Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 12:15 PM   #145
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,464
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrdstrm
@ MikeC - Woot! I bought this TV as well...I searched for about 3 months before I stumbled on this one and am glad I did due to the money savings...Blu-Ray, PS3, Wii, HDTV...Everything looks awesome. I made a post about the TV right around when they came out/went on sale with coupon...Congrats on a great TV (so far! )

**EDIT** Your PC pics are great...I bought an DVI->HDMI cable, but havn't tried it yet...What are you using for a connection? I ask because some people over at AVS Forum were reporting blurry text using DVI->HDMI @ 1920x1280. If your running at 1080, I'll link your post over on the Vizio VU thread over there...Some people posted pictures of being successful, but thier pics didn't turn out nearly as well as yours...
Awesome! I used the RGB connection for the hookup to the laptop. Text was clear and sharp although the output to the TV was limited to a resolution of 1360x768. The laptop only has a maximum resolution of 1680x1050. I would like to see 1080 from the PC so I'll probably hook it up to one of my desktop systems.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 12:21 PM   #146
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,464
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusTaz
I got the Westinghouse 37' LVM-37w3se from costco for 799.99 plus shipping and tx came to $907. They did not have them avail in stores. The 42 inch is nice but I do not see that rebate and now it is 1199.99. I love the 37 inch but the specs on that Vizio look good too.

The Vizio is1800:1, I have 1200:1 @ 1920x1080P

it takes some getting used to over a 19" LCd and my gamming has suffered a little in COD2 lol but hey I will take it over a 19" anyday...
The $200 rebate ended this past weekend. I agree that gaming on a big screen takes getting used to. It also takes more mouse movement in order to move the pointer from one side of the screen to the other
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 12:41 PM   #147
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,464
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Nice display Mike. Looks like 1:1 pixel mapping, not bad for that price
Thanks. I had to read up on 1:1 pixel mapping and am sorry that I did

http://digitalcontentproducer.com/display/video_match/

In this case, it may have been due to the fact that I was running the laptop and the TV at nearly the same resolution.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 12:57 PM   #148
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC
Thanks. I had to read up on 1:1 pixel mapping and am sorry that I did

http://digitalcontentproducer.com/display/video_match/

In this case, it may have been due to the fact that I was running the laptop and the TV at nearly the same resolution.
After reading that I have a huge headache and im still lost.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 09:11 PM   #149
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
After reading that I have a huge headache and im still lost.
From what I gather through reading several threads at AVS Forum 1:1 is simply that you get true 1920x1080 with a PC input. If the set does not have 1:1 then you get blurry text. Vizio says both on thier older 47" 1080p and the new 1080p 42" that 1920x1080 can not be achieved with a PC, but they only reference the VGA input...People are having success with 1:1 with both TV's by using an DVI --> HDMI cable. I'll give it a go this weekend when I'll have some time (woot! New job is M-F 7:30-3:30 with school holidays off )

Also, for people saying they saw this set a while back at costco, you didn't...This set came out late June...The one you probably saw was the 720p 42" by Vizio...The 1080p version kicks ass imo...

@ MikeC...I thought this set was awesome, but I was watching it (Blu Ray) with a "All in One Box" crappy Surround combo...I have since hooked up my 5500's and man...What a difference with thumping base during action sequences...Very nice indeed
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 01:17 AM   #150
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrdstrm
From what I gather through reading several threads at AVS Forum 1:1 is simply that you get true 1920x1080 with a PC input. If the set does not have 1:1 then you get blurry text. Vizio says both on thier older 47" 1080p and the new 1080p 42" that 1920x1080 can not be achieved with a PC, but they only reference the VGA input...People are having success with 1:1 with both TV's by using an DVI --> HDMI cable. I'll give it a go this weekend when I'll have some time (woot! New job is M-F 7:30-3:30 with school holidays off )
Thanks man, I think I understand now.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 03:19 AM   #151
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

OMG...Does anyone want to let "Planet Earth"blu ray go for under the asking price? I just saw an episode (I hadn't seen any before)...It was in 720 upscaled to 1080i. It was freaking brilliant!!! My parents were there...My mother was transfixed, when I told my father to wait and watch, he ended up well....

Bottom line is they said they would probably buy it before I did due to how impressed they were with the picture quality on my TV and the "Nature" scenes they hadn't whitnessed before...

