Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-06, 02:06 PM   #61
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

I have posted my Gothic III config before:
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 04:11 PM   #62
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Some more Gothic III HDR+AA screenshots (modded Oblivion looks way better, btw.):

__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 09:34 PM   #63
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Anyone playing Vampire:Bloodlines? The game keeps crashing for me everytime I go to suck someones blood.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 10:05 PM   #64
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Some more Gothic III HDR+AA screenshots (modded Oblivion looks way better, btw.):

hmm

is it just me, or does that not look like HDR
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 10:06 PM   #65
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

BTW, I get better performance in Quake 4 with the dual-core support enabled. With it enabled, I'm in the 40s in the screenshot I posted earlier. If I disable it, I'm in the high 20s at the same point. That was the way it was before I had to reinstall everything also. Not sure why I don't have to disable dual-core support in opengl like most do.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-06, 10:35 PM   #66
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
hmm

is it just me, or does that not look like HDR
First screen looks like there might be a little. But the other two look HDRless to me. Then again I don't own the game so what do I know
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 07:25 AM   #67
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Well, there is nothing called "HDR" in the game options (European retail version). So it might be just bloom, or whatever.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 01:56 PM   #68
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
BTW, I get better performance in Quake 4 with the dual-core support enabled. With it enabled, I'm in the 40s in the screenshot I posted earlier. If I disable it, I'm in the high 20s at the same point. That was the way it was before I had to reinstall everything also. Not sure why I don't have to disable dual-core support in opengl like most do.
Quake 4 runs great for me as well. The other day I had 16xQAA enabled and the game was still playable at 1280x1024(lowest was 35 fps, stayed above 50fps most of time) with the Quak4 parrallax mapping and specular adjustments which put even more strain on the Pixel shaders.

I also run Doom3 without much effort at 1280x1024, 8xAA/16xAF. I've also enabled all the 3dmood parallax mapping and specular mods as well. Still pegged at 60 fps throughout. I'm am still in the early levels though. Maybe the slowdowns happen in later levels.

I'll give both games a whirl on my projector at 1920x1080 to see if they slowdown a lot later.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-06, 02:10 PM   #69
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Well, there is nothing called "HDR" in the game options (European retail version). So it might be just bloom, or whatever.
but if you disable post processing "bloom" option, then there will be no HDR or HDR effect.

so those screenshots are Gothic AA only, not actually Gothic "HDR"+AA
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 03:34 PM   #70
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
but if you disable post processing "bloom" option, then there will be no HDR or HDR effect.

so those screenshots are Gothic AA only, not actually Gothic "HDR"+AA

Whatever.. The thing is, the game looks great with no postprocessing (blur?), but with AA. HDR and/or bloom is usually not referred to as postprocessing.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]

Last edited by radekhulan; 12-11-06 at 04:00 PM.
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 04:41 PM   #71
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Whatever.. The thing is, the game looks great with no postprocessing (blur?), but with AA. HDR and/or bloom is usually not referred to as postprocessing.
Yeah. Postprocessing usually means blur (like you said) or shader effects. Though doesn't CoH call it's HDR implementation Post Processing?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 09:03 PM   #72
anthonyl
Registered User
 
anthonyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 228
Default Re: Summary of 8800 Game Issues

Black flashing big globs all over the ground in BF2.....
__________________
INTEL E-6850 Dual Core | Asus P5N32 E SLI | 2 X Albatron 8800GTX in SLI| 2Gb Geil PC8500 / 1066mhz DDR 2 | Acer AL2616W 26" widescreen | Coolermaster Stacker Case | Antec Quattro 1000watt PSU | Logitech G9 mouse & G-15 keyboard | Creative X-Fi| Logitech Z5500 Audio | | Logitech G25 Wheel
anthonyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.