Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-06, 01:42 PM   #1
zimiq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default cannot compute backend DFP timings

I try to use my ViewSonic VP201b in 1600x1200 resolution.
First I get only 1280x1024 resolution, then I found this forum and try to add modeline option to monitor section.
Now I have only 800x600 resolution and when I read Xorg.log and I found error message like title, it seems to come to when validating modeline, nvidia-bug-report-06111900-01.log line 2056.

Is there any way to get this working.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report-06111900-01.log (140.0 KB, 114 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report-06111900-02.log (123.7 KB, 98 views)
zimiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 01:47 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

You've set the ModeValidation option to reject every type of mode. I'm not sure why you're doing that, but its not a good way to debug the original problem.

However, according to the EDID in your display, you need a 162Mhz pixelclock to run with the native 1600x1200 mode. Your hardware isn't capable of that pixelclock:
(--) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic VP201b (DFP-0): 112.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 02:13 PM   #3
zimiq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Monitor edid data contains:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1600 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 162.00 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1600, 1664
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1856, 2160
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1200, 1201
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1204, 1250
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
This data shows when edid enabled.

I make modeline with that data, but it does not work.
Monitor works 1600 x1200 resolution with Ati card.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report-1.log (140.0 KB, 95 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report-2.log (135.0 KB, 83 views)

Last edited by zimiq; 11-16-06 at 02:58 PM.
zimiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 02:18 PM   #4
Cambo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 128
Send a message via Yahoo to Cambo
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Possibly, the line below the one quoted by netllama is more telling;

Quote:
(--) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic VP201b (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
Having not had any exposure to DVI stuff, I cannot really help you any more than just highlighting that line.



Cambo
Cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 02:24 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

zimiq,
Right, the pixelclock that the 1600x1200 mode requires is 162Mhz:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 162.00 MHz

Your hardware is only capable of 112.0MHz. That is further underscored by the fact that your hardware is only Internal Single Link TMDS capable (as Cambo noted).

This isn't a driver bug, its a hardware limitation.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 02:38 PM   #6
zimiq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

How can 1600x1200 resolution work with Ati card and windows, if this is hardware fault.
zimiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 03:10 PM   #7
Cambo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 128
Send a message via Yahoo to Cambo
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

The ATI card quite possibly has a Dual Link TMDS output, giving approximately double the Pixel Clock frequency.



Cambo
Cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 03:25 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Because the problem is the videocard.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-06, 03:37 PM   #9
Cambo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 128
Send a message via Yahoo to Cambo
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Quite possibly, your card was designed to only have Single Link TMDS - that is a decision made by the manufacturer, not Nvidia.

I have a Geforce FX 5700LE from XFX, and from the look of the output in my nvidia-bug-report.log, it would seem to support much higher Pixel Clock frequencies;

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce FX 5700LE at PCI:2:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 131072 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.36.20.33.0e
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce FX 5700LE at
(--) NVIDIA(0):     PCI:2:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     EIZO FlexScan F67 (CRT-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0):     OEC (CRT-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): EIZO FlexScan F67 (CRT-0): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): OEC (CRT-1): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
You may well need to buy a more capable video card to get the higher resolutions that your monitor is capable of.



Cambo
Cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 03:48 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Cambo,
Actually, you're using CRTs which are almost always 400Mhz. Only DFPs have lower pixelclocks.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 03:59 PM   #11
Cambo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 128
Send a message via Yahoo to Cambo
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Heehee. I suspected something like that. I gather the difference is due to the fact that CRTs use an analog signal, as opposed to the digital signal for DFPs.

Actually, that may be worth looking into, zimiq. You may be able to use a DVI-VGA converter with your card/monitor. You will lose a little image quality, due to the digital->analog and analog->digital conversions, but you should be able to run your monitor at it's highest resolution.

I'm sure Lonni will correct me if I'm wrong there ;-)



Cambo
Cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-06, 06:51 PM   #12
longshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: cannot compute backend DFP timings

Single link DVI is supposed to be able to do 1600x1200@60Hz with GTF blanking. Ref http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dvi wikipedia The graphics card otoh ...
longshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Compute Engine Launches to Run Your Large-Scale Workloads News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 06:40 PM
New Whitepaper: NVIDIA's Next-Gen CUDA Compute Architecture ' Kepler GK110 News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 10:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.