Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-06, 08:24 AM   #1
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

Hey all.

I stopped playing World of Warcraft a good while ago and I was just about to throw the game out today since I've heard that Blizzard doesn't accept people selling their accounts/cdkey or whatever. I want to know, is the cdkey tied to a specific account name forever or...?

It just seems like such a waste and I'd happily pass on my game to some poor guy who can't afford it
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-06, 08:28 AM   #2
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

CDKEY is perm tied to the account... the Key you have now is 100% useless...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-06, 08:54 AM   #3
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
CDKEY is perm tied to the account... the Key you have now is 100% useless...
Well can't I just give some guy my accountname/pass then? I mean the ingame characters is totally undependent of the account name AFAIK?
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-06, 09:59 AM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco
Well can't I just give some guy my accountname/pass then? I mean the ingame characters is totally undependent of the account name AFAIK?
Nope, Your ingame character is tied to your account on the realm he was created. So if you give someone your account information they also get access to your character.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-06, 01:17 PM   #5
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Nope, Your ingame character is tied to your account on the realm he was created. So if you give someone your account information they also get access to your character.
Well I don't really care since I'm not playing anymore? Otherwise I could just delete him or something..

Nah sounds too complicated, I'll just throw it out then.. stupid blizzard
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-06, 05:10 PM   #6
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

You could always sell the CDs + key to another person. He just has to change his billing info and this is where he's gotta be reaaaaly careful as Blizz is very suspicious of sudden billing changes, especially after long periods of account inactivity

I did this and the guy I sold it to was a llama, submiting all of his family's credit card numbers to Blizz because he couldn't get the cards working until blizz took action and banned the account. I had to write them an email explaining why "I" had to submit all those different crad #s. It helped for a couple of weeks, then the guy screwed up again but I couldn't be bothered to deal with his problems anymore.
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-06, 03:27 AM   #7
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist
You could always sell the CDs + key to another person. He just has to change his billing info and this is where he's gotta be reaaaaly careful as Blizz is very suspicious of sudden billing changes, especially after long periods of account inactivity

I did this and the guy I sold it to was a llama, submiting all of his family's credit card numbers to Blizz because he couldn't get the cards working until blizz took action and banned the account. I had to write them an email explaining why "I" had to submit all those different crad #s. It helped for a couple of weeks, then the guy screwed up again but I couldn't be bothered to deal with his problems anymore.
Heh bad for him

I don't think it's that unfair actually, I only paid a license for their game, I don't see why I should have the right to sell their game on to others. I've just been accustomed to do this so I'm a little disappointed
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-06, 10:27 PM   #8
Tork64
Registered User
 
Tork64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: How does the CDkey/account work in WoW?

Yup, cdkeys are tied to the account and not only that. You cant change the first and last name. This is extremely important because I had to call Blizzard one day and they requested a bunch of information just so i can confirm it was me. I didnt know my information by heart so they asked me to call back when i had all the information. This was pretty funny since It was my own account! I guess this is a good thing cause it protects your account from hackers or whatever. BTW if your account gets hacked, one of the questions they might ask you is the CDKEY # and some previous billing information.

Thats why some people get ripped off on ebay because of this, they sell their accounts and then call Blizzard to change password. Plus, if you want to transfer characters to different accounts you must have the same last name to do so.

I got a 60 Rogue, 60 Paladin, 60 Priest, 60 Warrior and im working on my hunter.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e6600
G.SKILL 2GB DDR2 800
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS SC 320MB
Samsung Widescreen 920bw
Vista / XP Pro
Tork64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 05:22 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 02:38 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 08:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.