Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-06, 05:49 PM   #1
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default How to make your overclock stick with nTune

I’ve figured out how to get the new control panel to keep our overclock settings after a reboot.
  • 1st: Go into the Adjust GPU Settings screen. Select your GPU overclock and test it. NOTE: If you use “find optimal” it will probably lock up or crash. Once you have tested your overclock, click apply. Ok, most of you know that.
  • 2nd: Click the top of the control panel menu where it says “Profile” just above the toolbar. Create your profile. Title it 600-950 or something like that so you know what clock speed you used. Now save the profile.
  • 3rd: Go into Adjust Custom Rules and click “Load this profile” under the “Take this action” section. When you click “load this profile” you will see it added below. Now click the blue “Profile” word and you will get a popup to pick your profile. Pick the 600-950 for example then click Open. Now, look in the section titled “When the following condition(s) is/are met” and click on “The system first starts Windows”. Click the arrow button in the middle. Now click Accept to the right.
This will load the 600-950 profile on every reboot. That’s how we get the overclock to stay!
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 12:38 AM   #2
Brahmzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

That's great, but I always get an error saying "Problem loading xxxxx.nsu" (xxxxx being whatever I named it.)

I have tried it about 300 times I think now, I have uninstalled nTune 3 seperate times now. I'm friggin' hosed. It always comes up with that error as soon as the desktop appears on every Windows reboot.

This sucks.
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 08:31 AM   #3
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Interesting. I'm using the 96.89 drivers, so maybe thats the reason I'm getting this to work. On mine it works as advertised and the profiles are pretty neat. You can even underclock the card for 2D applications with it. Lots of possibilities.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 09:18 AM   #4
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Thanks for the info.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 09:42 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

i knew that for long long time ago, last time it worked in 91 series, has not work in 93, 96 or 97
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 10:40 AM   #6
Jimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 196
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy
That's great, but I always get an error saying "Problem loading xxxxx.nsu" (xxxxx being whatever I named it.)

I have tried it about 300 times I think now, I have uninstalled nTune 3 seperate times now. I'm friggin' hosed. It always comes up with that error as soon as the desktop appears on every Windows reboot.

This sucks.
What version of Ntune and Nvidia drivers are you using?
Jimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 11:24 AM   #7
Brahmzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Both the latest. 97.0x driver and 5.05xx nTune.

Thanks.
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 12:30 PM   #8
Jimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 196
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy
Both the latest. 97.0x driver and 5.05xx nTune.

Thanks.
1. I would assume you have a bad profile.
2. You may have a rule set to load that profile with Windows boot.

Try removing the rule, and try to create a new profile.
Jimi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-14-06, 01:19 PM   #9
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Damn, that's a lot of work to get overclocks to stick. Ugh! I hate 97.02 set anyways. Thanks for info nonetheless.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 01:58 PM   #10
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

I think they're using the profiles b/c you can set a lot more than just the gpu overclock.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-06, 09:02 PM   #11
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLippe
Damn, that's a lot of work to get overclocks to stick. Ugh! I hate 97.02 set anyways. Thanks for info nonetheless.
True, but do it a few times and it becomes really fast. It's not so bad considering what all it can save for you.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-06, 01:46 PM   #12
Brahmzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: How to make your overclock stick with nTune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimi
1. I would assume you have a bad profile.
2. You may have a rule set to load that profile with Windows boot.

Try removing the rule, and try to create a new profile.
Thanks, but I've tried to create multiple new profiles, and I've reinstalled nTune like 3 or 4 times. I always get this "problem loading profile xxxx.nsu" error no matter what I do.

Don't know what to do.
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.