Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-07, 04:25 AM   #1
neWb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

Not really

Conroe E6600 2.4GHZ,two 7900gs sli,asus P5N32-SLI Premium board,2 gig ram,96.89 forceware drivers.Phoenix Award bios v6.00pgxp/vista dual boot.

I haveprime95,cpuz and coretemp and a few weeks on hand to get this baby smoking.What is need a precise guide to the bios and what to adjust for this setup,i have found a stack of articles but nothing in depth and really user friendly that i can apply.

Is there a step by step article that specifically would apply for my rig or the seperate parts like an E6600 guide,7900gs guide etc. I am not totally pc illiterate but aware that if not done in increments and watching the heat..things will break

At this stage i have looked at the bios and the three programs but not adjusted anything.

I have a benchmark i can use for the tests and positively see what gains i can get (IL2 sturmovik series latest edition 1946) which is a fairly big frame rate eater.
neWb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 01:48 PM   #2
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

Are you looking to overclock, or just optimize?
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 05:50 PM   #3
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

overclocking might not be so easy on that motherboard.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 09:05 PM   #4
neWb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

optimize may be the best way to put it

i read a few reviews that the bios shipped with the board was not very good but that the later version was a lot better,so i have the latest version from asus which is 0603 and the flash exe but then when i started reading up on that i need a floppy drive..which i dont have lol.So i am a bit stuck there as well.

Also the E6600,can i not get out to say 2.8ghz and still be sweet?which would give me better gaming performance(the ability to pump AA and AF etc) while still retaining good frames?
neWb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 09:16 PM   #5
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

The E6600 can do a lot more than 2.8ghz. If you have the right parts to go with it (motherboard,ram,psu,cooling).

Does your motherboard not come with a cd with a bios flashing program?

I know my last few asus boards did, and I just flashed from windows. I've heard of some people saying they will only flash with a floppy. But I haven't owned a floppy drive for 5 years. And I've never ran into a problem doing it from windows.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149

Last edited by SlieTheSecond; 01-09-07 at 09:30 PM.
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 10:20 PM   #6
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemedes
overclocking might not be so easy on that motherboard.
Tell me about it I fried one of those boards
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-07, 11:34 PM   #7
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

Nvidia's been having a rough time getting a good SLI chipset for Intel CPU's. Let's hope they can iron out the rest of the problems with the 680i
650i is showing promise though as well. Thank god the 8800 is out, SLI isn't necessary for me anymore. 1 GTX is all I'll need
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-07, 01:23 AM   #8
neWb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
The E6600 can do a lot more than 2.8ghz. If you have the right parts to go with it (motherboard,ram,psu,cooling).

Does your motherboard not come with a cd with a bios flashing program?

I know my last few asus boards did, and I just flashed from windows. I've heard of some people saying they will only flash with a floppy. But I haven't owned a floppy drive for 5 years. And I've never ran into a problem doing it from windows.
I will go through all of my stuff and see,i have never flashed a bios before so it is unknown territory for me

PSU is an SP 550w ATX dual
Cards are expert vision 256 meg
PQi DDR2 SDRAM
Memory timings are 4 4 4 12 (cl rcd rp as) if that helps

also have two extra fans on a siewinder box.

ok found my manual and the cd so off to do the bios update
neWb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-07, 04:36 AM   #9
neWb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

bios updated tried to update via the windows/asus update but the server was constantly busy so saved the old bios to my flash drive and saved the latest bios as well,rebooted and entered the asus ez flash utility and updated ,all seemed fairly smooth and easy.

Now,where can i go from here,onto playing with the e6600's?
neWb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-07, 09:31 AM   #10
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemedes
Nvidia's been having a rough time getting a good SLI chipset for Intel CPU's. Let's hope they can iron out the rest of the problems with the 680i
650i is showing promise though as well. Thank god the 8800 is out, SLI isn't necessary for me anymore. 1 GTX is all I'll need
1 GTX but for how long? a few months until new poorly optimized games come out
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-07, 08:21 PM   #11
neWb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

is there a guide like this for my board http://www.nvidia.com/docs/CP/45121/...erclocking.pdf i searched but could not find anything,also is nTune a good tool to do the job?
neWb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-07, 08:35 PM   #12
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: Hey chaps,help me bust my rig :)

So you do want to overclock?

Well if you look two threads down from this thread in the same forum
"very very good OCing guide for C2D's"
try starting there.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The PC Gamer Rig: New CPUs, motherboards and more News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 06:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.