Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-06, 11:39 PM   #13
bradfordrb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

I'm having a similar issue with my setup as well. I am using DVI to connect from my fx5200 to a Sharp AQUOS LC32D41U television as the only monitor. I did get the screen into 1360x768... once.. before I upgraded to FC6 and new drivers.

I'm not having any issues with bootup or general operation as long as I stay in 1024x768 mode. The monitor manual lists the panel as being 1360x768 native with a 47.7 kHz horizontal refresh and a 60 Hz vertical freq.
I can't seem to find the issue now and I didn't save the modeline statement.

Here's the bug report file. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (105.6 KB, 128 views)
bradfordrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 03:51 AM   #14
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

The screen neatly returns a usable mode:

(--) NVIDIA(0): 1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 85.50 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1360, 1424
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1536, 1792
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 777, 795
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+

But the NVIDIA driver says:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Requested modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1360x768"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1920x1080"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1024x768"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "800x600"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "640x480"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1360x768"; removing.


Somehow, in the latest releases, NVIDIA has built in some checks that make it reject the modes that the panel itself has provided and/or that the user has provided via Modelines.
I think it is ridiculous. But it does not seem to be going away.
So, you will have to put the Option commands in your config to disable those checks.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 11:50 AM   #15
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

Actually, its not clear from the bug report why 1360x768 was rejected. To figure that out, you need to start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 06:37 PM   #16
bradfordrb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

Thanks for the help so far. I ran the logverbose -6 option and found that
1) 1360x768 was determined to be valid, and then that
2) 1360x768 was rejected as being too large for the DFP native resolution (seems to be locked at 1024x768)

Here's the file. What option might I include to bypass this check?

file output to save time:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1360x768":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 85.50 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1360, 1424
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1536, 1792
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 777, 795
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.


(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1360x768":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 85.50 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1360, 1424
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1536, 1792
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 771
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 777, 795
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (1360 x 768) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Native Resolution (Max: 1024 x 768).
(II) NVIDIA(0):
bradfordrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 06:48 PM   #17
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

Try adding the following option to xorg.conf:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 07:21 PM   #18
bradfordrb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

That does it, came right up. I had tried to disable EDID and other switches after noticing the report but hadn't gotten it right.

Thanks for your help!
bradfordrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-06, 11:15 AM   #19
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Nvidia 5200 and wide screen

Thanks. This looks like a bug in how the driver performs its mode validation. We'll investigate further so that you won't need this option in the future.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.