(1): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(1): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "NoLogo" "True"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "RenderAccel" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "CursorShadow" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "Coolbits" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "DPI" "75 x 75"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "ModeValidation" "DFP-0: AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "DisableGLXRootClipping" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(**) NVIDIA(1): Enabling cursor shadow
(II) NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6600 GT at PCI:5:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(1): Memory: 131072 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(1): VideoBIOS: 05.43.02.27.00
(II) NVIDIA(1): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X
(--) NVIDIA(1): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(1): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6600 GT at PCI:5:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(1): CRT-0
(--) NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0)
(--) NVIDIA(1): DFP-0
(--) NVIDIA(1): CRT-0: 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(1): TV encoder: NVIDIA
(II) NVIDIA(1): Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP" converted to "DFP-0".
(II) NVIDIA(1): Mode Validation Overrides for DFP-0:
(II) NVIDIA(1): AllowNon60HzDFPModes
(II) NVIDIA(1): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(1): No valid modes for "1280x720@50"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(1):
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(1): "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(1):
(II) NVIDIA(1): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(1): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(1): Virtual screen size determined to be 640 x 480

Why the driver ignores this mode?
(WW) NVIDIA(1): No valid modes for "1280x720@50"; removing.

This has worked for all previous driver releases and nothing was changed to DFP Monitor Section.
The beamer is off during powering up x11. Currently i don't have tried a start with beamer powered on.

any hints?
Nias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 05:38 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 01:36 PM   #3
Nias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
done.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (39.3 KB, 98 views)
Nias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 01:43 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

You've disabled use of the EDID:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"

As a result, no modes can be validated against the EDID.

However, here's why your custom mode is failing to work:
(II) NVIDIA(1): Validating Mode "1280x720@50":
(II) NVIDIA(1): 1280 x 720 @ 50 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(1): Mode Source: X Configuration file ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(1): Pixel Clock : 62.16 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(1): HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1320
(II) NVIDIA(1): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1488, 1640
(II) NVIDIA(1): VRes, VSyncStart : 720, 722
(II) NVIDIA(1): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 723, 758
(II) NVIDIA(1): H/V Polarity : +/+
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Mode is rejected: Mode (1280 x 720) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Native Resolution (Max: 640 x 480).
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 02:06 PM   #5
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

When the EDID is turned off, why does the driver assume the max resolution is 640x480, and not 4096x2048 or some other high value?
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 02:11 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

To avoid damaging hardware by forcing a mode which is greater than what (primarily old) displays can handle.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 02:13 PM   #7
Nias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
You've disabled use of the EDID:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
yes i did this with intention.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
As a result, no modes can be validated against the EDID.

However, here's why your custom mode is failing to work:
(II) NVIDIA(1): Validating Mode "1280x720@50":
(II) NVIDIA(1): 1280 x 720 @ 50 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(1): Mode Source: X Configuration file ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(1): Pixel Clock : 62.16 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(1): HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1320
(II) NVIDIA(1): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1488, 1640
(II) NVIDIA(1): VRes, VSyncStart : 720, 722
(II) NVIDIA(1): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 723, 758
(II) NVIDIA(1): H/V Polarity : +/+
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Mode is rejected: Mode (1280 x 720) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Native Resolution (Max: 640 x 480).
yes, i also have found this.
But why the mode has worked with all previous driver versions?

And why the mode was rejected, "too large" is not a reason without telling which setting is to low for this mode?

Furthermore seems UseEdid not a device dependent setting. Because i must uncomment it in booth sections (CRT and DFP) to get the modes working. Is it generally not possible to enable Edid for one Output device and disable it for another?

Next problem, if the beamer is off, there is no edid possible. How can i start X anyway with DFP at 1280x720@50 resolution? I don't want to restart X everytime i'm powering on my beamer.
Nias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-06, 07:38 AM   #8
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
To avoid damaging hardware by forcing a mode which is greater than what (primarily old) displays can handle.
I am curious, has there ever been a case of a device old enough to be damaged by sending it a too high resolution, yet new enough to have a DVI interface??

