Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-07, 02:31 PM   #1
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Hey folks, I was using 1.0-8178 for almost a year and was very satisfied. I installed the latest nvidia driver 2 days ago. It was just last night that I noticed that the screen is shaking a little. This is most especially noticeable on horizontal lines like mythtv's program guide. I never had this issue before on 1.0-8178. I did not modify my xorg.conf.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-07, 05:02 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Check if the vertical refresh rate nvidia is sending to your monitor has gone down. Press monitor buttons to get it, mine sits at 85Hz.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 08:31 AM   #3
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Found it. The newest nvidie driver is not displaying this information anymore in Xorg.0.log

(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device CRT-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1920x1080_i": 74.5 MHz, 33.8 kHz, 59.9 Hz (I)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1920x540": 74.2 MHz, 33.8 kHz, 60.1 Hz

I don't see them.......

and looks like the log is shorter now ????

So it's a bug right

Last edited by v1rtu0s1ty; 01-05-07 at 10:01 AM.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 10:29 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 11:06 AM   #5
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

here it is.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (25.0 KB, 92 views)
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 11:39 AM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Are you reporting that the entire image that is displayed is physically moving, or that there are lines of corruption?

How or where did you obtain the "1920x1080_i" modeline that you're using?
Does this problem persist if you do not set UseEDID to false in xorg.conf ?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 01:09 PM   #7
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Are you reporting that the entire image that is displayed is physically moving, or that there are lines of corruption?
I don't have issue displaying at 1920 x 1080 resolution neither have any issue displaying the image. The issue is the shaking of some part of the screens most noticeably the 30 pixels thick horizontal lines in mythtv's program guide.

Quote:
How or where did you obtain the "1920x1080_i" modeline that you're using?
I built it myself using http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl

Quote:
Does this problem persist if you do not set UseEDID to false in xorg.conf ?
If I comment out the UseEDID, I will no longer be able to reach 1920x1080. I will only get 640x480. If have been using the xorg.conf for more than a year in 1.8178, something like this without any issues.

Thanks for helping.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 01:20 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

What kind of CRT are you using that only supports 640x480 in its EDID?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-05-07, 02:40 PM   #9
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
What kind of CRT are you using that only supports 640x480 in its EDID?
Here is a result when I executed moninfo.exe on my Windows XP almost 2 yrs ago. When EDID was enabled, I can't set it to 1920x1080. It was not accepting the modeline I generated until I found the NoDDC or IgnoreEDID.

http://restricted.dyndns.org/moninfo.txt or

Monitor
Windows description......... Plug and Play Monitor
Manufacturer description.... MEUSPTV1
Manufacturer................ Mitsubishi
AAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Plug and Play ID............ MEL31A2
Serial number............... n/a
EDID data source............ I2C bus (real-time)
AAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Manufacture date............ 2003, ISO week 12
EDID revision............... 1.3
Display type and signal..... Digital
Sync input support.......... n/a
Screen size................. n/a
Power management............ Active off/sleep

Color characteristics
Display gamma............... 2.20
Red chromaticity............ Rx 0.640 - Ry 0.330
Green chromaticity.......... Gx 0.300 - Gy 0.600
Blue chromaticity........... Bx 0.150 - By 0.060
White point (default)....... Wx 0.313 - Wy 0.329

Timing characteristics
VESA GTF support............ Not supported
Horizontal scan range....... 15-33kHz
Vertical scan range......... 59-61Hz
Video bandwidth............. 80MHz
Extension blocks............ 1
Timing recommendation #1.... 1920x540 at 60Hz
Modeline................ "1920x540" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562 +hsync +vsync
Timing recommendation #2.... 1920x1080 at 30Hz
Modeline................ "1920x1080" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync
Timing recommendation #3.... 720x480 at 60Hz
Modeline................ "720x480" 27.000 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
Timing recommendation #4.... 1440x240 at 60Hz
Modeline................ "1440x240" 27.000 1440 1478 1602 1716 240 244 247 262 -hsync -vsync
Timing recommendation #5.... 1440x480 at 30Hz
Modeline................ "1440x480" 27.000 1440 1478 1602 1716 480 488 494 524 interlace -hsync -vsync

Standard timings supported
640 x 480 at 60Hz - IBM VGA
720 x 480 at 60Hz - Mitsubishi
1440 x 240 at 60Hz - Mitsubishi
1440 x 480 at 30Hz - Mitsubishi
1920 x 540 at 60Hz - Mitsubishi
1920 x 1080 at 30Hz - Mitsubishi

Raw EDID base
00: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 34 AC A2 31 01 01 01 01
10: 0C 0D 01 03 80 00 00 78 2A EE 91 A3 54 4C 99 26
20: 0F 50 54 20 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
30: 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 1D 80 18 71 1C 16 20 58 2C
40: 25 00 00 00 00 00 00 9E 8C 0A D0 8A 20 E0 2D 10
50: 10 3E 96 00 00 00 00 00 00 18 00 00 00 FD 00 3B
60: 3D 0F 21 08 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC
70: 00 4D 45 55 53 50 54 56 31 0A 20 20 20 20 01 60

Raw EDID extension (CEA-861)
00: 02 01 04 00 8C 0A A0 14 51 F0 16 00 26 7C 43 00
10: 00 00 00 00 00 98 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
20: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
30: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
40: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
50: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 DB

Display adapter
Adapter description......... NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
Adapter device ID........... 0x00F110DE
Display settings............ 1920x1080, 32bpp

User/computer information
Registered user name........ RC
Registered organization..... n/a
Network user name........... Administrator
Network computer name....... XPBOX
Windows version ............ Windows XP
Windows build .............. 5.01.2600
Installation date .......... 2/22/2005 12:00:00 PM
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 02:43 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

I don't see anything in that EDID that suggests that it wouldn't do modes greater than 640x480. Please remove the UseEDID option from xorg.conf, start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-07, 03:02 PM   #11
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I don't see anything in that EDID that suggests that it wouldn't do modes greater than 640x480. Please remove the UseEDID option from xorg.conf, start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
Sure, I will do it tonight once I get home.

Thanks.

Neil
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-07, 03:33 AM   #12
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: I think it's a bug - screen shaking

Attached is the new nvidia bug report log.

I have removed the EDID part and I can't believe, the resolution was still 1920x1080. However, please look at the log. It still can't find those vertical refresh rates, etc.

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (25.0 KB, 82 views)
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got a computer bug!!! sillyeagle General Hardware 16 06-05-12 02:44 AM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM
Antialiasing bug in 31.00 drivers? Mark_fox NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 7 08-26-02 02:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.