Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-07, 05:43 AM   #37
Koxta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 13
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hi,

the problem is solved for me, because I can freely switch from X to any console and vice versa regardless of the fb I am currently using (vesafb/vesafb-tng).

Best regards,
Koxta
Koxta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 06:11 AM   #38
Fin-JJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hello,

I will join this group of complainers.

Mine is the same with black screen & hanging (or actually old CRT stays black and new TFT says out of range) after shutting down X. TTY's work perfectly before X is started, after they don't.

1. Latest BIOS
2. Linux 2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6
3. NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755
[edit] 4. Asus N6200[/edit]

Bug report will be added later if somebody wants/needs it.

Please advise!

-J-
Fin-JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 10:52 AM   #39
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Arrow Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by chubuntu
hmm, gentoo_user & Koxta, exactly what issue are you talking about? Are you on the right thread? 9755 didn't fix it for me... gcostes have you tried 9755 yet?
Nop - but as I'm now using the beta version of my distro (kernel 2.6.20-9, X7.2) I prefer to stick on the driver provided with my distro - otherwise I have to recompile each time there is a X related upgrade - and there are currently quite often...

I can give it a try when my beta will be stable again - should be in April.

fyi I have now another problem - black screen (no colors) and system frozen when returning from suspend or hibernate... but it is less of a problem for me - for the moment ;-)

Cheers.
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 05:43 PM   #40
gentoo_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: vienna
Posts: 3
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by chubuntu
hmm, gentoo_user & Koxta, exactly what issue are you talking about? Are you on the right thread? 9755 didnt fix it for me... gcostes have you tried 9755 yet?

Hi chubuntu
On my System the 9755 work fine.
I use vesafb in Kernel (gentoo-sources 2.6.19-r5) 32bit, SMP (Core2Duo S775 E6600), Intel D975XBX2 BadAxe2, MSI NX8800GTS-T2D640E-HD.

my kernel-config
......
#
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID=y
CONFIG_FB=y
# CONFIG_FB_DDC is not set
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
# CONFIG_FB_MACMODES is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT is not set
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
# CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ARC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG is not set
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
# CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_S1D13XXX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_I810 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_INTEL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY128 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_KYRO is not set
# CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBLA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_GEODE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL is not set
....

my grub-config
...
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.19-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/sda3 vga=0x31B video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr:3
...

lg gentoo_user
gentoo_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 07:58 AM   #41
brauliobo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Hello All,

I had experienced the same annoying problem. Then, one day I decided to fix it.
I found this thread at google, read everything and decided to recompile my kernel without nVidia framebuffers drivers:
- nVidia Framebuffer Support and
- nVidia Riva support

I didn't want to loose my 1024x768 console, so, instead I compiled vesafb driver (VESA VGA graphics support) to try it and see if the bug persist. And, incredibly, the bug desapear!!!

So that's it. With me, using vesafb intead of nvidiafb (or rivafb) made workaround for the problem.

Here comes my hardware's and system's configuration:

Hardware:
Athlon 64 on ASUS K8N with 512mb DDR400
Riva TNT2 64 32MB

System:
Gentoo AMD64 2006.1 (updated with all stable packages - see http://packages.gentoo.org - and some unstable packages -> kde, etc)
X.org 7.1 using its nvidia driver: nv. (NOT NVIDIA'S DRIVER)

*More info at attached files*. If you want more details, please ask here or by email: brauliobo@gmail.com

*** A strange thing about it is that when I used openSUSE 10.1 that bug didn't happen (did SUSE team made a patch for the framebuffer subsytem??)

BrŠulio
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (8.8 KB, 265 views)
File Type: txt config.txt (41.9 KB, 213 views)
File Type: txt dmesg.txt (13.1 KB, 369 views)
brauliobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 01:58 PM   #42
ctheo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcostes
Yes - when I've seen that it did not solve the problem I've put back the original kernel options "quiet splash"... and without "vga=xxx"

I've rebooted now without the "splash" option then press ctrl-alt-F1 to switch to console -> full colored screen (see image attached) then ctrl-alt-F7 to go back to X then I have produced a new log (see attach).