I know that old CRT monitors could be damaged by a too high horizontal frequency. But those were VGA devices. And this problem was solved in later monitors, first by having an "invalid mode" check (and usually on-screen display) and later by having the monitor ID readable by the system. Looking at the quick obsolescense of computing hardware in general, I wonder how many monitors are still around that are susceptible to this problem.

Even later DVI was introduced, on digital flatpanels. I wonder if there are any flatpanels around that could be damaged by sending invalid data over the DVI.

All in all it could well be that there are far more users affected by all that extra checking than by the occasional mishap because of setting a 1992 VGA monitor to 1280x1024.
Especially because there apparently are quite a few DFP monitors that happily provide 1920x1080 or 1600x1200 modelines but have a bad "native resolution" value that is smaller (e.g. 1280x1024). Or that return zero values in some fields.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-11-06, 08:13 AM   #9
synixus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

Hi Lonni,

I think both Nias & pe1chl got their point. Currently disable EDID don't work well on driver after 9625 beta, includ' official released 9629. Is that any plan to revert back the change for the next release? I feel that, this BUGs consider quite serious. Most of the people using native resolution or customize resolution can't even get their display work, how are they gonna get their daily OS running and etc...
Nevertheless, 9xxx series driver even detected an CRT while it is a laptop that came with DFP.

Thanks.
synixus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-06, 12:01 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

synixus,
I'm afraid that I don't understand what you're requesting. If you're experiencing what you believe to be a bug, please describe how it can be reproduced along with an nvidia-bug-report.log which captures the problem.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-06, 05:28 PM   #11
hawk684
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

I'm pretty sure I'm having the same issue.

I've got a Sony XBR1 TV hooked via DVI->HDMI from a GeForce 6800 on the 9620 driver and Ubuntu Edgy. I've got a custom modeline that underscan's just right and worked fine on the previous driver (8776).

Xorg.log.0
Code:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6800 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     DFP-0
(--) NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: 155.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: Internal Single Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "ATSC720"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 640 x 480
Xorg.conf
Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "NVIDIA Corporation NV41.1 [GeForce 6800]"
        Driver          "nvidia"
        BusID           "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option          "RandRRotation" "on"
#       Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
#       Option          "IgnoreEDID" "True"
        Option          "UseEDID" "False"
        Option          "ModeValidation" "NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "SONY TV"
        #Option         "DPMS"
        ModeLine "ATSC720" 74.25 1218 1358 1376 1650 676 710 750 752 +hsync
        ModeLine "ATSC-720-59.94p" 74.176 1280 1320 1376 1650 720 722 728 750
        DisplaySize             320 180
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Device          "NVIDIA Corporation NV41.1 [GeForce 6800]"
        Monitor         "SONY TV"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NvAGP" "0"
        Option         "NoLogo" "False"
        Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
        Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
        Option          "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        SubSection     "Display"
                Depth       24
                Modes      "ATSC720"
        EndSubSection
EndSection
What it looks like is for some reason the driver is no longer seeing custom modelines, as if Option "ModeValidation" "NoXServerModes" was persistently turned on or something like that. Unfortunately because HDTV's are flaky I need that bizarre ATSC720 custom modeline if I want to not have any overscan. I'd use the older drivers but I had trouble with them and Beryl working correctly
hawk684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-06, 06:23 PM   #12
hawk684
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: 9629 driver and modelines

Uh...This seems to have fixed it, but I'll be if I've got any idea why...

Code:
        Option          "UseEDID" "False"
        Option          "UseEDIDDpi" "False"
        Option          "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
        Option          "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxSizeCheck, NoHorizSyncCheck, NoVertRefreshCheck, NoWidthAlignmentCheck, NoDFPNativeResolution, NoVirtualSizeCheck, NoEdidModes"
I added that to the Device, Monitor, and Screen sections, which is probably overkill, but hey, it works again.
hawk684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual modelines with current drivers mxxmmxxm NVIDIA Linux 0 06-20-12 05:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.