Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-15-06, 11:00 AM   #1
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default so question about xbox360...

I'm going to be buying one today sense I can get 20% off of it..

planning on getting a vga cable with it to play on my 19" LCD. Is this going to let me play gears of war at my LCD native without letter boxing the screen?
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 11:17 AM   #2
DJMONDY
Registered User
 
DJMONDY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

I tired my 360 on my 21" viewsonic (non widescreen) with the vga cable and it was fine.
DJMONDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 11:45 AM   #3
Chrysaor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

LCD monitors have 16:10 ratio, but most games are designed for HDTVs, which have 16:9 ratio. You are going to have either letterboxing or stretching.
Chrysaor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 11:49 AM   #4
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysaor
LCD monitors have 16:10 ratio, but most games are designed for HDTVs, which have 16:9 ratio. You are going to have either letterboxing or stretching.
LCD monitors can have 4:3 as well.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 12:19 PM   #5
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

I have a 19" 1280*1024 native LCD and I don't notice any stretching when playing games from my X360 on it. I'm usally pretty sensitive to wrong picture formats and so fourth, but if there's any stretching, it's at a minimum. My monitor has an auto adjust function btw, I don't even know how to disable it
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 12:22 PM   #6
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DansFace
I'm going to be buying one today sense I can get 20% off of it..

planning on getting a vga cable with it to play on my 19" LCD. Is this going to let me play gears of war at my LCD native without letter boxing the screen?
It will, but I'd recommend going letterboxes for a couple of reasons.

One, the letterboxed aspect ratio will allow you to see the full view of the game.

Two, If you don't go letterboxed the game will "scale" the image to fit your display and it won't look as good.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 12:35 PM   #7
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan
It will, but I'd recommend going letterboxes for a couple of reasons.

One, the letterboxed aspect ratio will allow you to see the full view of the game.

Two, If you don't go letterboxed the game will "scale" the image to fit your display and it won't look as good.

thats so tiny though

i should just sell my PC and get me a HDTV. hell haven't played a game on the thing in months
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 12:44 PM   #8
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DansFace
thats so tiny though

i should just sell my PC and get me a HDTV. hell haven't played a game on the thing in months
Get an HDTV that you can hook up to your PC. There are a couple 1080p TVs with a VGA input for a reasonable price.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-15-06, 01:18 PM   #9
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan
There are a couple 1080p TVs with a VGA input for a reasonable price.
And if the TV only has one VGA input, you can get a KVM switch to go back and forth between the 360 and your PC. That's how I'm hooked up for the time being.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 01:19 PM   #10
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
LCD monitors can have 4:3 as well.
And 5:4
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 01:40 PM   #11
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
And if the TV only has one VGA input, you can get a KVM switch to go back and forth between the 360 and your PC. That's how I'm hooked up for the time being.
My HDTV has only 1 VGA port, but I just run DVI from my computer (my TV has two DVI ports) and bingo problem solved.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-06, 01:42 PM   #12
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: so question about xbox360...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan
My HDTV has only 1 VGA port, but I just run DVI from my computer (my TV has two DVI ports) and bingo problem solved.
That'll work, too if you have a desktop. My laptop only has a VGA out.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhysX question Spartan 117 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 5 11-09-12 09:45 PM
Overclocking Question PCarr78 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-29-02 02:13 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.