Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-06, 06:22 PM   #13
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Here are the two "low fps" areas that I mentioned in Star Trek Elite Force II and Quake 4. While I use to using SLI, I was still surprised by these results since I thought I had tested these same areas with single 78xx/79xx cards. I guess I'll try disabling the multi-core support to see if that changes anything. Anyway, the Q4 area has always been somewhat taxing but I was the most surprised by the Star Trek EF2 result. It's an older game and I was also only running at 16x12 (the Q4 results were at 1920x1200). Maybe someone can confirm they see similiar single-card framerates?

Star Trek Elite Force 2


Quake 4
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:24 PM   #14
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Did you try disabling multi core support in Q4?
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:27 PM   #15
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Not yet.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:30 PM   #16
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Well multi core seems to greatly improve peformance or so the reviews say. Double Agent is working for me, although with lower quailty then on the 7800GTX cards But at least now it's playable. Oblivion works fine for me my frame rates have dropped but the water effects are ALOT better, before there was no shine and didn't even look like it was using pixel shaders but it back to normal now
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:31 PM   #17
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatal1ty
Did you try disabling multi core support in Q4?
Isn't there supposed to be an option in the settings of Quake 4 to do that? I don't seem to have that option and I thought it was there before I had to redo my whole system.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:33 PM   #18
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

I would like to post another problems

scarface

shadows turn blue, from time to time

godfather

intro movie is corrupted, very badly
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:35 PM   #19
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
I would like to post another problems

scarface

shadows turn blue, from time to time

godfather

intro movie is corrupted, very badly
Try to post a screenshot if you can.

Do you know if I need to disable dual-core support from the console in Quake 4 or is it supposed to be a menu option. I thought for sure it was a menu item but I'm not seeing it with 1.0.5.2.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 06:40 PM   #20
spajdrik
Registered User
 
spajdrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Everquest II
All graphics looks fine, no errors, but animation speed of grass and water is like 10x faster then it should be
And performance compared to X2 + X1900XTX which i got previously, nothing exciting, still slowdown (i dont believe they will fix it).
__________________
ASUS P5B Deluxe + INTEL Core 2 Duo E6400@3.28 Ghz / Fortron EPSILON 700W
2GB DDR2-750MHz Kingston HyperX CL4 2x1GB nonkit (4-4-4-12 2V)
Leadtek WinFast PX 8800 GTX TDH (660/1950) on FSC MT LCD 20" S20-1W
2x80GB Seagate Barracuda SATA150 / LG 4163B DVD-+R burner
Logitech MX1000 Cordless Laser Mouse / Genius SW-5.1 Home Theater
spajdrik is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-06, 07:04 PM   #21
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Try to post a screenshot if you can.

Do you know if I need to disable dual-core support from the console in Quake 4 or is it supposed to be a menu option. I thought for sure it was a menu item but I'm not seeing it with 1.0.5.2.
i haven't played quake 4 in a very long time, but most likelly its in console.

here is the godfather issue
screenshot doesn't work, comes up with black screen.






edit

ok here is scarface

blue shadows keep flashing on and off


and next frame they disapeared
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 07:19 PM   #22
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Try to post a screenshot if you can.

Do you know if I need to disable dual-core support from the console in Quake 4 or is it supposed to be a menu option. I thought for sure it was a menu item but I'm not seeing it with 1.0.5.2.

yup, make sure you have 1.3 Patch installed, it's in the system options second from the bottom (I just reformatted last night and loaded Q4).
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 07:45 PM   #23
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Is that the latest? I thought I had a later patch than that but after checking online, it looks like 1.3 might be the latest. I thought I had 1.5 but maybe that's 1.05 or something.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-06, 07:50 PM   #24
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Is that the latest? I thought I had a later patch than that but after checking online, it looks like 1.3 might be the latest. I thought I had 1.5 but maybe that's 1.05 or something.

You wouldnt even have dual core enabled.
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.