Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-06, 04:03 PM   #1
OldOfEvil
Parrots + Xanax =
 
OldOfEvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 662
Default Firefox is being shy

I dual boot on my computer, and run FF 2.0 on both OS X and Windows XP. For some reason FF doesn't launch in Windows. It will show up in the task manager but the application itself never shows up. I've tried running in safe mode and default everything, and it works, but the next time I try to launch it normaly it does the same stuff. I haven't tried re-installing as I was curious to see if anyone had any cures or was able to explain why it was acting up.
__________________
i5 3570k | Sabertooth z77 | GTX 680 (320.49) | 16GB DDR2 | Win7 x64 Pro
OldOfEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 04:33 AM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

I've always had to reinstall. Never found a good explanation for it either, but I've run into this with 1.5 and 2. But a reinstall does fix it for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 05:40 AM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

Can't say I've ever seen this problem myself. Very strange.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 05:53 AM   #4
OldOfEvil
Parrots + Xanax =
 
OldOfEvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 662
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Can't say I've ever seen this problem myself. Very strange.
Very strange. First time I've run into this issue was with 2.0 and I've been using it since 0.6. Hence why I was thinking it might be a 2.0 issue only. I'll reinstall and see if the issue crops up again.
__________________
i5 3570k | Sabertooth z77 | GTX 680 (320.49) | 16GB DDR2 | Win7 x64 Pro
OldOfEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 01:24 PM   #5
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldOfEvil
I dual boot on my computer, and run FF 2.0 on both OS X and Windows XP. For some reason FF doesn't launch in Windows. It will show up in the task manager but the application itself never shows up. I've tried running in safe mode and default everything, and it works, but the next time I try to launch it normaly it does the same stuff. I haven't tried re-installing as I was curious to see if anyone had any cures or was able to explain why it was acting up.
People are so in love with Firefox that they swear it cures cancer. (Much like PS3 fanboys, but they are at least partially right.) It's a good browser, and was MILES better than IE6 and even 7 IMO.

But its a weird, quirky POS at times, and no one seems to want to get over their love fest to acknowledge it. I've had it do all sorts of weird stuff, including what's happening to you. Try to reinstall it, and make sure you submit that as a bug. Also, if you see it in the task manager kill ALL instances of it and try launching it again. Sometimes that works.

Good luck.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 01:53 PM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldOfEvil
Very strange. First time I've run into this issue was with 2.0 and I've been using it since 0.6. Hence why I was thinking it might be a 2.0 issue only. I'll reinstall and see if the issue crops up again.
Forgot to mention, when mine acted up it would launch, but show only in TM and the taskbar, like it was permanently minimized. The only way to kill it was a reboot. No harm done all in all, no erratic cpu usage or anything else, I just couldn't maximize or do anything with it.

Sad to say mozilla's faqs and forums were, less than helpful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-06, 01:07 PM   #7
firehawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 410
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

firefox 2 decided it wanted to hog my system cpu usage today. everytime i exited my "system" process would jump up to 30% and stay there until i rebooted. i repeated this about 15 times until i finally found out that it was firefox causing it.


my fix was to open opera and make it the default browser then open firefox and make it default. after that i was running normal again

the good news is that i hadn't use opera in awhile i forgot how fast it was. i think iam going to start using it again
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-06, 06:37 AM   #8
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Firefox is being shy

I haven't had this problem, but sounds like a similar problem with HP's Photo Director and IE7. For some reason, they don't play well together, but found a way around it by typing a short instruction in the short cut for HP Director and then it worked fine.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox 14.0 Beta 7 News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 10:20 AM
Firefox 13.0 Final DSC General Software 1 06-09-12 10:04 PM
Firefox 14.0 Beta 6 News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM
May browser usage: Firefox users still avoiding updates News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
Firefox 13.0 Beta 7 News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.