Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-07, 06:26 PM   #61
Insanity123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Thank you for putting the legacy modes back in for the 8800 series! Now i can play Opengl games with the mixed modes (They are barely playable at 4xSS + 4x RGMSAA but who cares, it looks amazing :P)
Insanity123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 11:02 PM   #62
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

thanks for all of your contributions to the world. you're a genius. i'm sure you're able to help us out with the fog issue=)
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-07, 11:08 PM   #63
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

I´ll download it when I get home, working now
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-07, 07:55 AM   #64
Insanity123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Is it correct that on the 8800 series, the oldl egacy modes only work on Opengl? so far, it seems they dont do much on D3D games at all.
Insanity123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-07, 10:38 AM   #65
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity123
Is it correct that on the 8800 series, the oldl egacy modes only work on Opengl? so far, it seems they dont do much on D3D games at all.
I haven't tried them myself, but from what I hear, they only work in Vista 100.x drivers. I never heard that they're working on XP neither OpenGL nor Direct3D.
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-07, 06:44 PM   #66
Insanity123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Well there is a very obvious performance hit and a directly observeable improvement in Image Quality in both Quake 4 and Chronicles Of Riddick on my rig, and the mixed modes (the non pure SS modes) even seem to be working on some D3D apps, atlhough i might need to investigate further to conform, but it definetely doesnt seem to be limited to Vista for Opengl atleast
Insanity123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-07, 03:28 PM   #67
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

does the 16Q AA mode do anything in any game?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-07, 04:28 PM   #68
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

here is a screen from Quake 4 with ultra 1280x1024

i can´t say it looks astonishing so am i missing smoe setting somewhere and why in the name of.... doesn´t aniso setting in advanced quake 4 settings as soon as i restart quake 4 it complains about an error that is if i try to enable aniso in quake 4





now why isn´t it looking great?



never mind wuake look at oblivion with absolutely no AA on what so ever










now why is that and the weird thing is it is so with or without nhancer settings and NV CP settings no AA or alot of AA

results in those yellowish figures


any ideas?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it

Last edited by ASUSEN7900GTX; 02-23-07 at 05:12 AM.
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-07, 10:55 AM   #69
jabloomf1230
Registered User
 
jabloomf1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 95
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

@Grestorn,

Running Vista x64 Ultimate, 101.46 and nHancer 2.1.1, nHancer does not recognize my 7950GX2 is being in SLI. However, when I run nHancer with the /ForceSLI flag, SLI works fine. The GPU is running in SLI mode, since the balancing bars work and the benchmark numbers are consistent with SLI results from XP.
jabloomf1230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 04:16 PM   #70
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Version 2.2.0 is available now.

Because of the problems with Vista's "User Access Control"-feature (UAC) I decided to make a major change to nHancer.

You won't see much difference, but internally nHancer is now using a Windows service to make all changes which require Administrator privileges. The nHancer UI itself runs completely in a restricted user context. This way, nHancer avoids all problems with Vista's UAC and the autostart is also working again in Vista.

The service itself runs with administrator privileges. I have made sure that it doesn't add any security leak to your system by making sure that its functions are extremely limited and tailored to the needs of nHancer. It can only write the file windows\system32\nvapps.xml (the file where nVidia stores the profiles) for example.

The service is also completely passive, so even though it's running, it doesn't do anything as long as the nHancer UI isn't used.

Besides this big change, the new version contains a couple of bugfixes and some small improvements:
  • Compatibility with Forceware 100+ for XP added
  • Reintroduced the Supersampling modes (8xS, 16xS, 2x2 etc.) for 8x00 cards
  • Added all new Anti-Aliasing modes for 8x00 cards (32xS, SLI 64xS)
  • small bugfixes and improvements

A complete change log is in the Readme file

And you can download the new version from the download page, as usual...

I hope you like the new version! Comments are welcome as always.
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 04:18 PM   #71
Grestorn
nHancer
 
Grestorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 497
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabloomf1230
@Grestorn,

Running Vista x64 Ultimate, 101.46 and nHancer 2.1.1, nHancer does not recognize my 7950GX2 is being in SLI. However, when I run nHancer with the /ForceSLI flag, SLI works fine. The GPU is running in SLI mode, since the balancing bars work and the benchmark numbers are consistent with SLI results from XP.
Would you please try the new version (see my previous post)? I hope the SLI detection will work just fine with that version.
__________________
nHancer - Advanced nVidia Control Utility and Profile Editor

X6800 @ 3300 - Asus P5N32-SLI SE - 2x 8800 GTX SLI
Grestorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 08:37 PM   #72
jabloomf1230
Registered User
 
jabloomf1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 95
Default Re: New nHancer version 2.1.0 and website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grestorn
Would you please try the new version (see my previous post)? I hope the SLI detection will work just fine with that version.
Yep. Fixed. After a couple weeks, I turned UAC off since it was like turning on your TV and having the TV ask "Do you really want to watch this show?".
jabloomf1230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 11:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 12:38 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 07:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.