Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-06, 04:20 AM   #1
toastydave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

Hi all,

This is my first jaunt in to Linux, and I decided to use SuSe 10.2 as my distro

I Have had no end of trouble trying to get my graphics card to work well, and I wonder if any one can help?

When I first booted from my fresh install, if I ran at a colour depth of 24, I just got screen corruption, I fixed this by reducing the screen depth to 16.

This worked, but with the strange effect of no mouse icon!

So then I used Yast to download the proper drivers from Nvidia.

I then configured the card with sax2 from run level 3.

this kind of worked, but from the nvidia web site I was advised to use nvidia-xorgconfig.

I now seem to have three control panels on my system and none seem to say the same thing!

I have the sax2 configuration utility, this has no mention of refresh rate, but the correct resolution.

The Screen resolution tool, which has no idea wants going on, offering refresh rates of 51 and 55Hz

And the nvidia xserver tool, which seems to be the master. (I can check the actual resolution and refresh, by pressing a button on my LCD monitor)

The problems I have are;-

Fonts look very bad, no ware near as sharp as windows

And also in desktop 3d effects it has the wrong video card listed, although I can kind of get it to work. I think this came from an attempt to clear the first problem when I exited to runlevel 3 and ran sax2 using an generic driver..

Anyone? Any help?

Thanks
toastydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 09:09 AM   #2
a7v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

I assume you're using a TFT/LCD monitor (flat screen)?
If so, the font problem can be solved by enabling "Sub-pixel hinting" somewhere in the KDE/Gnome controls.
__________________
Computer stuff I've owned at one time or another:
CPUs: K6-3 400, Duron 600, Thunderbird 1400, Barton 2500, Duron 1800, A-64 3700+, C2D E7200
Motherboards: Shuttle Via MVP, Asus A7V, Asus A7V133, Asus N8X-VM400, Abit NF7, Abit UL8, Asus P5Q Pro
Graphics Cards: TNT2, GF 2 MX, GF 2 Pro, GF4 MX, GF FX 5500, GF 6600, GF 7600 GT, GF 9800GT
a7v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 09:45 AM   #3
toastydave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

Thanks A7V

its the best so far! yes it is an LCD, strangely the fonts seem to work best with, monochrome with sub pixel rendering and quite poor with sub pixel smoothing as recommended for LCDs!

anyway its mostly working but I still have problems with fonts in firefox now see screen shot on the link below

http://www.toastydaves.co.uk/ffox.png

thanks

dave
toastydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 01:45 PM   #4
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

It looks OK on the screenshot.
Or maybe you should know that it is not going to get better than that in Linux.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 02:19 PM   #5
gnutux
Linux User: 362616
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 108
Default Re: Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

I don't see any problems. I use the same card and same distro as you do, but I use KDE instead.

gnutux
__________________
Specs: AsusTek P4B533-VM, Intel Pentium 4 2533MHz, 120 GB HDD Maxtor, 80 GB HDD WD, 1GB PC3200 RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 6600, openSUSE 10.2 (Main), MacOS X 10.4.5 (leisure use, backup)
gnutux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 02:41 PM   #6
toastydave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

thanks guys, spose thats just how it is! It looks ok now after making many adjustments

thanks
toastydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-06, 03:09 AM   #7
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Nvidia geforce 6600 hell!!!!

You may want to doublecheck that the resolution of your desktop is the same as the native resolution of your display.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 brings Kepler on a $399 budget (SlashGear) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.