Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-06, 12:26 PM   #1
vvb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

There is a problem in Fedora Core 6 with latest drivers.
I can easily compile it, but can't start X.
I've download rpm with 1.0-9629 driver (kmod module etc.).
After isntallation, X started. But all is very... I don't know... unusual.
I can turn on Desctop Effects and can see all this floating windows and turning desktops.
glxgears works, but wine can't start any application (becouse of video I think).
It's very strange. In FC5 all was very good...
I have GeForce FX6600 GT.
Logs are attached.
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (13.4 KB, 97 views)
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (29.8 KB, 99 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (91.9 KB, 91 views)

Last edited by vvb; 12-05-06 at 12:47 PM.
vvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 12:47 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

What is the output from running "modprobe nvidia" as root?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 01:01 PM   #3
vvb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

none.
[root@vampire ~]# modprobe nvidia
[root@vampire ~]#
vvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 01:05 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

Actually, according to your bug report, you uninstalled 1.0-9631. I don't see that you have the driver installed.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 01:15 PM   #5
vvb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Actually, according to your bug report, you uninstalled 1.0-9631. I don't see that you have the driver installed.
Nevetherless, in /libs/modules there are nvidia .ko files.
After first attempt I've simply rerun nvidia installer again to get log and error reports to send here.

Right now I've change in xorg.conf driver "nvidia" to "nv" just to run X.
I can easily by root give command "telinit 3", run installer, it compile driver succesfully, but when I'll try to give command "startx", I'll recieve:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module! Please ensure
(EE) NVIDIA(0): that there is a supported NVIDIA GPU in this system, and
(EE) NVIDIA(0): that the NVIDIA device files have been created properly.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Please consult the NVIDIA README for details.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "ramdac"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
vvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 01:21 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

I'd suggest (re)installing the official 1.0-9631 package.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 01:48 PM   #7
vvb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

Right now just to make sure I've done following:
1. telinit 3
2. run OFFICIAL driver (13357240 Dec 4 16:47 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9631-pkg1.run)
3. Answer questions (it compile without any errors, but with warning what I already have driver 9631 and it'll be altered)
4. after the installer try to "startx"
5. The answer is:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module! Please ensure
(EE) NVIDIA(0): that there is a supported NVIDIA GPU in this system, and
(EE) NVIDIA(0): that the NVIDIA device files have been created properly.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Please consult the NVIDIA README for details.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "ramdac"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
vvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 01:53 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

You need to post a new bug report that captures this failure.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-05-06, 01:59 PM   #9
vvb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

Mmmmmm... Could you be more specific?
Can you give URL to report this BUG?
vvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 02:03 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

I never stated that there was a bug. I asked you to generate a new nvidia-bug-report.log.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 02:10 PM   #11
vvb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

Ooops. Sorry. My mistake. 8)))
Is it important WHEN I create bug_report?
May be it ought to be done RIGHT just after compiling of driver?
Nevertherless, I just run nvidia-bug-report.sh
Log is about 127 Kb
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (124.3 KB, 97 views)
vvb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 02:24 PM   #12
iki488
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: FC6 1.0-9629 & 1.0-9631 troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvb
Right now just to make sure I've done following:
1. telinit 3
2. run OFFICIAL driver (13357240 Dec 4 16:47 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9631-pkg1.run)
3. Answer questions (it compile without any errors, but with warning what I already have driver 9631 and it'll be altered)
4. after the installer try to "startx"
5. The answer is:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module! Please ensure
(EE) NVIDIA(0): that there is a supported NVIDIA GPU in this system, and
(EE) NVIDIA(0): that the NVIDIA device files have been created properly.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Please consult the NVIDIA README for details.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "ramdac"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
same problem on ubuntu edgy, a geforce ti 4200
iki488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.