Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-06, 05:41 PM   #1
Rayman1968
Hairy and ape-like
 
Rayman1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 469
Default WTF?? Ntune killed my system

Not being real familiar with overclocking I decided to run the Ntune utility on my new system. I was running the 20 minute 'coarse tuning'. About 12 minutes into it the program says it's changing the CPU FSB. Then the system bluescreens and reboots. During POST I get a message that windows can not load because C:\windows\system\config is either missing or corrupt and I'll need to do a recovery from the Windows CD (XP SP2).

So I start the recovery process. At the end it finally says it can not configure the system and I need to contact the administrator. I reboot and right after the Windows XP loading screen I still get the BSOD. Bad_Pool_Header with no hex code. Can't get into safe mode either.

I set the defaults in the BIOS and cleared the CMOS thinking Ntune must have jacked something in the BIOS but I still get the bluescreen.

Is a reformat my only way out here? I'm scared that even after a reformat I'm still going to get that BSOD rendering my system useless.
__________________
E6700 @ 3.5 (1.39v) w/Zalman CNPS 9500LED | eVGA 680i | GTX285 | 150 gig WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA | 2 gigs (2 x 1gig) G.Skill F2-6400CL3D @ 960Mhz 4-4-4-12 (2.1v) | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | Silverstone Zeus 850w PSU | Silverstone TJ-03 | BenQ 24" FP241W
Rayman1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-06, 06:18 PM   #2
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: WTF?? Ntune killed my system

Yes it sound like you have curruption on the disk ,so you more then likely need to do a complete reformatt and reinstall windows to get it up and running again.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-06, 12:23 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: WTF?? Ntune killed my system

NTune is crap and has been known to cause slow-down in game performance. I suggest you use Rivatuner next time.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-07, 07:46 PM   #4
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: WTF?? Ntune killed my system

nTune did the same to mine, or I presume. I thought maybe it was my hard-drive because I used a partition to install Vista on, and then removed it, and I saw there was 8MB of unpartition space, so I added it.

Things went fine, and I decided I'd go for 3GHz since I am getting a new CPU, mobo, and RAM here soon. So I pushed it up to 3GHz, it froze during Aquamark. So I went into the BIOS and changed my RAM down to 133MHz, voltage to a 3% increase (MSI actually gives percentages in voltage increases), and got into windows.

I went to nTune, and got 3GHz out of my CPU. Aquamark was running 3-4 times in a row no freeze up. Thinking I had a solid overclock I jumped back into my bios after foolishly saving my profile to change to my new settings on start-up. Went into my BIOS put the HTT to 250 (3GHz), and restarted.

Blue Screen, instantly. I tried several things, finally got into windows under safe mode, and backed things up. I turned the PC off went to bed. Got up the next morning changed things to default, in the Bios; even went back to the original clock speed. (I had been running at 2.88GHz stable) I went into safe mode deleted that profile, and even attempted to uninstall nTune can't do that through safe mode. So I booted up into windows normal and I had set it to do a desk check, it did that. Booted in, lasted for about 5 minutes while I was trying to uninstall nTune BOOM BSOD!

To find out what the error was I went into safe mode, unchecked "Automatic Restart", and I went into windows. Got the BSOD again, and it was "Mass Storage Failure atapi.sys. I was beginning to wonder how in the hell this could of gotten corrupt, not unless voltage has anything to do with BSOD. Anyway I did a quick format, and got the BSOD while trying to install my network drive. Same ERROR. So I did the long format, and in the middle of the damn format it came across a BAD SECTOR, and before I could read the entire error I got a blue screen in the middle of SETTING WINDOWS UP WTF!? Yeah I know crazy ****. So I unplugged that hard drive, (IDE Hard drive) smashed in to bits, went out got my a 320GB at over priced best buy, and installed worked fine.
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-07, 08:02 PM   #5
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: WTF?? Ntune killed my system

I agree with john19055. From what I hear nTune sucks the big one. Probably went pass the limit on something with speed/voltage and caused some files to become corrupted in the process.

What motherboard was it also? I only ask because a motherboard I tried for a day resulted in a boot failure do to a corrupted boot loader file after overclocking. Then it worked for one or two boots after a reset in bios. Then I got the corrupted file again. Turned out to be the motherboard, because I never repaired the file. I got a new motherboard and it worked fine.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 05:51 AM
PhysX System Software 9.12.0604 News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 10:50 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 07:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 11:30 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 04:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.