Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-07, 02:34 PM   #349
swaaye
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

How about the 8800's apparently awful 16-bit quality. I play some older games occasionally and they look terrible on 8800 if they are 16-bit only. I haven't seen banding this bad since probably the ATI Rage 128.

Quake3 (just for proof that something is very wrong. I know Q3 can do 32-bit):


System Shock 2: (horrible banding on walls/floor)



Need For Speed III: (banding on road, sky, and dash. This game has some poly seam issues too, but i blame the game for that)
swaaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 03:49 PM   #350
degust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia, Moscow/St.Petersburg
Posts: 78
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuffinMan
This is a game error and not a Nvidia/driver error. The same happens on ATI hardware.
No, it's not. There are no problems with shadows on ATI hardware in Condemned.

Last edited by degust; 03-28-07 at 03:50 AM.
degust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 03:52 PM   #351
degust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia, Moscow/St.Petersburg
Posts: 78
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by swaaye
How about the 8800's apparently awful 16-bit quality. I play some older games occasionally and they look terrible on 8800 if they are 16-bit only.
Looks like there is no dithering for 16-bit color modes at all. Guess they can do it in pixel shader though if we ask them nicely
degust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 04:41 PM   #352
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by degust
Looks like there is no dithering for 16-bit color modes at all. Guess they can do it in pixel shader though if we ask them nicely
Please don't ask them to do it thru pixel shaders. Just ask them to force 32-bit color on 16 bit only games like ATI does. That's the only smart thing ATI ever did.

Pixel shader's aren't the best answer to everything.

They should really only be used for special fx.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-07, 07:15 AM   #353
Grov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

When playing Prey, i get a strange wobbly line eminant from the bottom of the screen all the way to the top, all the way accross the monitor.
__________________
Kentsfield Q6600@ 3100Mhz
Asus P5B-E Plus
2GB GSkill PC6400
Albatron Geforce 8800GTX (620/1030)
Corsair 620W HX
74GB Raptor
X-Fi Plat
Windows XP Pro SP2
Grov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-07, 12:21 AM   #354
firehawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 410
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

wow.

stomwind weapon trainer room crashes. locks computer with display driver error.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-07, 02:22 PM   #355
swaaye
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevpla1@cox.net
Please don't ask them to do it thru pixel shaders. Just ask them to force 32-bit color on 16 bit only games like ATI does. That's the only smart thing ATI ever did.

Pixel shader's aren't the best answer to everything.

They should really only be used for special fx.
Yeah my R9700 made System Shock 2 look really great. My 6800 though looked decent too. This 8800 is the poster child for terrible.
swaaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 03:54 AM   #356
degust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia, Moscow/St.Petersburg
Posts: 78
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevpla1@cox.net
Please don't ask them to do it thru pixel shaders. Just ask them to force 32-bit color on 16 bit only games like ATI does. That's the only smart thing ATI ever did.

Pixel shader's aren't the best answer to everything.

They should really only be used for special fx.
I'm not sure that you should 'force' 32 bit back buffer for all games that explicitly requests 16 bit. But on a per application basis (through forceware profiles) this would indeed be great.
I just don't think they'll do it. 16 bit applications isn't their highest priority right now you know...
degust is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-28-07, 06:49 AM   #357
LgEnder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
wow.

stomwind weapon trainer room crashes. locks computer with display driver error.
Upgrade to 97.95 or turn down your AA to 2x and it should fix it.
LgEnder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-07, 02:34 PM   #358
cavman
Registered User
 
cavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

What up all? Alright I've read the forum posts, but I have issues with MOHAA, MOHSH, and MOHBT (crashes to desktop), but my BF2 and GRAW run great!!

I'm not a pro with the video card settings, but will these settings mess up my other games?

Also, is it really worth keeping MOH alive???
__________________


ASUS M2N32-SLI DLX (NVIDIA NFORCE 590 SLI)
XFX NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS SLI 320MB
LIAN-LI PC-7A Plus II Case
HIPER HPO - 4K580-MS
AMD 64x2 4600+ @ 2.4 Ghz
2GB Corsair XMS2 (PC2 6400) RAM
Artic Cooling Freezer 64Pro
2xWD 160GB 7200 RPM HDD
BenQ FP92W

cavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 11:49 PM   #359
firehawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 410
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by LgEnder
Upgrade to 97.95 or turn down your AA to 2x and it should fix it.

just an update.


it seems the latest wow patch fixed the issue.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 06:53 AM   #360
OxfordDon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: Summary of GeForce 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
just an update.


it seems the latest wow patch fixed the issue.
It did?? Was that in the patch notes? Must try it out, max AA again, yay!
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi, Gainward 8800 GTX, Core2Duo 6600, Audigy 2 ZS, 2Gb Corsair CM2X1024-6400 DDR2, 2 x Western Digital Raptor 74GB (RAID 0), Seagate 7200.8 300GB SATA 8MB Cache, Dell 2405FPW, Win XP Pro SP2
OxfordDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.