Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-06, 02:26 PM   #1
Nuke-Refugee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default Only half of the video memory is used

Hi all,

I've seen a couple of posts about similar problems but none of them included a solution...

I use a Toshiba Satellite Pro 2100 which has a GeForce 420 GO with 64 MB of shared memory, and driver 9631 (the newest one rejects my card), on Opensuse 10.2.
My problem is that nvidia-settings reports only 32MB so I guess only 32MB are used which would explain my performance problems in GTA : SA (through Cedega) even at a low 800x600 resolution and minimum details while I meet the minimum specs (which are - I'm sure you got it by now - 64MB of video memory, everything else in my system is superior to the minimum requirements (PIV-1.9 / 512MB)).

If anyone has an idea of what's happening...

Thanks,

Seb.

Last edited by Nuke-Refugee; 12-27-06 at 02:38 PM.
Nuke-Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-06, 07:30 AM   #2
Nuke-Refugee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

Well then... Nobody?
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (110.0 KB, 102 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (5.6 KB, 105 views)
Nuke-Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-06, 09:53 AM   #3
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

Sounds like in the BIOS it's set to 32MB rather then 64MB as it's chared memory how much memory does windows show as using.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-06, 10:13 AM   #4
Nuke-Refugee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

I can't tell you, I put the wins**t CD in the trash the day I received the laptop... And honestly I don't remember if all the video memory was used before (I've had that laptop for the past 3 years and I've used all SuSE versions since 9.2) I never checked.

Unfortunately the BIOS options that are easily accessible (by pressing ESC then F1 at boot time) don't show anything about the video memory... I think there's a more detailed BIOS set up program but I don't know where to find it (not on Toshiba's site apparently) and I have no idea if it would work with Wine anyway...

Seb.
Nuke-Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-06, 02:58 PM   #5
Nuke-Refugee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

After some searches, it seems that the win and dos programs that exist to setup the bios on this machine aren't more detailed than the "normal" bios setup system I can get at boot time... So there's nothing about the video memory.

is all I can say...

Seb.
Nuke-Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-06, 03:21 PM   #6
Nuke-Refugee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

lspci shows 64MB...????? But nvida-settings says 32MB, cedega detects 32MB too... I'm lost.

Code:
pc-00248:/home/seb # lspci -vvv

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 420 Go] (rev a3) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Unknown device 0001
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Latency: 248 (1250ns min, 250ns max)
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 10
        Region 0: Memory at fd000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Region 1: Memory at dc000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=64M]
        Region 2: Memory at dbf80000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=512K]
        [virtual] Expansion ROM at dbf00000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
        Capabilities: [44] AGP version 2.0
                Status: RQ=32 Iso- ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA- ITACoh- GART64- HTrans- 64bit- FW+ AGP3- Rate=x1,x2,x4
                Command: RQ=32 ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA- AGP+ GART64- 64bit- FW- Rate=x4
And nvclock says 32MB...

Code:
pc-00248:/home/seb # nvclock -i
-- General info --
Card:           nVidia Geforce 4 420 Go
Architecture:   NV17 A5
PCI id:         0x175
GPU clock:      199.125 MHz
Bustype:        AGP

-- Memory info --
Amount:         32 MB
Type:           128 bit DDR
Clock:          405.000 MHz

-- AGP info --
Status:         Enabled
Rate:           4X
AGP rates:      1X 2X 4X
Fast Writes:    Disabled
SBA:            Unsupported

Last edited by Nuke-Refugee; 12-30-06 at 03:31 PM.
Nuke-Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-06, 03:28 PM   #7
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

What does the VBIOS report when the card is first posted (i.e. the first text message in the upper left corner of the screen)?
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-06, 04:01 PM   #8
Nuke-Refugee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Only half of the video memory is used

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
What does the VBIOS report when the card is first posted (i.e. the first text message in the upper left corner of the screen)?
Nothing, it doesn't show up on that laptop... However I know the specs are supposed to be 64MB.
Nuke-Refugee is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 06:40 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 07:00 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 09:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 10:38 PM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 03:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.