This TV does not cease to AMAZE me MikeC....By the way, have you calibrated your set yet? I havn't run the DVD, but I will this weekend...I just used settings from others that HAD calibrated on AVS Forum...
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 12:32 PM   #152
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

I bought the 42" Sharp Aquos and love it. dot-by-dot is a must have in a TV that you may use for a PC. I paid $1500 from best buy on a price match of Costco's.

As far as playing games on a PC the 1:1 or dot-by-dot if you will isn't a huge necessity. I have been gaming on my 3xCRT rear projection Sony 1080i for a couple years now and the games look amazing! Although I cannot surf the web or do anything with small text.

If you are just going to game on a TV the dot by dot isnt a huge concern.
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-06-07, 01:14 PM   #153
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrdstrm
From what I gather through reading several threads at AVS Forum 1:1 is simply that you get true 1920x1080 with a PC input. If the set does not have 1:1 then you get blurry text. Vizio says both on thier older 47" 1080p and the new 1080p 42" that 1920x1080 can not be achieved with a PC, but they only reference the VGA input...People are having success with 1:1 with both TV's by using an DVI --> HDMI cable. I'll give it a go this weekend when I'll have some time (woot! New job is M-F 7:30-3:30 with school holidays off )
What's really important is having 1:1 pixel mapping without overscan. Some of the newer LCDs are being made with the ability to disable overscanned output in the TV setup menu so you get true edge-to-edge 1920x1080. If your TV doesn't do that then the drivers either need to support a resolution within a resolution or a custom resolution.

For example, my rear projection JVC does 1080p at 1:1 but with overscan, so the outside edges of the desktop are off the screen. If I use the "Resize HDTV Desktop" settings in the NVIDIA drivers it doesn't create a resolution with a resolution, which is what is required to maintain 1:1 pixel mapping. Instead it scales the desktop, which means it tries to squeeze the 1920x1080 image into what is actually a 1824x1026 display resolution. When that happens I don't get true 1:1 mapping and edges get blurry in pictures and text because of the interpolation required. To get around that I modify the nv_disp.inf file to create a custom resolution (only works in Vista, not XP) and it results in a nice, crispy picture.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 02:55 AM   #154
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Here is my new setup!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0777.JPG
Views:	407
Size:	136.7 KB
ID:	26703  
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 11:39 AM   #155
1337_Like_ThaT
O.U.T.L.A.W.
 
1337_Like_ThaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In The Sack ;)
Posts: 2,258
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

^^ They seriously have to make a black HD-DVD add-on for the 360 cuz that elite and white add-on are horrid. BTW nice surge protector you have there, I have one almost like it
__________________

Gaming Rig
Inte Core 2 Duo 6700 @ 3.2ghz | EVGA nForce 680i | G.Skill DDR2 800mhz 4-4-4-12 @ 2.0v | Western Digital RaptorX 150GB | Western Digital 500GB SATA II | EVGA 8800GTS 512MB | Plextor PX-716SA DVD-RW | Plextor PX-755SA DVD-RW DL | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 | Antec 900 BLK | Dell FPW 2005 20.1" WS | IceMat 2nd. Ed. MousePad | Logitech G15 | Logitech G9 |

160GB (60GB) PS3 Owner | DS3 Controllers | PSN: Res215dg
PSP 3000 Black + 16GB Memory Stick Duo *Locked and Ready for Resistance Retribution*
1337_Like_ThaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-07, 12:21 PM   #156
xc70045th
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Post your HDTV displays here

Hello, this is my forst post here and need help please.

I have a Dell Inspiron E1705 and would like to connect it to my Sony KF-50WE610 but I'm not sure if it will work. The DVI connectors on the back of the pc and the tv are slightly different. The pc has the standard 24 small square female holes and one horizontal slot. The Sony tv has the standard 24 small square female holes but has one horizontal slot and one vertical slot.
I'm pretty sure that the pc connector is a DVI-D connector. The Sony manual refers to the connection on the back of the tv as a DVI-HDTV connection. Are these two compatible?
I would love to play my pc games on the 50" tv!
xc70045th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 4 independent 1080p displays under Linux? Raven-D NVIDIA Linux 6 06-20-12 06:02 PM
Full HD Autosterescopic 3D Displays are Coming Soonβ?¦ Probably News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 01:30 AM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 04:30 AM
HDTV support - computer to HDTV set porksoda NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 10-27-05 07:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.