Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-07, 05:38 PM   #13
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I have a few questions:
0) Does this problem persist if you're not using a kernel with vesafb (or any other console framebuffer graphics) support?
1) Have you verified that you're using the latest motherboard BIOS?
2) Does this problem persist with a more recent kernel?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 05:48 PM   #14
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I was only able to fix this (on my 8800 GTX) by disabling framebuffer console (rmoveing the vga=xxx line from my grub.conf) since then it has been smooth sailing. I must say that when X crashed and took my whole system with it, it was very annoying!
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 02:41 AM   #15
akuaku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

thanks a lot
I compiled a Kernel without vesafb and it worked.
Will add this to the gentoo wiki.
akuaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 04:59 PM   #16
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Question Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hi,

I have the exact same problem:
"when I ctrl+alt+F1-6 to any tty the machine freezes and gives me a very colorfull screen! This also happens when I reboot or shutdown the machine"

I'm running Ubuntu Edgy 6.10
Linux kernel 2.6.17-10-generic #2 SMP
X version 7.1.1
Nvidia GeForce Go 6200 with the latest linux driver 1.0-9746
I have the latest BIOS version R0092V0 for my laptop Sony VAIO S3XP

I have tried without "quiet splash vga=xxx" options in Grub config with no success. I have also tried with option "vga=normal" ... same problem.

This is a very annoying problem!

I hope some one can help...
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (116.3 KB, 259 views)

Last edited by gcostes; 01-30-07 at 07:53 AM.
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-07, 05:20 PM   #17
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I still see splash in your bug report.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 04:41 AM   #18
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Smile Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I still see splash in your bug report.
Yes - when I've seen that it did not solve the problem I've put back the original kernel options "quiet splash"... and without "vga=xxx"

I've rebooted now without the "splash" option then press ctrl-alt-F1 to switch to console -> full colored screen (see image attached) then ctrl-alt-F7 to go back to X then I have produced a new log (see attach).

As I've said before, this happens systematically also when I ctrl+alt+F1-6 to any tty, stop gdm (so X), reboot or shutdown...

In case it is of any help, when this happens, the laptop is not frozen. When I stop gdm so X windows and I have this colorful screen, I can blindly type the root login and password then type reboot, it will work and and laptop reboots...

Hope this will help...

Thx!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1693.jpg
Views:	527
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	23795  
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (117.1 KB, 223 views)

Last edited by gcostes; 01-30-07 at 10:23 AM.
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 10:29 AM   #19
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Please remove both splash & quiet, and add vga=normal (and reboot).
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 11:01 AM   #20
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please remove both splash & quiet, and add vga=normal (and reboot).

Unfortunately same problem...
See new bug report log attached.

Thx!
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (119.2 KB, 244 views)
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-30-07, 11:18 AM   #21
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Does this problem persist with a kernel.org 2.6.19.x kernel?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-07, 09:30 PM   #22
Fuzzy Eric
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Question Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

gcostes,
If you have the "NVIDIA X Server Settings" application, usually included in the System group, does it show the correct amount of video RAM, or not? Mine doesn't (shows 256 MB, has 64 or 128 MB, depending on BIOS setting), I have a similar video corruption problem (hard locking the machine), and I'm still trying to gather enough input to know whether to worry about the mismatch.

So I'm wondering if other people with video corruption problems are also seeing mismatched video RAM reported.
Fuzzy Eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-07, 04:39 AM   #23
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Post Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Fuzzy Eric,
Yes the NVIDIA X Server Settings is showing the correct amount of Video RAM (128MB).

I've not been able to test with the latest kernel 2.6.19.2 from kernel.org nor with the Ubuntu 7.04 (latest beta) cause many devices are not recognized - probably a problem with copying my current kernel .config file in the new kernel config - and, unfortunately, I'm not good enough in kernel tuning to configure it manually.
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-07, 08:47 AM   #24
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Post Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

FYI

I've now been able to install the linux kernel 2.6.20-6 with the latest nvidia driver 1.0-9746 and without the "quiet splash" options and with "vga=normal" at boot.

I still have the exact same problem.

I have attached a new nvidia report...

Any help welcome obviously ;-)
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (115.4 KB, 248 views)
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crashes and freezes Lethal Weapon NVIDIA Linux 9 09-27-02 08:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.