Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-06, 12:52 PM   #1
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default DVI->HDMI and modelines

Here is a snip from my Xorg.0.log file.

(II) NVIDIA(0): Mapping display device 0 (DFP-0) to CRTC 0
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device DFP-0: maximum pixel clock at 8 bpp: 350 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device DFP-0: maximum pixel clock at 16 bpp: 350 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device DFP-0: maximum pixel clock at 32 bpp: 300 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not probing EDIDs.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Processing requested modes for display device DFP-0:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "720p"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1080i"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Generic Monitor: Using hsync range of 15.00-46.00 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Generic Monitor: Using vrefresh range of 59.00-61.00 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Clock range: 12.00 to 350.00 MHz

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "720p":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync width (1592 - 1312 = 280) greater than 256
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1080i":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync width (2240 - 1952 = 288) greater than 256
(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device DFP-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "800x600": 40.0 MHz, 37.9 kHz, 60.3 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "400x300": 20.0 MHz, 37.9 kHz, 60.3 Hz (D)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "320x240": 12.6 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.1 Hz (D)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 800 x 600

How can I get those resolutions to work properly? I used a modeline generator to create the values.
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 12:59 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

In general, only native modes (in the EDID) will be validated for DVI. You could try setting UseEDID to false, but that may not result in a usable mode.

Modeline generators only tend to work reliably for analog (CRT) devices.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 01:29 PM   #3
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

The problem is when EDID is enabled, it returns the resolution maximum as 1920x540 and rejects every valid mode except 320x240. It's reporting bad information. What I need is a working modeline for 720p and I'll be happy with that.
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 01:37 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

How did you determine that the EDID is reporting bad information?

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 01:42 PM   #5
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

Here it is. EDID reports resolution to be 1920x540 and throws out every valid mode.
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (33.1 KB, 107 views)
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 01:57 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

How did you determine that the EDID is reporting bad information?

Also, you posted an X log, I requested an nvidia-bug-report.log.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 02:13 PM   #7
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

the nvidia-bug-report script isn't working. It's saying that my nv-control is too old even though the package is up to date.
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 02:35 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

nvidia-bug-report.sh doesn't require NV-CONTROL to generate a bug report.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-01-06, 02:41 PM   #9
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

I'll have to wait until I get home to run it then. I'll post up the report, but if you take a look in that Xorg log, you'll see where it calls the EDID info and reports a maximum resolution of 1920x540 which is wrong wrong wrong.
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 02:46 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

How did you determine that 1920x540 is wrong?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 02:49 PM   #11
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

1080i is 1920x1080. This is an HDTV that does 1080i. It won't even do 800x600, because it says that it exceeds the maximum size of 540.
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-06, 06:49 PM   #12
Falkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: DVI->HDMI and modelines

Here they are, generated bug reports.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report-noEDID.log (71.0 KB, 98 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (78.3 KB, 90 views)
Falkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WARNING] 302.17 doesn't accept modelines 295.53 and older did just fine Lamieur NVIDIA Linux 5 06-22-12 09:24 AM
Manual modelines with current drivers mxxmmxxm NVIDIA Linux 0 06-20-12 06:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.