Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-06, 10:23 PM   #181
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

i will repeat once more and final time, it has nothing to do with video card, is caused by dual core.

look around the eidoes forums
http://forums.eidosgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127

if you have Intel, you need to get programs(Process.exe and sleep.exe) and set affinity to 1

Quote:
sleep.exe 10
process -a DX2Main.exe 01
process -a DX2.exe 01
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-06, 12:16 AM   #182
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by JemyM


Sanitarium
I do not expect to get a fix for this considering the age of the game. The game worked perfectly with 7900GTX but as soon as I updated to 8800GTX the cutscenes was corrupted. Sanitarium uses SMACK videos (SMACK32.DLL) and playing them in windows with the latest RADTools is ok. Playing cutscenes in the game it looks terrible. The graphics outside the cutscenes looks ok.





What OS did you use to get SANITARIUM running on ?? I love that game and bouhgt it and played it allot when it first came out.... It wont even install under XP,at least I have never been able to get it to install at all under XP Please advise with any and all help you can,as its one of my all time fave games... I am considering putting together a older system just to run stuff like that...
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-06, 01:33 AM   #183
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Post Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
What OS did you use to get SANITARIUM running on ?? I love that game and bouhgt it and played it allot when it first came out.... It wont even install under XP,at least I have never been able to get it to install at all under XP Please advise with any and all help you can,as its one of my all time fave games... I am considering putting together a older system just to run stuff like that...
I used the installer on the CD, then I copied all content in the Data folders from all three CD's into the Data folder on the harddrive. If the AutoStart launcher fails, try manually starting SETUP.EXE on the first CD. I have XP SP2.
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-06, 03:27 PM   #184
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Edit: Fixed
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-06, 11:06 PM   #185
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by JemyM
Splinter Cell 4: Double Agent
... singleplayer is supposed to have a driver issue that insta-crash the game when loaded with the game launcher. 97.44 gives you an error report, in 97.28 it just drops you to desktop. Even if you bypass this problem using the provided "solution", the ingame graphics is severly corrupted and unplayable. Appearently you can "solve" the graphic errors by turning off HIGH DETAIL SHADER, but ofcourse that makes the game look like crap.

Official info
We are sorry for the confusion. Although the issue with Call of Juarez is fixed, the driver which was recently released does not contain this fix. The fix was introduced into driver version 97.60 and above which is newer than the 97.44 driver which is currently available. As for Splinter Cell, the issue is caused by the launcher for Splinter Cell and we are working with the developers to correct this issue through a future patch. To override the launcher, please do the following:
1. Navigate to the game install directory, then change to the sub-folder /SCDA-Offline/system 2. Create a shortcut to splintercell4.exe. 3. add "-ll"(2 lower case L's not 11) to the command line of the shortcut. 4. use this shortcut to launch the game.

(I tried this myself and it helped)


Call of Juarez
Note that according to the info about Splinter Cell 4: Double Agent, Call of Juarez is supposed to be fixed in 97.60


Runaway 2: The Dream of the Turtle
The game freezes as soon as you see the mousepointer, forcing a reboot. Again it seems they are on it.

Translated from french
"It seems that the owners of a graphics board NVIDIA GeForce 8800 encounter a problem with Runaway 2.

Nvidia and Pendulo Studios are already with the current of the problem and seek a solution. This problem does not appear with the other graphics boards Nvidia GeForce. Only series 8800 is concerned with this problem.

The resolution of the problem will certainly be included in the patch envisaged for Runaway 2, or in the form of new drivers for GeForce 8800 by Nvidia."



Sanitarium
I do not expect to get a fix for this considering the age of the game. The game worked perfectly with 7900GTX but as soon as I updated to 8800GTX the cutscenes was corrupted. Sanitarium uses SMACK videos (SMACK32.DLL) and playing them in windows with the latest RADTools is ok. Playing cutscenes in the game it looks terrible. The graphics outside the cutscenes looks ok.


Those pictures are exactly what my display looked like ALL the time and I found out it was due to the wrong resistor on my EVGA 8800GTX. It happened intermittently at first on 3DAPPS and then all the time even in 2D. RMA replacement in bound...
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 02:11 PM   #186
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by JemyM
I used the installer on the CD, then I copied all content in the Data folders from all three CD's into the Data folder on the harddrive. If the AutoStart launcher fails, try manually starting SETUP.EXE on the first CD. I have XP SP2.


I have tried all that,and it gives me errors right away...
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 02:39 PM   #187
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

I just did a search after more then a year or so,and found a Wiki entry with links...One of the links goes to a fan site,that explains how to run it properly in XP or 2K !!!!!!!!!!!!! I have it installed and just went through the first few minutes of the first puzzle !!! It works ,but I too am getting video corruption in cut scenes.I am going to try installing it on one of my other systems that have a 7800GT.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 07:01 PM   #188
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Thief 3 Dark Shadows. Everything that highlights like doors and bodies glow blue. Using 1.1 patch.
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-26-06, 07:26 PM   #189
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatal1ty
Thief 3 Dark Shadows. Everything that highlights like doors and bodies glow blue. Using 1.1 patch.
check your game manual, it supposed to glow blue
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 08:20 PM   #190
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
check your game manual, it supposed to glow blue
Err...oops. I just dont remember it looking this... bad. Ill take some screenshots. There is also flicking someone mentioned a pages back that I noticed as well.
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 09:36 PM   #191
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

I just got done installing my entire game collection. This is the final rundown of issues.

Dark Reign 2: Video corruption to the point where I get a blue screen with nv4disp.dll faulting.

Emperor Battle for Dune: Locks up before getting into the game.

Giants: Gets to the menu fine. Crashes when starting a new game.

GTA 3: Textures tearing and discolored in the menu and in the distance.

GTA Vice City: Same as GTA 3.

Hegemonia: Changing the resolution results in a spectacular flashing effect that would put anyone with epilepsy into seizures.

Omikron: Very VERY bad texture corruption.

Prince of Persia SoT: Massive studdering.

Quake 3: Vsync does not enable - leftovers from nVidias Quake 3 cheating days.

Red Faction: Missing/Flashing textures.

Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Same as Quake 3. No vsync.

Star Trek Armada: Locks up before getting into the game.

Tropico: All text washed out and unreadable in hardware mode.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 10:19 PM   #192
DarkJedi664
Registered User
 
DarkJedi664's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 665
Send a message via MSN to DarkJedi664
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Not sure if anyone mentioned Half Life 2, when first going to the professors lab, most of the room looks all washed out and grey.
__________________
A good enough computer, and an Xbox 360

http://card.mygamercard.net/IshimaruKenta.png
DarkJedi664 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.