Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-06, 01:23 AM   #1
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Can anyone make sense of this?

Why does my memory speed in CPU-Z differ from what nTune and the BIOS tell me?

At 2800MHz CPU-z shows 2800/14 = 200Mhz, yet nTune shows 424Mhz.

It does not make sense to me becuase my BIOS is set to a memory speed of 333Mhz. Stock speed on my CPU is 2200, so 2200/14 = 157x2 = 314MHz, not the 333MHz the BIOS reports.

So according to CPU-z even the BIOS is incorrect.

Can anyone make sense of this?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-06, 01:34 AM   #2
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Can anyone make sense of this?

that is probably because your motherboard is forcing a divider on the memory.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-06, 01:40 AM   #3
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Can anyone make sense of this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog
that is probably because your motherboard is forcing a divider on the memory.
I'm not sure what you mean. I have a divider manually set, its set to 333 in the BIOS as opposed to 400.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-06, 01:47 AM   #4
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Can anyone make sense of this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle
I'm not sure what you mean. I have a divider manually set, its set to 333 in the BIOS as opposed to 400.
open up CPUZ and tell me what it says under the Memory tab under FSB: DRAM
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-06, 02:09 AM   #5
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Can anyone make sense of this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog
open up CPUZ and tell me what it says under the Memory tab under FSB: DRAM
Well it says the same thing I said in my first post, CPU/14.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle
Stock speed on my CPU is 2200, so 2200/14 = 157x2 = 314MHz, not the 333MHz the BIOS reports.

At 2800MHz CPU-z shows 2800/14 = 200Mhz, yet nTune shows 424Mhz.
Do you see where my confusion is? What the divider calculates to and what is reported by nTune/BIOS is not the same.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
May 24 Webinar: How Do You Make Grid Engine Faster? News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
IS there a way to make games work on the CURRENT RT? Caleb NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-03-02 11:11 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.