Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-07, 08:40 PM   #25
chubuntu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hi, gcostes, you are not alone. I have a machine very much like yours, a vaio VGN-S380P with GeForce Go 6200 TurboCache. Just upgraded to edgy, running 2.6.17-10-386 and attempting to run nvidia 1.0-9746. Your thumbnail screenie looks exactly as mine... like a super-bright pair of 70's golf pants.

Same exact symptoms. Everything runs great except when trying to switch to a terminal or shutting down. I've tried everything mentioned in this forum except for changing the kernel. Attached are two bug-report logs... one from gdm after trying to get a terminal and the other after starting X manually as per the bug report log instructions. Changed everything back to stock prior to running these bug reports. Hope we get this solved.

Alarming how bright the screen gets during this event. I had shutdown problems with breezy, just blank screen and freeze... no super nova. dapper was perfect 1.0-8756
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report-ctrl-alt-f1.log (76.5 KB, 243 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report-startx-logverbose6.log.gz (28.1 KB, 273 views)
chubuntu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 04:15 PM   #26
almatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hello,

I'm joining this thread because my problem seems to be closely related to the previous posters.
When I use framebuffer console (vga=xxx on boot) I have all tty's going black as soon as I switch from X to one of the consoles. When I use normal textmode in console (80x24 or whatever) everything works fine.
My setup is c2d 6600, intel bad axe 2 board, 2gb ram, gf8800 gts (driver 9746), debian etch with standard kernel image 2.6.18-3 (has vesafb support inside).

Is anyone with an 8800 card more successful with framebuffer consoles and has a workaround ? 80x24 really huge letters ...
almatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 02:31 PM   #27
Sephiroth[3DC]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: forum-3dcenter.org
Posts: 11
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by almatic
Hello,

I'm joining this thread because my problem seems to be closely related to the previous posters.
When I use framebuffer console (vga=xxx on boot) I have all tty's going black as soon as I switch from X to one of the consoles. When I use normal textmode in console (80x24 or whatever) everything works fine.
My setup is c2d 6600, intel bad axe 2 board, 2gb ram, gf8800 gts (driver 9746), debian etch with standard kernel image 2.6.18-3 (has vesafb support inside).

Is anyone with an 8800 card more successful with framebuffer consoles and has a workaround ? 80x24 really huge letters ...
No, I had the same problem. You could use a smaller consolefont to compensate the size.
Sephiroth[3DC] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 04:02 PM   #28
almatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth[3DC]
No, I had the same problem. You could use a smaller consolefont to compensate the size.

yes, that's what I did. Another font and then I use svgatextmode to get at least 80x60. That's a workaround. A mediocre one, but 60 lines are better than 24, so I don't have to scroll all the time.
almatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 08:11 PM   #29
gentoo_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: vienna
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hello

I have the same problem, its on
gentoo, kernel-2.6.19-gentoo-r5, SMP, nvidia-drivers-1.0.9746

Board: Intel, D975XBX2KR ,new Bios
CPU: Intel, Core2Duo E6600
Mem: Corsair, TWIN2X2048-6400C4
G-Card: MSI, NX8800GTS-T2D640E-HD

I deactivat the "vga=xxx vesafb:....." stuff in my grub.conf.

any news for this problem?

lg gentoo_user
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (91.7 KB, 233 views)
gentoo_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-07, 06:53 AM   #30
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Unhappy Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Some updates:

I'm now on kernel 2.6.20-8 with X 7.2 and Nvidia driver 1.0-9746.

And I still have the same *annoying* problem

I have tested all combinations of splash/quiet/vga options in my grub config...

gco
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-07, 09:43 AM   #31
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Post Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Update:

I've been able to resolve this problem by downgrading the Nvidia driver to version 1.0.9631 via Synaptic and the nvidia-glx package for Ubuntu.

I use the exact same xorg.conf than for the 1.0.9746 driver
Basically I've done the following:
1. switch back to the "nv" driver in /etc/X11/xorg.conf (section "Device")
2. reboot
3. sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9746-pkg1.run --uninstall
to uninstall the lastest Nvidia driver
4. sudo apt-get --purge remove nvidia-glx nvidia-settings nvidia-kernel-common
5. sudo rm /etc/init.d/nvidia-*
4 & 5 are just to be sure to begin with a clean video driver intsall
6. sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop
to stop X
7. sudo apt-get install linux-restricted-modules-$(uname -r)
install the restricted modules for your kernel
8. sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx
install the nvidia-glx driver 1.0.9631
9. switch back to the "nvidia" driver in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
10. sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start
to restart X

Here are my /etc/X11/xorg.conf device, screen & extensions sections if it could be of any help:

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation GeForce Go 6200 TurboCache"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation GeForce Go 6200 TurboCache"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TripleBuffer" "True"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x800"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Now I can use Beryl and switch to any tty ...
But not with the latest driver from Nvidia !

Any help to make it work with the latest Nvidia driver (i.e. 1.0.9746) is still welcome...
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-07, 05:12 PM   #32
Koxta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 13
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Yeah, too bad 8800 support was introduced in 9746 I can only hope that a new version will be out soon.

Best regards,
Jurek
Koxta is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-07, 08:31 PM   #33
IllegalCharacte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hi everyone,

I have the same problem as well, however a completely different set-up so the NVidia stuff doesn't help me. Here are my system specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Sapphire Radeon X800 GT
openSUSE 10.3
Linux Kernel 2.6.18.2-34

I get the same issue when I try to shut down/reboot, switch to a TTY or when I just straight up kill the X server with CTRL+ALT+Backspace. I can't ssh into my machine when it is frozen and I don't know what to look for in the log files.

Can anybody help me out?
IllegalCharacte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 10:50 PM   #34
gentoo_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: vienna
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hello
driver 9755 solve my Problem with Framebuffer on Console.

great thanks
gentoo_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-07, 09:47 AM   #35
Koxta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 13
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I confirm - 9755 release fixes this issue
Koxta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 12:31 AM   #36
chubuntu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

hmm, gentoo_user & Koxta, exactly what issue are you talking about? Are you on the right thread? 9755 didnt fix it for me... gcostes have you tried 9755 yet?
chubuntu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crashes and freezes Lethal Weapon NVIDIA Linux 9 09-27-02 08:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.