Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-06, 03:36 AM   #25
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Unhappy Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grestorn
I have exactly the same configuration...

I guess the driver installation wasn't finished correctly.

You should try to uninstall the driver (using "Add/Remove software"). Reboot. Reinstall the driver. Reboot once again. Then it should work.
I just did. "Add/Remove" Nvidia Drivers, nHancer 2.1.0, Reboot, Install Drivers, Reboot, Install nHancer 2.1.0, Reboot, Error Message
"Add/Remove" nHancer 2.1.0, Reboot, Install 1.2.2 nHancer, Reboot, Starts without hassle

I also tried the english driver now with the exact same result.

Odd.
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-06, 03:44 AM   #26
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JemyM
Odd.
Very odd indeed. Do you have another graphic card in your system? Perhaps an on-board gfx chip? Or maybe you had an ATI driver installed previously which didn't deactivate itself properly?

The check nHancer is does is actually very simple. It asks Windows about "primary display" and which driver is responsible for it. If the driver is not called "nv4_disp", the message you got is shown.

If you ever happen to get this problem again, I'd really be interested in learning what driver you go instead of "nv4_disp". Tools like Everest should report that or I create a small program which does just that.
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-06, 03:58 AM   #27
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Post Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grestorn
Very odd indeed. Do you have another graphic card in your system? Perhaps an on-board gfx chip? Or maybe you had an ATI driver installed previously which didn't deactivate itself properly?

The check nHancer is does is actually very simple. It asks Windows about "primary display" and which driver is responsible for it. If the driver is not called "nv4_disp", the message you got is shown.

If you ever happen to get this problem again, I'd really be interested in learning what driver you go instead of "nv4_disp". Tools like Everest should report that or I create a small program which does just that.
I have an Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe nForce4:
http://techreport.com/reviews/2005q4...i/index.x?pg=1

After deinstalling the drivers I was also forced to update my nforce drivers. Im using 6.86 now. Im not sure it matters.

As far as I know it should not have any graphiccard built in. Also, the last non-geforce card I was using was Voodoo 2.

Video Adapter Properties:
Device Description NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
Adapter String GeForce 8800 GTX
BIOS String Version 60.80.07.00.04
Chip Type GeForce 8800 GTX
DAC Type Integrated RAMDAC
Installed Drivers nv4_disp (6.14.10.9744 - nVIDIA ForceWare 97.44)
Memory Size 768 MB

Last edited by JemyM; 12-21-06 at 04:10 AM.
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-06, 04:12 AM   #28
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JemyM
Im checking my shady contacts for a "temporary demo" of Everest (cannot afford buying it atm). Once I got it installed, do you know where exactly I should look for the information you need?
Only if that problems ever comes back. As I understand, nHancer seems to work now, doesn't it?

I only have version 2.0 of Everest, but in version 3 it should be shown at a similar place: Under "Display", "Windows Video" there's a entry called "Installed drivers". There you see the driver's name as well as the version it reports.

/Edit:

My first 8800GTX has a BIOS version of 60.80.06.00.02
My second one (which I bought 3 weeks later) has 60.80.06.00.12
and yours is 60.80.07.00.04

That's not related to your problem in any way, but I think it's interesting nevertheless...
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-06, 04:51 AM   #29
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grestorn
Only if that problems ever comes back. As I understand, nHancer seems to work now, doesn't it?
No, 1.2.2 does, 2.1.0 does not. However, with all the fuzz of reinstalling stuff I now broke the ancient game Sanitarium so Sanitarium say I need Direct Draw to play the game. Im making progress! There's something fishy going on here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grestorn
My first 8800GTX has a BIOS version of 60.80.06.00.02
My second one (which I bought 3 weeks later) has 60.80.06.00.12
and yours is 60.80.07.00.04
That's not related to your problem in any way, but I think it's interesting nevertheless...
Hmm. Lots of bioses there. They do upgrade bioses until the end. Maybe I should check for newer ones myself despite having a seemingly later version.

Last edited by JemyM; 12-21-06 at 07:47 AM.
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-06, 02:15 AM   #30
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

JemyM, did you notice the forum PM I sent you yesterday?
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-06, 08:35 AM   #31
Neova
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 92
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Great update. Is there still no way to force triple buffering for D3D applications other than using DXTweak or another application?
Neova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-06, 08:48 AM   #32
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neova
Great update. Is there still no way to force triple buffering for D3D applications other than using DXTweak or another application?
Well, there was a discussion recently were some people claimed that the triple buffer would always be in effect, at least on a G80 card. And in fact, I can't find any D3D game with the usual VSync framerate jumps anymore on my system.

There's still no way to force a triple buffer through a driver setting, though. So there's nothing nHancer can do.

DXTweaker intercepts the calls from the game to the D3D API and changes the flags, so that it looks like the game has asked for a triple buffer.
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-06, 05:25 PM   #33
BDUB
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Where you live
Posts: 32
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

I found a small bug with latest version nHancer.

When you open the program, and have profiles already made, and are at the "Enhancements" tab.. the correct color scheme at the bottom is selected (if you are using a color scheme), but then if you click any other tab, and then click the "Enhancements" tab again, the color scheme will be listed as the wrong one. I don't believe it sticks like that because if select another game profile, and then go back to the original game profile - the correct color scheme is listed again.
BDUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-06, 06:38 PM   #34
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDUB
I found a small bug with latest version nHancer.

When you open the program, and have profiles already made, and are at the "Enhancements" tab.. the correct color scheme at the bottom is selected (if you are using a color scheme), but then if you click any other tab, and then click the "Enhancements" tab again, the color scheme will be listed as the wrong one. I don't believe it sticks like that because if select another game profile, and then go back to the original game profile - the correct color scheme is listed again.
Yes, this is just a problem with refreshing the combo box. So it's more cosmetic. Nevertheless, I'll fix that. Thanks for letting me know.

Are you using the color profiles a lot? Then you should tell that to nVidia, since the new control panel doesn't allow to create them anymore...
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-06, 12:34 AM   #35
BDUB
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Where you live
Posts: 32
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Yeah I use them in quite a few games.. GTR2 need a little gamma, some others need a little bit of digital vibrance, etc.. I use the old CP to make them so I hadn't noticed it was impossible in the new CP. Doesn't surprise me though! I cannot get custom resolutions for my CRT to work right with the new CP either.

BDUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-06, 12:57 AM   #36
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

i cant install the new one because the old one will not uninstall...grrrr.....but man do i love this program...ive said it before and i will say it again...nvidia should buy you and your program out and give you a million to make it there own.
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.