Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-07, 06:10 AM   #253
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

SuperPI means nothing to stability. It will stress only FPU of one core. Get Prime95, and run 2 instances of it, or Orthos. Or get RTHDRIBL to stress GPU, run it on one core, and Prime95 on another core. And let it running for 5 hours at least (overnight). If there will be no errors, your system can be considered stable.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 06:56 AM   #254
Syqenesa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatal1ty
Can anyone run republic commando with 8800? - mine CTD when loading a new game. I get to the menus but then it crashes. Someone mentioned it crashing after the first level... I can't get it to run at all though.
Nope,with my 8800 GTX Republic Commando crashes after Main Menu,when I start a new Game during loading, back to windows!

In Lucas Arts Forum everyone with a 8800 have this problem!
Nvidia knows this bug,hope they fix this soon
Syqenesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 08:14 AM   #255
herr rogers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

I agree that superpi isn't the best stability tester, but running all the other games with everything on high is in my opinion a good stability tester. I will run instances of prime95 while I'm at school today but I think what's important in my case is that cod2 won't play out of any of the other games that I play...

edit/update: and I just ran orthos for 5 hours without errors.

Last edited by herr rogers; 01-09-07 at 01:20 PM.
herr rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 07:18 PM   #256
Tho Jo Smale
Maximum Speed
 
Tho Jo Smale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
SuperPI means nothing to stability. It will stress only FPU of one core. Get Prime95, and run 2 instances of it, or Orthos. Or get RTHDRIBL to stress GPU, run it on one core, and Prime95 on another core. And let it running for 5 hours at least (overnight). If there will be no errors, your system can be considered stable.

Don't forget memtest for windows. Test, Test and Retest.

Run orthos and memtest for 12hrs each and then rthdribl
__________________
AMD X4 9850+ 200X15 Ram @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12 2T
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe (silly 3 year old mobo can't do DDR1066 with Phenom....damn ASUS!)
4gb Corsair PC8500 XMS2
Thermaltake 750w PSU
HIS Radeon 4870 1024MB 800/960 Cat 9.4 Beta
Creative X-FI APU
Western Digital 640gb Sata II Harddisk
Logitech Z-640 5.1 surround speakers
Lg 52X cd r/w and Lg 16x DVD R/W Lightscribe
3dmark06 14410 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=8600451
Newbs Helping Newbs brings a tear to my eye
Tho Jo Smale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 12:16 PM   #257
AirJarhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 31
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

HDR and AA do not work in Rainbow 6 Vegas unless you use the Oblivion.exe/nHancer trick. Then when you use that trick, you get shadow corruption.
Again - Neither HDR or AA works on this game (together or separate), but they work with ATI cards (and I think HDR works with 7 series cards).
__________________
RJRHл
E4300 C2D @ 3150
Thermalright Ultra-90
Gigabyte 965P S3
2x1GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2-750
EVGA 8800GTS
Samsung 20" WS LCD 205BW
Creative Audigy 2ZS
Maxtor 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Pioneer 111D DVD Burner
Lite-On 16x DVD-Rom
Sunbeam NUUO 550W
Thermaltake 250W GPU PSU
Windows XP Pro SP2
AirJarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 01:33 PM   #258
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirJarhead
HDR and AA do not work in Rainbow 6 Vegas unless you use the Oblivion.exe/nHancer trick. Then when you use that trick, you get shadow corruption.
Again - Neither HDR or AA works on this game (together or separate), but they work with ATI cards (and I think HDR works with 7 series cards).

Yeah, I'd love for Vegas to work right. The big fish tanks on the casino made me think HDR wasnt working there cause it just doesnt look right.

The performance of the 8800gts rox but after awhile you begin to think it's because half the features are disabled in the damn thing. I could not get AA and HDR to work with Oblivion until the 97.92 drivers - anything earlier regardless of the hack wasnt working right
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 06:17 PM   #259
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

I think HDR is working for me (although I'm still in the first area since I haven't really started playing this game yet). Just look at the sun (disclaimer: in these screenshots, not in real life ).

ATI HDR on.................ATI HDR off...............Nvidia HDR on.............Nvidia HDR off
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 07:05 PM   #260
Tho Jo Smale
Maximum Speed
 
Tho Jo Smale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 409
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
I think HDR is working for me (although I'm still in the first area since I haven't really started playing this game yet). Just look at the sun (disclaimer: in these screenshots, not in real life ).

ATI HDR on.................ATI HDR off...............Nvidia HDR on.............Nvidia HDR off

Yup that's the HDR boys.


JC
__________________
AMD X4 9850+ 200X15 Ram @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12 2T
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe (silly 3 year old mobo can't do DDR1066 with Phenom....damn ASUS!)
4gb Corsair PC8500 XMS2
Thermaltake 750w PSU
HIS Radeon 4870 1024MB 800/960 Cat 9.4 Beta
Creative X-FI APU
Western Digital 640gb Sata II Harddisk
Logitech Z-640 5.1 surround speakers
Lg 52X cd r/w and Lg 16x DVD R/W Lightscribe
3dmark06 14410 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=8600451
Newbs Helping Newbs brings a tear to my eye
Tho Jo Smale is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-07, 07:33 PM   #261
icecold1983
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 265
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

this game has bloom, not hdr
__________________
c2d e6600 stock
680i
2 gb ddr800
8800 gtx stock
x fi with 64 mb xram
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 07:36 PM   #262
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Whatever, the setting in the game says HDR. All I was trying to show was that it appeared to work for me.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 08:16 PM   #263
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
HDR+AA in some of the other titles would be nice also (SCCT, Far Cry, etc.).
Vegas and all other games would work perfectly w/ AA, AA+HDR if only we had pure rgss available in driver settings and hardware and without color compression and optional gammaAA. i know i've said this 1 million times, but not only is 100% hassle free, it actually looks superior to csaa, msaa, ogss, mixed modes, ati's sparse sampling patterns, matrox's fragment aa, and any other mode one can come up with. RGSS is the only method of aa that can honestly and truthfully be called Full Scene AA. i am seeing a psychiatrist for the lack of this. i hope nvidia will finally allow a 4x and a 16x pure rgss driver-set mode w/o color compression and optional gammaAA. please dont doubt me about rgss being the best. if it was available other than on the late and great 3dfx voodoo5 (which is how i wanted it) then everyone would want it if they want to not only have aa w/ every game w/ no trouble and also look better than a mode that has a large amount of trouble and incompatibilities. think about. please.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-07, 10:42 PM   #264
AirJarhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 31
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Whatever, the setting in the game says HDR. All I was trying to show was that it appeared to work for me.
You're right. It does appear to be working correctly for you. I wonder why? I'll tell you what, no matter what settings I apply in the game HDR is NOT on, and the game looks like utter crap (it looks like a washed out 10 yr old game). However, when I use that Oblivion hack, it looks wonderful (like the screenshots I see in reviews). I wonder if the widescreen hacks are messing it up? I don't think I ever tried the game without them.
__________________
RJRHл
E4300 C2D @ 3150
Thermalright Ultra-90
Gigabyte 965P S3
2x1GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2-750
EVGA 8800GTS
Samsung 20" WS LCD 205BW
Creative Audigy 2ZS
Maxtor 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Pioneer 111D DVD Burner
Lite-On 16x DVD-Rom
Sunbeam NUUO 550W
Thermaltake 250W GPU PSU
Windows XP Pro SP2
AirJarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.