Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-07, 03:11 AM   #109
huiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

yeah, there is a bug though.
i posted this cause since gutsy,tons of non-nvidia-ubuntu-people are having similar trouble, which was also my problem and could be solved like this.
but i know, there is a bug since years, and i think that it is quite a coincidence that with the drivers 9639 this bug does not show up on my system.
but all driver-versions above and bellow do:
when i switch to console VT i get all this trippi funny colors, my screen looks like a lava-lamp touched by an angel or so, anyway, nobody really cared about that and i really tried to work arround this...
huiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-07, 04:03 AM   #110
moment
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

for me it only occurs with the 100 series drivers.
moment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 03:18 PM   #111
Erwan Le Pennec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Dear all,

I've discovered this beautiful bug since I've upgraded from a Fedora Core 6 to a Fedora 8. It did not occurs before... nor did it occurs everytime now. With my Fedora Core 8, I can happily switch from X to vt as long as no application has been launched in a fullscreen mode (My latest bad experience was with xmoto...). Once one has been launched, I'm stuck! If i switch to a vt or if I kill X, I've can see the nvidia lava lamp...

I hope this scenario can give an hint to the nvidia team... Being a part-time programmer, I know how hard it is to chase a bug like this until it can be reproduced by the developpement team!

Yours,

Erwan
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (97.1 KB, 177 views)
Erwan Le Pennec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 03:21 PM   #112
Erwan Le Pennec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Dear all,

I've discovered this beautiful bug since I've upgraded from a Fedora Core 6 to a Fedora 8. It did not occurs before... nor did it occurs everytime now. With my Fedora Core 8, I can happily switch from X to vt as long as no application has been launched in a fullscreen mode (My latest bad experience was with xmoto...). Once one has been launched, I'm stuck! If i switch to a vt or if I kill X, I've can see the nvidia lava lamp...

I hope this scenario can give an hint to the nvidia team... Being a part-time programmer, I know how hard it is to chase a bug like this until it can be reproduced by the developpement team!

Yours,

Erwan

[Edit] Oops, I've talked to fast. This is not yet a reproducible way to see the bug, as my last attempt to lauch xmoto was successful. Nevertheless all my crash occurs after an application has been launched fullscreen...
Erwan Le Pennec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-07, 03:54 AM   #113
gabriele75
Registered User
 
gabriele75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

[169.04 beta] bug still there
__________________
Gabriele Pigozzo

http://www.gabrielepigozzo.net
gabriele75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-07, 09:43 AM   #114
oakld
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Exclamation Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

In /etc/sysconfig/console I see this comment at the FB_MODULES option:

Code:
 You may want to load a framebuffer display driver into your kernel
 in order to be able to change graphics modes etc. with fbset in
 console mode.

 Notes: Most people won't enter anything here, as:
   * it won't work if you have vesafb already active
   * its advantageous to have fb support compiled into your kernel
   * Some XFree86 drivers (especially in XFree86-4.x) don't work
     too well, if you enable framebuffer text mode.

 Example:
  FB_MODULES="matroxfb_base vesa=0x182 fv=85 matroxfb_maven matroxfb_crtc2"
Can I set a framebuffer display driver with this option? How would you find out what to enter i.e. for my GeForce 6800 Go?

Regards
oakld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-07, 10:02 AM   #115
martini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 31
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

i have the same problem.
(previous described in this thread http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88455 ).

here you'll find my pictures:
http://www.fs.tum.de/~schreibm/private/nvidia/

of course, vga=normal and no splash
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-07, 01:31 PM   #116
oakld
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I recently found out, that when I plug in a second card, I am able to see SuSE splash screen on the 2nd LCD, while the main LCD is full of mess! I.e. when turning off the computer.
Regards, Oak
oakld is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-07, 08:46 PM   #117
GaryParr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I feel like I'm joining a 12-step program...

"Hello, my name is Gary and I have a laptop with an GeForce Go 6200"

I'm tempted to ship my laptop to nvidia with a big post-it that says FIX ME. One tidbit of information I can add though is that when my laptop is in the docking station the attached (external) flat panel is fine. When I shutdown, logout or switch to a terminal the external shows what it is supposed to while the attached LCD does the pin-stripe fade thing.
GaryParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-07, 04:01 AM   #118
ctheo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryParr
...
I'm tempted to ship my laptop to nvidia with a big post-it that says FIX ME.
...
that would be really great ...
ctheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-07, 09:27 AM   #119
GaryParr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Before I bought the FedEx labels I decided to revert to an older driver as others have done. I'm on Ubuntu 7.10 and used Envy to revert to 96.43.01 and everything works fine. No more funky 70's pin-stripe monitor. I'm not seeing any noticeable degradation in graphics or performance so I'll stick with this older driver. Good luck everyone.
GaryParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-07, 02:53 PM   #120
GaryParr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryParr
I'm not seeing any noticeable degradation in graphics or performance so I'll stick with this older driver.
Nevermind... brings back the black-window bug. Talk about a rock and a hard place. I think I'll opt for the pin-stripe screen so I can have more than 2 or 3 windows open at the same time. What fun.
GaryParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crashes and freezes Lethal Weapon NVIDIA Linux 9 09-27-02 08:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.