As I've said before, this happens systematically also when I ctrl+alt+F1-6 to any tty, stop gdm (so X), reboot or shutdown...

In case it is of any help, when this happens, the laptop is not frozen. When I stop gdm so X windows and I have this colorful screen, I can blindly type the root login and password then type reboot, it will work and and laptop reboots...

Hope this will help...

Thx!
I get exactly the same stripes with 1.0-9755 and 1.0-9746 drivers even then booting with vga=normal in kubuntu feisty fawn;
gcostes - have you noticed anything else unusual in k/ubuntu feisty fawn e.g. http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88482
Attached Files
File Type: zip bug-report.log.zip (31.4 KB, 238 views)
ctheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-07, 03:34 AM   #43
gcostes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctheo
I get exactly the same stripes with 1.0-9755 and 1.0-9746 drivers even then booting with vga=normal in kubuntu feisty fawn;
gcostes - have you noticed anything else unusual in k/ubuntu feisty fawn e.g. http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88482
Not related to the switching to tty feature - but for me using the nvidia-glx (9631) solved the problem, I have attached my xorg.conf if it can be of any help... I'm on kernel 2.6.20-12 - don't forget to install the restricted modules for your kernel as well as the linux-generic package.

But I do have another problem now: black screen and freeze when returning from suspend or hibernate... arghhh!
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 xorg.conf.bz2 (1.5 KB, 245 views)
gcostes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-07, 10:07 AM   #44
gabriele75
Registered User
 
gabriele75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

Same problem to me, unable to switch to console (but coming back to X with ALT-F7 works).

Debian Sid (Unstable)
vanilla kernel 2.6.20.4
NVIDIA drivers 9755
Sony Vaio VGN-S4XP
Nvidia GeForce Go 6200
Latest Video BIOS


Tried everything discussed in this thread with no results.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (99.5 KB, 240 views)
__________________
Gabriele Pigozzo

http://www.gabrielepigozzo.net
gabriele75 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-31-07, 09:03 AM   #45
ctheo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

so a few gentoo users got ttys working with 1.0-9755 driver version if they recompiled kernel to include vesafb support?
one thing that is confusing me then is that in ubuntu vesafb is already enabled, it's just blacklisted with all other framebuffers
> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-framebuffer
then again how does "vga=" boot parameter work if vesafb is blacklisted
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source...ols/+bug/87158
ctheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 09:54 AM   #46
gabriele75
Registered User
 
gabriele75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I tried with and without vesafb compiled in the kernel, no results.
__________________
Gabriele Pigozzo

http://www.gabrielepigozzo.net
gabriele75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 10:06 PM   #47
mchiareli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I have a hp pavillion 6120br

AMD Sempron 62 3400+
NVidia Geforce go 6150 128 (shared)
512 mb DDR2
Hard disk 60 gb sata

Im using Ubuntu Feisty 7.04 beta version when i use the nv drive the image quality and resolution is very good, but when a install the official nvidia driver version 9755 (last released) the image and resolution continues good, but i turn to a console(Ctrl+Alt+Fx) the screen always flicking and the beryl get crash.

i do not know more what to make, i think about giving up...

somebody can help me?

thanks....
mchiareli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 07:15 AM   #48
SlowTree
Kubuntu 7.04 User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Send a message via MSN to SlowTree Send a message via Skype™ to SlowTree
Default Re: switch from X to any tty freezes the macine

I've got the same problem (geforce go 6150) console unavailable and system freeze when i try to switch to console (release 9755).
I also found that when ext monitor connected the system doesn't shutdown but freeze at logout action (i think this is related to kdm, because also with logout the laptop freeze).
hmhm..
i hope that nvidia release new version of the drivers that fix these problems.
(i don't speak &write english very well...sorry).
SlowTree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crashes and freezes Lethal Weapon NVIDIA Linux 9 09-27-02 08:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.